We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palate Pleasing!”
Review of Windy Cafe - CLOSED

Windy Cafe
Restaurant details
Balzac, AB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Palate Pleasing!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were out in Windermere over the labor day weekend staying with friends and we ordered take-out from the Windy Cafe. It has been there for years and we have been told how good it is.

I must say, over the years I have had bad Ginger beef from different locations - grissly, etc. The ginger beef we ordered was fabulous along with the rest of the food we ordered. The quantity is amazing as well - more than enough for all of us! (We actually ordered for three people with an extra order of soup and it fed the 4 of us no problem with enough over for someone for lunch! Would definitely eat their food again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank copperbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good, Tasty, and Authentic!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We eat here everytime we visit the area and the food is very good. Very authentic Chinese food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiffypop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dropped”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We loved eating at the Windy Cafe for years everytime we were in the valley. I am sorry to say that the last time we were in, although the food was fantastic, I witnessed them dropping food on the floor,picking it up and putting it BACK in the bowl! Not sure I can ever go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WinoandSidekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHISTLER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best chinese food in b.c.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

huge servings,,inexspensive,,correct ingredients,,, it's all here!
The restraunt looks like crap from the out side ,,very old school,,and very dated on the inside,,,but who cares,,the food is fantastic...the kitchen is clean and traditional, the staff are laughing and working thier buns off as they are very busy,,take out take away and lots of patrons,,....I have to stress ,,,this is very good oriental food!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGENERALSPECIALIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy Cafe also viewed

Windermere, Kootenay Rockies
Windermere, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing