We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinawa
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Pinawa and the Whiteshell Provincial Park are wonderful, but this place needs some serious work, and a major overhaul of management and staff policy.

Staff is friendly, but not very competent... from the terrible, misleading, and confusing website to the inability to keep track of their recreactional equipment and bookings, to the fees that are tacked on for every little item. Rooms are shabby, smell funny, and are overpriced. Cafeteria style meals are okay, but not worth the high price.

If you're looking for a reminder of what summer camp was like, this might be for you. If you want a professionally run hotel or resort, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChetAwesomelaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin P, Owner at Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Boschman Family Reunion
Family of Cornelius and Agatha Boschman

Dear Sheryl Hague and entire Boschman Family,
We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience. The Benkie Family that stayed the exact same weekend also posted a review just above yours called "Wilderness Edge Rocks". Same food, same rooms, same prices... so I guess it has a lot to do with expectations. Yours were obviously not met.

I apologies for our mistakes. Please forgive us. We will continue to improve our systems and do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
4
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Staff are very gracious and accommodating, and extremely helpful if you're having problems with the downloadable booking form. Wide variety of room types, and you have to remember that this is not your typical full-service hotel or resort.

Room Tip: Look @ room options;call/e-mail if at all confused
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hiodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My group was about 40 skiers from Winnipeg and this is our third time in the last 3 years. We keep coming back because the area to so awesome and the lodge is so accommodating.
Things I like: Food, hospitality and the Hot Tub.
Thing to work on: Standard rooms are a bit spartan
I upgraded to a bachelor suite this year on their east side - It was well worth the upgrade for $10 per night more.
Keep up the good work, be back again next year!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiMeThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Okay, it's actually a river but it looks like a lake! Great hot tub!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StargateTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niverville, MB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Wilderness Edge in Pinawa is an amazing place to stay with friends and family. The staff is warm and friendly, always ready to serve. Rooms are clean, we stayed in a double suite for family - it was huge. Food is great and lots of it. I think we gained a few pounds! All for an amazing price. I have travelled around the country for my work and can tell you there are many places that offer a lot less for more money.
The staff at Wilderness Edge will take you rafting, body surfing, fishing, or on a guided walk through the trails. You are sure to see lots of deer and maybe a bear or two.
If you are looking for a getaway this place is it. Not far from Winnipeg but a world away from the busyness of life. You can stay in touch with others on their free wireless internet or escape from it all in the Penner theatre. Big screen tvs are found in almost every common room in the building. There's also a library and other quiet places to read. Boat docks are just steps away from the building and we managed to catch a couple of fish using the complimentary fishing gear and conoe supplied by the "Wedge".
Can't say enough. Thanks Kevin and the crew! See you again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ConradHoeppner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The town of Pinawa is very picturesque with deer roaming all over the town but if I were to go back to the town I would stay at the local motel or a neighbouring town.
For what you pay for this resort, it is definitely not worth the stay, they are dorm style rooms. The buffet food was minimal and tasted ok, but for what we paid for meals, we expected more. The snacks in this all inclusive was the 28 g bag of chips, cookies, and on the Friday night, fruit that would have been better off in the garbage. There is no maid service, so we had to make our own bed. The place needs a face lift, there was lots of marks on the wall that a paint job could fix up, in one of the rooms we were in the wall paper was peeling. I have stayed at all inclusive's in different parts of the world and have paid less for full maid service, 24 hour food and alcohol, plus pools and staff that want to please their guests. We never got the feeling here that when we voiced our concerns that they were ever taken seriously.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unmountable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Fantastic place to stay. Boating, Fishing, Golf, Swimming Pool nearby, hot tubs, white water rafting, hayrides, great food all in a Wilderness setting. Deer and Bears are plentiful along with lots of other wildlife. Great place to stay either for a family get together or a conference, or even if you come on your own.

  • Liked — casual atmosphere
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bigeasy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre

Property: Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre
Address: 32 Burrows Road, Pinawa, Manitoba R0E 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Pinawa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pinawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Edge Retreat & Conference Centre is located 1 hour from Winnipeg in beautiful Pinawa, Manitoba inside Whiteshell Provincial Park and on the edge of Canada's Canadian shield. The retreat centre is an adaptation of an 80,000 sq. ft. staff house, built in 1963, for Atomic Energy of Canada. While some renovations have been necessary, Wilderness Edge maintains this distinctive and time-sensitive historical mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Edge - Retreat & Conference Centre Pinawa, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing