We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Decor Needs Updating”
Review of Mattina's Cucina - CLOSED

Mattina's Cucina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Decor Needs Updating”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

the food here is fantastic....... .but the ambiance needs MUCH improvement.
Fake tacky flowers and greenery hanging from the ceiling....carpet from the 70s...table clothes from the 80s and cutlery from the 90s
A few easy changes would do wonders for the atmosphere !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marriedinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellence so close to home”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have wanted to drop in for a meal at Mattina's Cucina for years.
Sadly I always left it until the last minute and by then they were all booked up.
There is a really good reason for that as I found out when I finally ate there.
The food is simply brilliant, Paul and his crew create very tasty, very well presented dishes.
My daughter and I have the luxury of first trying a meal there and it was excellent.
When my wife, daughter and myself went back again the service, food at atmosphere was even better. Paul seems to have the ability to serve up a very entertaining meal not matter what the ingredients, he has a great imagination when it comes to pairing up foods, I even looked at one combination with a slightly odd look only to be completely surprised at how delicious it was.
The wine list is very limited but you can find something to go with all the different meals.
The deserts are very fresh and varied so you'll have no trouble finding something there.
All in all a great dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BreezeRidge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant- great food and great hosts”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my husband and I's favorite place for dinner out in Georgetown. You usually do need to make reservations since it is small, but that is what makes this place nice. A perfect spot for a date night or dinner with friends. Love the pasta dishes (I think we have tired them all!) and the salads are great. Tiramisu and creme brulee are my favorite desserts here. Paul and his wife are very friendly hosts and always make us feel welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No where near a 4 star. Food you can cook at home better”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Small tables in a converted house. The spaghetti and meat balls is not outstanding as is touted by them. It's what I make at home which is OK and i could do better if i was a chef. The pasta special stuffed with ricotta and meat is mediocre at best. The table cloth is plastic covered with a decorative cloth. 2 1/2 star to 3. Service is acceptable but not great. However the owner (chef) )was very hospitable and welcoming for our first. I would rethink going back. But you might give it a try yourself

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really good food, and owner Paul very friendly and checked out our table personally. Only downside is atmosphere of restaurant and loud table of businessmen that interrupted an otherwise lovely meal.

Helpful?
Thank 793MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattina's Cucina also viewed

Georgetown, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 
Georgetown, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing