We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Lock Seven
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for the blues festival in the fall, this place is terrific. We had a room on the third floor with wall to wall windows and a balcony. We could walk to all the venues and restaurants etc. It was great. The view of the boats in the lock could not have been better. Breakfast was included and served in a cheery room on the main floor. Perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Lock Seven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've been staying here yearly for a good number of years now when we go to Canada, and as always this has been a good place to stay. It's not fancy but it's clean, quiet, and comfortable. The inn overlooks lock 7 on the Welland canal, and the balconies are a great place to watch the ships. The location is ideal as you are only about 15 minutes from Niagra Falls or Niagra on the Lake and wine country. There are some excellent restaurants nearby and 10 minutes away in St. Catherines. Patty and Ed do a nice job with the place.

Room Tip: Go for the second or third floor for the view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjw5082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I suppose this place is ok since some people seem to really enjoy it. I found it sort of old and dingy and not well cared for, though. Interestingly, the very first thing I noticed when I entered my room was dozens of dead flies on top of the shelf next to the air conditioner, right at eye level. At first I thought it was, maybe, just something missed by the cleaners but those dead flies stayed there for all three days I stayed at the hotel. The toilet seat in my room was broken. I made sure I left it totally obvious that it was broken when I went out the first day but, when I returned, it had been put together again with no effort to fix it -- just to patch it up so it wasn't "obviously" broken. I went down for the free continental breakfast two of the three mornings I stayed. I have to eat gluten free and there was not a single thing in the entire breakfast I could eat. Even an orange or an apple would have helped but all they had was toast and muffins -- both made of wheat, of course. I took a coffee and walked into town for a breakfast -- too bad.

A couple of things I will say that were very good. The location is superb. The motel is on a quiet, leafy street and you can walk to just about anywhere you need to go. The owner/operator is a fine chap -- personable and kind and accommodating and interesting.

About the biggest negative I can suggest is that they're a bit pricey for what you get. I paid about $120 for a single, during the week. I thought that was a bit pricey given that I had stayed at a name-brand hotel in a major market just the week before for $98. I stay often in Toronto and the price was certainly nowhere near what you might pay in Toronto but, nonetheless, I found it quite steep for the motel environment with flies on the shelves and a broken old toilet seat with nothing for breakfast, if you catch my drift?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blizzardave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been staying 3 or 4 night each time we go to Canada and have been staying at the Inn 2 or 3 times a year since 2000. Patty and Ed are wonderful hosts, the rooms are always very clean. It is a very quite place to stay and setting on the balcony watching the big ships being raised and lowered in the lock is very interesting seeing all the different types. We use the time at the Inn as our R&R vacations. Always a nice continental breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: We like the third floor middle rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scannernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed in the third floor unit on the left and had a pleasant stay with my extended family. Jennifer was a great host and nice people. Hotel is older but I wouldn't update it because it is in great shape and it adds to the charm. We watched the lock in action when we woke up and it was great to see. Room was clean and neat and there was no issues or problems and the breakfast was very nice but no eggs :(. They do charge for additional guests and even though I booked through priceline they didn't prepay my card. She uses booking.com which is an affiliate of Priceline so it is better to book with her direct!! I would stay again and I wish I could have spent an additional day as the neighborhood was very nice and quiet.

Room Tip: If available I would stay on the third floor to get a good look at the Lock and bring a bicycle to v...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

For me, this is very good. A great place that welcomes cyclists. A very convenient place to base yourself for cycling in Niagara. A tremendous place to site on the balcony after a day of riding to watch the freighters. Will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Jennifer is a wonderful host making us feel very welcome. Room 21 is perfect for relaxing and watching the freighters. Very clean rooms but could certainly use some updating. We will certainly be back again. Very enjoyable!!

Room Tip: Third floor has the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorold
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
5.2 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
4.7 mi away
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lock Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lock Seven

Address: 24 Chapel St South | Thorold, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thorold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Lock Seven 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Thorold in the Niagara peninsula, a warm welcome with the comfort of modern conveniences awaits you at 'The Inn at Lock Seven'. This Inn overlooks the 7th lift lock of the Welland Canal and each guestroom has an outdoor seating area with a view of the locks. Free Wi-Fi access and a mounted flat-screen cable TV are included in every non-smoking guest room at this Inn. Rooms are soundproofed and equipped with a refrigerator, a coffee maker and furnished with a work desk. Some of the regional attractions and activities such as Canadian Horseshoe Falls, St. Catharines Musuem, Fallsview Casino Resort, Shaw Festival, Royal Niagara Golf Club, etc. Are within 15 - 20 minutes drive away from this Inn. The Inn at Lock Seven features a library, gift shop and the front desk offers a fax and copy service. From May until October, a complimentary breakfast is offered in the breakfast lounge. Parking is available on site at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Lock Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Lock 7
The Inn At Lock Seven Hotel Thorold
The Inn At Lock Seven Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing