We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Amazing!”
Review of Cellar

Cellar
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Georgetown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Amazing!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have been to The Cellar for several special occasions over the last couple of years. We have always been extremely satisfied with both the food and the service. Definitely a wonderful experience from the moment you walk in the door.

Servers are knowledgeable about the food and make wonderful recommendations. The mussels and lobster mac & cheese are favourites. Not to mention the chocolate peanut butter cake!

Absolutely the best Georgetown has to offer!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    6
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent as always!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Owner & Chef Brady came to our table (and many others) to personally check on our experience. Service was excellent, food was great too. Only downfall was rude customer that offered to buy our toddler a shot of whiskey as she was talking quite a bit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 793MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Georgetown”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Food is prepared by a chef who really cares. We went with friends and all 4 of us were pleased with our meals. Steak and chicken dishes came with beautiful vegetables. Ravioli dish was reported to be delicious and the Mac and crab makes a nice light meal. We all enjoyed the tomatoe bacon soup, and a cup size is quite large. The atmosphere is nice too, exposed brick and elegant furnishings.

The service was very pleasant and efficient.

At first I gave it 4 stars, but thought very good wasn't fair. I upped it to 5 stars because the meal was flawless and the atmosphere and servers added to the enjoyment of our evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service must improve”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

While the food was excellent as always, I strongly recommend some training for the waitstaff.
At one point, during a second cup of coffee, there was two empty wine glasses, two empty water glasses, an empty wine bottle, an empty water bottle, an empty special coffee glass, two side plates, and assorted silverware on our table. We had even pushed all of these items to the outside of the table, hoping the server would notice, and start removing some items. She did look down at the items while refilling my coffee, but made no attempt to remove any items. The bottled water was emptied before our entrees arrived, no attempt to sell us another was made.
Our server told us that she was new, but basic training would dictate that table maintenance is one of many service keys. I also believe at a restaurant of this cost, the servers should be wearing dress pants, not a lululemon style stretchy pant.
I would give The Cellar another chance, because of the excellent food, but if I found no improvement in the quality of service, I would be forced to pick a new favorite Georgetown restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gman88039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A neat little spot”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have been to the The Cellar on several occasions. The atmosphere is okay however certain areas are either too bright or too dim. If there is a large crowd and they are a bit loud you will not be able to hear the others at your table very well! The food itself is very tasty...that is the best part of the restaurant. The servers are young and inexperienced. Although they do try they are not very professional (especially considering the cost!) My husband ordered their house special which was venison. There was no mention of the cost and we were surprised to find it so expensive. We will continue to try the restaurant out again and I hope that they can make improvements to the issues as commented!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovetravelalot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar also viewed

Glen Williams, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 
Georgetown, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 

Been to Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing