We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comforting home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comforting home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel continues to maintain its high level of friendliness, attentiveness, and overall comfort. It has become a regular stop on my journey home from Toronto as the trip just is a bit too long when encountering Toronto's rush hours. The hotel is very well-maintained and clean, and cleaned by a very friendly and kind crew, as is the front desk staff each time I've visited. Although I didn't personally have interest in it, the hotel is now home to a Spa. The free and plentiful parking is a relief compared to the prices of Toronto. Rooms are spacious. My only disappointment is that they have stopped serving the French silk pie, and don't even have apple! And I regret to admit that the pizza I thought was worthy of a 3 hour drive just to get a slice, was not up to par this past trip...perhaps a new chef, or some skimping on the sauce?

Also, although this was resolved as promised, I ordered the items on the continental breakfast, and said that was what I was ordering...when the order came (via room service) and I was asked to sign the check, I noticed the total was nearly double...there was some vague excuse about how everything was put on separately, but it was quickly amended.

Most important of all...this hotel warmly welcomes canine kids...I will not travel without mine, and they make it all the easier.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maliesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your visits to our hotel. We certainly value your patronage. I apologize for the pizza not quite being up to par and will certainly pass your comments along to the Executive Chef. I will see what I can do about the return of the French Silk Pie. I might have some pull in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    120
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
111
62
25
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This hotel was amazing. The suites felt huge to me. A kitchenette and couch, two tv's, two lovely beds- we were in heaven. There were families across the hall with 5 members and they were very comfortable. We LOVED it! The staff was professional, helpful and courteous. It's far from the falls but for us that was fine- about 20 minutes. It is very close to the university. I had the time of my life just enjoying the very comfortable beds by sleeping in and then driving to the various venues in the region- wineries, Butterfly Conservatory and Niagara Falls. The only negative would be, the poor spa is empty and the restaurant's food was very average. Breakfast did not seem to be made with care. And there is a roomservice charge, included gratuity and they expect you to tip on top- a little shady. But apart from the businesses within the hotel, the hotel itself has a fine thing going for it. KEEP IT UP! We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
I would like to thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had a wonderful time when you were visiting the area. We do have spa packages available especially during the winter months for a great getaway! I hope that you can return and enjoy another relaxing weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great staff and clean hotel. Second night microwave did not work, within 5 minutes front desk had someone replace it. Any request was granted ASAP. McDonalds across street for Breakfast, Tim Horton seems to be the big deal for locals, did not see the hype on donuts and teir coffee cups was much smaller. In comparison to the local places to eat, Hotel price for meals was not bad and the service was excellent. swimming pool is a bit small .FREE Parking was good, Niagara area most hotles charge $10 to $20 per day for parking.
Please exchange your currency before you go. The attractions are giving you $1 US to $1 Canadian and some are charging 5 cents on the dollar to use US currency.
I read good reviews about this hotel before I book and they were right about the clean rooms and good staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklyngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for the great comments on your stay and the hotel. We certianly appreciate the feedback. I hope that you can join us again with a relaxing spa weekend getaway or for one of our many area festivals such as Niagara Wine Fesitval or the Ice Wine Fesitval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here rather than the more expensive hotels in Niagara Falls. Staff all around were friendly and most willing to please. The hotel is only 10 or 15 minutes away from the busy Niagara Falls area. So if you are looking for something quiet and reasonable this is the place. Kids enjoyed the pool as did the adults enjoy the spa pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelsonKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to psot your review online. I'm happy that your family had a wonderful time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolmer Green Stevenage
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We chose to stay here as we were visiting family in the area and have stayed in both Niagara on the Lake and Niagara Falls before. This hotel met all our requirements of location (easy driving to the Falls and relatives in St Catherines) and a family suite (a lot of the Lake hotels don't seem to have big family rooms). The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff were helpful and polite, especially our breakfast waitress who recommended a magic show in Niagara Falls (Greg Frewin) - something I would never have personally considered but I have to say it was a good night out for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halibut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
I will certainly pass along your comments to the wait staff. I'm am delighted that they were able to make your visit fun. Our family suites with two bedrooms, two washrooms plus a living room and kitchette make it convenient and easy for travelling with kids. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We recently chose to stay at this wonderful hotel as one of our children will be attending Brock University this fall, and we needed to visit the campus. We were not disappointed in any way by this hotel! The location was second to none for us (it was a two minute drive to the parking lot), the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was fantastic!! We were in a family suite and everyone in our party agreed the stay was worth every cent! A short drive took us to Port Dalhausie, and what a gem that place is too.We look forward to returning several times in the next 5 years!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the great experience you had at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I had lunch at the In Piazza restaurant in the Four Points hotel.
As a local I've been told by many friends that the restaurant is a hidden gem in St. Catharines. While the food was pretty good, the service was a totally different story.
Our waitree Tricia was very innattentive during our meal. We twice had to ask for our drinks to be refilled and quite honestly she spent most of the time speaking on her cellular phone completely ignoring us and the other people in the restaurant. When we finally got her attention to so we could pay our bill she was coming out of the kitchen with a plate and my husband is positive that he saw her help herself to some french fries from the plate she was carrying. As an older couple who really like to visit our local restaurants I have to say that I was appalled at this waitress' actions. I wanted to speak to the manager but neither myself or my husband saw any evidence that there was any.
We won't be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turned_off_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorold
York - Haig
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites

Property: Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
Address: 3530 Schmon Pky, Thorold, Ontario L2V 4Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thorold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites has 11,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, perfectly accommodating a variety of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Hotel Thorold
4 Points By Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
Four Points Thorold
Sheraton Thorold
Four Points Sheraton St Catharines
Thorold Sheraton
Thorold Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing