We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Place for a Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Lock Seven
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Place for a Getaway”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very clean and quiet. Older block construction motel attached to one of the original grand houses on the canal. IMO the block construction makes the place much more quiet than the newer hotels/motels. Great central location for shopping-close to the Penn Centre in St. Catharines and only 15 minutes to the outlet mall in Niagara Falls. Easy walking distance to downtown Thorold stores and restaurants. 5 minute drive to the St. Catharines restaurant strip on Glendale Ave. Thorold arena (Blackhawks Jr B hockey every Thursday) is about 5 minutes. Merrittville Speedway is about ten minutes away on Beaverdams Rd
Shipwatching from every balcony is a treat. Lobby has a good selection of Nautical books and souvenirs for sale. City run Lock 7 viewing centre is just up the street too with a small restaurant and gift centre

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtmodified3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice little getaway for a weekend needless to say we ended up wanting to head toward Niagara Falls without being in the middle of all the hussle and bustle. We decided on The Inn at Lock 7 ... only 11 minutes from Niagara Falls .... close to great shopping in St Catherines yet in a quiet cute little town of Thorold is this peaceful little getaway. The rooms were spotless, the couple that run the place are personable and customer service is clearly a priority. It's not a high end hotel ... however if you are looking for cozy and a warm atmosphere and happy to not be in the middle of all the noise of the Falls this is the place to go. The staff make you feel welcome and will go above and beyond for their guests. This was our second visit to this Inn and we will definitely stay again the next time we head to Niagara Falls. For those of you thinking you need bells and whistles .... who needs bells and whistles while you're sleeping??? Go do your running around then relax at the Inn at Lock 7

Room Tip: All the rooms have large balconies that face the Lock and give you a great view of the ships passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio 44012
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have stayed at The Inn for many, many years and still love to watch the ships go through the locks. The Inn is a no frill, very clean and very friendly Inn of 24 rooms. Each room has a balcony overlooking the locks. There isn't an elevator so be aware. The main attraction is watching the ships. We even saw a cruise ship, c. Columbus, this year. If you have been up to the Soo, this place is a must. It is also 20 minutes from Niagara Falls and casinos. This is a family owed Inn and they do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Our children and grandchildren have also made this one of their vacation destinations.

Room Tip: no phone in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvonLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightseeing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

For anyone interested in large seafaring ships, this family-owned motel offers a ring side seat to watch commercial vessels transit Lock Seven on the Welland Canal System.

The rooms are a bit pricey at $112 USD for what you get room-wise. The accomodations are comparable to budget chains in the USA. The walls are painted cinderblock and the air-conditioning is provided by a typical window unit mounted in a hole in the wall. But the bed and pillows are comfortable and the room is clean. Furnishings are vintage and look like they came from an estate sale. The continental breakfast is adequate and offers more variety than the typical toast and coffee provided in lower priced establishments.

However, the main attraction is watching the ships from your own private balcony. The ships are close enough to watch the movement of the crew on the deck, manning lines and aiding the lock staff to move the vessel through the lock safely.

In my opinion, the best view is from the third floor, the top floor in the 24 unit building. There is no elevator, so you will have to climb the stairs. You can also view the ships passing from the lawn, where many visitors to the motel stood to take photographs.

The motel is an historic structure, dating from the turn of the century. It has been remodeled and updated over time, but nothing has been done recently. It could use a facelift.

The owners and staff are friendly, chatty and helpful. Overall, the stay was rewarding because of the opportunity to get up close to the massive vessels and watch the workings of the lock.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailingfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I had 3 free days on our hands. Since neither of us had ever seen Niagara Falls, we decided to go. We had no reservations and no agenda. Our first night was spent in $500 room overlooking the falls. That broke the bank for us, so we left Niagara Falls, looking for less expensive lodging in a place less traveled.

We put ourselves on an unfamiliar road and followed it. The ride in the countryside was beautiful and enlightening. We didn't know that rural Ontario is filled with vineyards in all parts of the lake region around Niagara Falls. We also found August was prime harvest time for fruit and berries.

As evening drew near, we used our TomTom to locate lodging near us. The Inn at Lock Seven popped up. The name grabbed our attention, so we navigated to the front door. As sailors, we are fascinated by all things maritime. The thought of lodging next to a commercial lock struck us as a unique opportunity.

To cut to the chase, the rooms are clean, but non-descript with cinderblock walls and a wall mounted air conditioner that hums loudly all night long. However, each room has a balcony large enough for two to sit outdoors and watch "mighty ships appear to 'climb the mountain.'" (The quote is from the Inn's brochure.) The ship's crew are close enough to exchange glances with you as you watch them work the vessel through the lock.

Each passage takes about 30 minutes. We watched bulk transport vessels carrying either ore, salt, coke, cement or grain in their holds. In between the goliaths, three pleasure vessels -- 2 sailboats and a motor yacht -- made the transit. A pleasure craft that would be impressive to you if you were standing next to it in a marina, looked ant-like in the commercial lock.

Sometimes the great ships sounded the ship's horn when they began to move forward under power. Once we wanted to sleep, we were grateful for the noisy air conditioner to mask those blasts.

The beds and pillows were comfortable, and we slept like babies in the very quiet neighborhood. Between ships, noise was non-existant.

The owner-operators were very friendly and chatty, if you wanted conversation. They left you alone, if you preferred quiet. The continential breakfast was ample and self-serve. The coffee was good. The fruited muffins were a little dry. The juice tasted fresh. And the Inn is close to many tourist activities, enough to keep anyone busy for a week.

I think the $100+ charge for the room is high for what you get. The room is equivalent to the rooms of the budget chains in the USA. But the proximity to the Welland Canal lock #7 is intriguing. There is no elevator. If you are on the top floor, you will have to walk up 3 flights of stairs. You get the basics -- a clean room, a decent bed and set of pillows, a fun view, a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I'm of two minds about this inn - after reading all of the reviews, my husband and I stayed here over a long weekend. We've stayed in all sorts of places over the years, from high-end to very basic, and I think that on a scale of 1 to 10, we'd rank this place at about a 4.

First, the pros - the location is terrific. We weren't very familiar with the Niagara region before our trip and Thorold is really close to everything - actually everything in Niagara is really close to everything else. The Inn is located in a very nice residential neighbourhood, within walking distance of several bars and restaurants. The next big "pro" of course, is watching the ships going through the lock - we likely saw at least 9 over the few hours we were actually in the room and awake. They really are very quiet, except for the odd blast from a horn, and the room was very quiet because of the concrete block construction (and the "white noise" provided by the A/C). The beds were pretty firm (which we like) and the room itself was reasonably clean - good water pressure and lots of hot water in the bathroom.

Now for the cons - this place has definitely seen better days and, if it weren't for the ships, would be way overpriced for what is very basic accommodation ($270 for two people for two nights). You get to your room via an unfinished, concrete stairwell and corridor with the distinct aroma of the NYC subway during the summer - I'm not sure who is using the stairwells of the Inn as a washroom, but somebody is. All of the air conditioners on each floor were blasting away (with buckets underneath to catch the water) so the corridors outside the rooms were, to put it kindly, ugly, smelly and noisy. Once you're in the room itself, your own A/C is noisy but keeps the room comfortable (and this was a very hot weekend). The room had a slightly musty smell, but it wasn't unbearable. The Inn faces due east, so unless it's overcast, you're squinting into the sun for a good couple of hours if you're outside watching the activity at the lock. The wi-fi never worked for us and we never turned the TV on, so I can't say anything about it.

Conclusion? Know what you're in for, don't expect too much and enjoy the ships, I guess. I doubt if we'll return on our next trip to the area but it was OK to do it once.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodFighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

A very unique place to stay! We were on a biking trip and spent 1 night here. Watching the ships go through the canal was fun. Everyone comes out on their balconies/porches to watch. A very casual place with very basic rooms but has everything you need. They told us where to go to get beer and dinner. It was a very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorold
5.2 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lock Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lock Seven

Property: The Inn at Lock Seven
Address: 24 Chapel St South | Thorold, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thorold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Lock Seven 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Thorold in the Niagara peninsula, a warm welcome with the comfort of modern conveniences awaits you at 'The Inn at Lock Seven'. This Inn overlooks the 7th lift lock of the Welland Canal and each guestroom has an outdoor seating area with a view of the locks. Free Wi-Fi access and a mounted flat-screen cable TV are included in every non-smoking guest room at this Inn. Rooms are soundproofed and equipped with a refrigerator, a coffee maker and furnished with a work desk. Some of the regional attractions and activities such as Canadian Horseshoe Falls, St. Catharines Musuem, Fallsview Casino Resort, Shaw Festival, Royal Niagara Golf Club, etc. Are within 15 - 20 minutes drive away from this Inn. The Inn at Lock Seven features a library, gift shop and the front desk offers a fax and copy service. From May until October, a complimentary breakfast is offered in the breakfast lounge. Parking is available on site at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Inn at Lock Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Lock 7
The Inn At Lock Seven Hotel Thorold
The Inn At Lock Seven Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing