We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good Nova Scotia experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Between the Bushes - CLOSED

Between the Bushes
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good Nova Scotia experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having loved this restaurant and menu two years ago we were anxious to return which we did on August 23rd 2013.
The fish chowder was full of potatoes and not a lot of fish. The hodge podge veggies were nearly raw and had to be sent back. The final insult was the blueberry pie which was doughy, undercooked and really poor quality. I would not serve that at home never mind for a $7 restaurant dessert. Disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Between the Bushes, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Elaine

Very sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, and interesting that you did not enjoy the Hodge Podge or Chowder, as they have been two of our favourites from opening this year, and rarely do we have any problems.

With the Hodge Podge we do cook the vegetables Al Dente, but can and have cooked them quite a bit longer should our customer request it, it is unfortunate that your server didn't offer you the option.

There must have been some sort of mistake in the kitchen as well, as we create the chowder from scratch when it is ordered using a healthy portion of seafood. The potatoes are part of the base and can certainly fluctuate (within reason) but it would have no effect on the amount of seafood you would have in your chowder.

When we discussed it at the restaurant, we agreed that the pie was improperly cooked and removed it from the menu until we could prepare new pies of the standard we are used to and our customers expect. I'm quite sure that you were not charged for the pie, but if I am wrong please contact me so we can remedy that situation promptly.

Thank you for your feedback, and I again apologize that your experience was not typical for the restaurant.

Cheers

Jeremy Mott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hubley, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had heard of Between the Bushes for years and had always meant to go, so did so today when we went blueberry picking. We sat on the lovely outdoor screened patio overlooking the blueberry fields, quite lovely. Service was friendly but slow, one item forgotten, and the meals themselves were not memorable. My partner had fishcakes which, although tasty, were burnt. I had the hodge podge which was very bland (maybe it's supposed to be this way; it was my first time having it). All in all, it did not make us want to go out of our way to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatDeMeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Manager at Between the Bushes, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Pat

Very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us, and frankly quite concerned that your server did not pick up on it and replace your meals!

We are quite proud of the product we have, and fully stand behind it. Should you decide to return at another occaision and are not fully satisfied please ask for me so that we can resolve any problems you may have.

Regards

Jeremy Mott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped by for lunch after spending some time blueberry picking. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was lovely and the food was delicious. We had the quiche special and the BLT. It was a fantastic lunch in a beautiful spot in Nova Scotia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NStraveller154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had some delicious food at this restaurant tonight starting with the very tasted blueberry juice then had the bayou stew great mixture of spices then we both had scallops which were cooked perfectly.The crisp was tasty the blueberries not as favourable but still a delicious apple dessert.This was some of the best food we have had on our east coast trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
662 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Really Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived for lunch on a weekday and the place was not very crowded; it took a little time to be seated and to be served but the food is fantastic, imaginative, and right-sized. Every little detail was surprising for its culinary excellence. If I return to this area on vacation again, I would plan it into my trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Between the Bushes also viewed

Centreville, Kentville
 
Centreville, Kentville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing