We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
80
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue room quail common room okanagan lake teddy bear each evening hot tub apple trees marvelous experience french doors clafoutis gourmet breakfast bottled water small kitchen excellent hosts glass of wine each morning
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 80 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We spent 2 nights here with 2 other couples, so we made good use of the outdoor space, the common living area and kitchenette. The hosts, Ming & Walter, were amazing! They made sure that we had everything we needed. We stayed in the Country Blue room -- so spacious and comfy with direct access to the deck. The breakfasts were amazing, with different choices for the 2 mornings. I would definitely return. Thanks Ming & Walter!

Room tip: The two downstairs rooms are very spacious -- worth the little bit extra!
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vallarta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

Hey there, thank you for writing us a great review, and mentioning how everyone enjoyed the common area and patio. When 3 couples stay together at our B&B, you can fully take advantage of the entire property. You guys were great fun and we hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

A beautiful house, at the top of the hill, overlooking the lake. The room was so tastefully decorated, cool and comfortable. And the patio was perfect for curling up with a drink and a book, with a blanket close at hand. I slept like a baby, and woke to a deliciously decadent breakfast, all homemade with fresh, local ingredients and served on the balcony. The hosts, Ming and Walter were so friendly, accommodating and wonderful company. Every little detail made me feel relaxed and pampered. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Aida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Thank you very much for writing a very detailed and thoughful review! We enjoyed meeting you and your family! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 2nights and it was fantastic. The hosts are so friendly and helpful which is really amazing. You will get all you need. The room was big and very clean. The private patio with this amazing view to the lake is unbelievable. Breakfast=awesome. You also have a living room to use with a small kitchen and couches.
Go there and enjoy you stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dilgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Thank you for writing us a review. We enjoyed hosting your stay in Summerland. We hope to see you again and bring your family and friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Apples and Qauails B&B. Walter and Ming gave as a very warm welcome - this is why we love to stay in B&Bs.
We got a room upgrade, so we stayed in the "Quails Nest" which is a stunning, large room with direct access to the guest deck. The room is realy great and beautifully furnished with so much lovingly details.
Ming & Walter are lovely and nice hosts and we enjoeyed the very good breakfast as a perfect start in the day. The B&B is located on a hill with great views on the town and the Okanagan lake. Overall we had a wonderful stay in the Apples and Quails and I'm quite sure that we will come back once.

Room tip: "Quails Nest" and "Apples'n Spice" are located downstairs with access to the guest lounge and a separate entrance.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Guido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I can't really add much to all the accolades in the other posts. All true. This was our third stay and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The only issue we had was with the coffee. It's not that good and surprisingly hard to come by before 8 AM unless you count the Mr. Coffee machine and cheap decaf grounds in the common area. In Europe is pretty common to find a Nespresso machine in the room or close by. Just a thought.

Room tip: Only three rooms. All excellent. If you are travelling with another party you'll want downstairs.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for the review and for raising some very good points. Three years ago we decided to support a local coffee roaster right here in Summerland and after trying a variety of different blends we chose the one we liked. We are sorry you didn't like it much. Some of our guests liked it so much they bought extra bags to take home with them. As for decaf, we usually serve Nescafe or Maxwell House. Our local coffee roaster also offers a decaf bean, but decaf has not proven very popular and we experience a lot of wastage. Coffee is served during breakfast and the communal coffee maker is available for all other times whenever our guests wish coffee. We'd be more than happy to start the coffee earlier than the agreed upon breakfast time upon request. We had thought about pods and Kreurig and Nespresso; although convenient, but creates uncompostable waste, we prefer to continue to support our local coffee roaster and use the old fashioned filter, drip method.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews