We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Summerland B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Apples & Qualis is beautifully appointed, spacious, and has great views of the lake, while being only minutes from downtown. The hosts are welcoming and friendly, and have thought of every detail to make your stay special. Elaine cooks a different gourmet breakfast each day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SuzanneJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

My wife and I just got back from a weekend trip to the Okanagan and we stayed at a B&B that was found on Tripadvisor. Chris and Elaine were very friendly hosts and knowledgeable about all the activities in the area. They made our stay one of the most comfortable trips we had in a while.
The house is newly constructed with the privacy of a bed and breakfast in mind. There is ample space between each room. The common areas are inviting and the breakfasts are excellent. We would most certainly stay here again if we were to come to Summerland again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We just returned from 3 nights at Apples and Quails in Summerland. We had an amazing time! Chris and Elaine are excellent hosts.

The house is beautiful and very warm, inviting and comfortable. Each of the two rooms on the lower floor open onto a deck with amazing views of Lake Okanagan and Summerland. At night you can relax in the hot tub and enjoy the amazing view.

The breakfast each day was delightful, they use local ingredients and herbs from their own garden. The fresh baked scones and muffins were superb. Plus, each evening they had tea and fresh cookies!
It was a nice having a selection of board games, current DVD movies, magazines and books.

They are in a great location too, only minutes from downtown Summerland, the beach, hiking trails and several wineries. We plan to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This B&B is without comparison to any other I've ever been in my life. I've travelled New England several times, stayed in a bunch of other bed and breakfasts in Canada as well as some other Inns in Europe, but have never seen something like this. Perfect is the only word I can find for it. If it's not for the region (I didn't think Summerland is the place to come back to...) I would wanna go back again just to be in the apples'n'quails.
But let me try to get less emtional and a little more helpful as trip advisor... Summerland reminded me of the Italian lakes. From the B&B you have a wonderful view of the Okanagan lake and some vineyards (the owners grow some wine themselves). Chris and Elaine had their house built with the idea of a B&B in mind already. Since the house is built on a hill every room has a lake view. You get window seats, a porch with comfortable chairs and your own living-room with a fireplace. If you get the chance go there as a party of four, two couples for instance. That way you have all of the downstairs area for your own privacy. If don't find the area more exciting than I did, you can puzzle, choose from a quite up to date DVD collection, make yourselves some tea or coffee and chill in the hottub. And take some time for the terrific breakfast Elaine and Chris make. They are wonderful cooks and they have interesting stories to tell...
If this B&B would've been in another place of the world we would've never been able to afford a stay there! It's much more than a five star deluxe hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xrudinex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

One of our best B&B experiences. Elaine and Chris make wonderful hosts and both contribute their creative talents to making Apples 'n Quails a truly marvelous place to stay. All of the details are thought of, from a welcoming glass of wine to cookies before bed! The room was wonderfully appointed with everything we needed, the hot tub was a wonderful way to end the day, and the breakfasts were a great way to start it - large, inviting, creative and wonderfully prepared.

If I had to find something to complain about it would be that they are such wonderful people to talk to that it is hard to get on with your day!!

Ian and Kendra

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnNauwelaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mingapple, Owner at Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerland hotels
1 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#3 of 4 in Summerland
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Summerland Motel
Summerland Motel
#2 of 4 in Summerland
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wildhorse Mountain Guest Ranch
0.9 mi away
Dogwood Bed and Breakfast
Dogwood Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 21 in Summerland
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harvest Moon Guest House
Harvest Moon Guest House
#13 of 21 in Summerland
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12014 Trayler Pl, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range: $108 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Full-Service Boutique B&B perched on the side of Summerland's most prominent extinct volcano, Giants Head Mountain. This quality built air conditioned home includes such features as window seats, private decks, rustic hardwood floors, fireplaces, hot tub overlooking a hobby vineyard and lake beyond. Large guest rooms with private en suites and sitting areas. Theme Queen Rooms and common sitting room. Microwave, Refrigerator, Barista. Assorted afternoon snacks. Seasonal Gourmet Breakfasts. Locally Roasted Coffee. Special Diets available. WiFi and laundry available. Down Duvets and Spa Robes. Minutes from downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing