We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness Edge 'A1' as base for professional groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinawa
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wilderness Edge 'A1' as base for professional groups”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wilderness Edge Retreat was ideally suited to the needs of our group for a 3-day field trip in the Bird River greenstone belt. We were 26 geologists from Canada and elsewhere, including Finland, South Africa and the UK. The comprehensive on-line registration system is very well set up; it was easy to use and simplified adjustments by affording subsequent updating. The facilities afforded a choice of several venues for evening presentations, the rooms were fine – set up in various different formats that made the task of room allocation quick and simple. The expansive grounds with the backdrop of the Winnipeg River – with ambling deer and gambolling squirrels etc. – conveyed a wonderful atmosphere to return to each day. The food was great, and staff likewise – courteous and helpful. For groups such as ours, no matter how large or small, Wilderness Edge Retreat would be an obvious choice as a base for field activities in southeast Manitoba. Thanks to our hosts Mr and Mrs. Penner, and all the staff at Wilderness Edge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
4
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family recently gathered from all over Canada and Europe to mourn the loss of our father and grandfather who resided many years with his wife in Pinawa. It was our father's dream to retire near a lake in the beauty of God's creation. He was granted this wish and found himself active in the town that he truly loved. Kevin, you and your staff shared all he loved through your resort. The lake, the wildlife, compassionate and caring people. Your kindness and generosity proves yet again how the people of small communities still retain that spirit of humanity. Your patience and flexibility are admirable qualities. You have a fantastic facility and it is only getting better with the renovations you are making. Looking forward to returning in a future summer to take advantage of all that the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaLovingEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Wilderness Edge in January to attend our brother's funeral. The hospitality we received was second to none. Even when extra family appeared for supper, they were welcomed to join the table. The staff was friendly, conversational, very helpful and accommodating. They provided space for extended family to share a light lunch, a place to visit, to mourn and remember. Their kindness and generosity made a difficult time a little easier to bear. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOtherHulda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have attended an annual conference at Wilderness Edge Retreat & Conference Centre since 2005. It is a wonderful setting on the Winnipeg River with fresh air, great walking trails and a gracious accommodations. The amenities are complete, the staff friendly and helpful and the food outstanding. Eating in the dining room overlooking the river and deer grazing in the lawn is a delightful experience. I would recommend Wilderness Edge for a conference or retreat for any group or for any individual.

My spouse and I plan to have a retreat of our own at Wilderness Edge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLKC4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent an overnight at Wilderness Edge this past weekend - all I can say is wow! A wonderful find in the middle of the most beautiful winter setting you can imagine! The staff were extremely friendly and kind. The facility was beautiful and peaceful! The room was comfortable and cozy on a winter's day, clean and had everything you could need. What a great place and what a great time! Thank you so much Wilderness Edge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dear staff at Wilderness Edge:

Thank you so much for all of your help in making our national gathering a success. Everyone has commented about what a beautiful facility you have and all of the activities you have to offer. Thanks also for going the extra mile in making sure everyone was comfortable.

God Bless,
The Unity 2012 planning team

Room Tip: Loved the Manitoba Room for our main conference gathering because of the beautiful view of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had a great weekend getaway at the Wilderness Edge. The room was very clean and quiet. The food was also great, especially the breakfast buffet! Staff were very friendly and even remembered us from last year! Really enjoyed having the sauna and outdoor hot tub all to ourselves. The best part of the experience being surrounded by beautiful wilderness. The skiing was truly wonderful - the trails were nicely groomed and lots of fun. Plenty of skiing for all skill levels. Would definitely recommend coming out to decompress from the city life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre

Property: Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre
Address: 32 Burrows Road, Pinawa, Manitoba R0E 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Pinawa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Edge Retreat & Conference Centre is located 1 hour from Winnipeg in beautiful Pinawa, Manitoba inside Whiteshell Provincial Park and on the edge of Canada's Canadian shield. The retreat centre is an adaptation of an 80,000 sq. ft. staff house, built in 1963, for Atomic Energy of Canada. While some renovations have been necessary, Wilderness Edge maintains this distinctive and time-sensitive historical mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre Pinawa, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing