We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Summerland B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the Apples & Spice room over the August long weekend this year. We typically stay in Naramata when we come to this area; however, we couldn't find anywhere good to stay there so decided to try this B&B and boy were we glad we did! The owners were super friendly and helpful but not in your face. They give you 3 choices for what you want for your breakfast main as well as a number of other options you can have as well (e.g. toast, sausages, granola, fruit salad, yoghurt) as well as a yummy juice blend and tons of coffee or tea. On our last day, Walter made adorable quails carved from apples for everyone who'd ordered the crepes (there were about 5 people who had so he was carving up a storm before everyone came for breakfast!) They let us use their fridge for the random wine & cheese we had picked up along the way and even gave us a nice cherry desert one night. They always left chocolates by the bedside, which was a nice treat. The rooms are charming and clean and the owners were happy to make restaurant recommendations as well as to book reservations for us. They gave us each a treat for the road as well, which was really thoughtful. We saw a ton of quails while we were there and of course there is an apple tree, so the name is fitting. The yard is pretty and there are great views off the deck. We didn't use the hot tub as it was boiling hot in Summerland while we were there, but it looked nice. They gave us the deck to ourselves for our 5th anniversary breakfast and even had a flower at our table, so it was a lovely touch. Thanks for a great stay! We definitely recommend Apples & Quails!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Apples & Spice room - very cute and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XtinaplusDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Ming and Walter greeted us so warmly at the front door of their lovely home that we immediately felt welcome. Our room, “Country Blue” was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The ensuite bathroom was huge and included a shower and a free standing bath. We had direct access to a deck with amazing views across to Okanagan Lake. We also had use of an adjoining living area which gave us so much space. Ming and Walter love to cook and this was exemplified in their breakfasts – something different every day with a wide choice and home baked bread and other goodies in the ‘surprise breakfast basket’. Ming even cooked us treats for supper which were waiting for us each evening. They recommended “Bonitas” for dinner which was a great tip and worth a visit – only 5 mins away by car.

We give Ming and Walter at Apples and Quails 11/10 for a memorable experience which will remain a highlight of our stay in Canada.

Jason and Anne, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Apples & Quails last summer after our daughter's wedding in Vancouver. Firstly Summerland is a great spot.. away from the hussle and bussle of Kelowna. Elaine and Chris are warm and friendly but also give you your personal space. Every thing was to perfection.. the room, the chocolate treats on the pillow, the tea and homemade goodies in the evening, AND the breakfast! Wow, gourmet!! We also met two lovely, interesting couples during our stay.. one couple who are regulars and the other couple trying Apples and Quails for the first time (like us). I hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A great place to stay. My wife and I stayed there in August on a trip through the Okanagan. An outstanding view compliments the exceptional friendly hosts Chris and Elaine. Warm, welcoming rooms with lots of space, excellent breakfast and helpful suggestions about what to see in the area. Definitely planning a return visit

Room Tip: Both rooms have a fantastic view of Okanagan Lake. The eastern vista allows you to see the sun risi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple days on our way through the Okanagan. Chris cheerfully greeted us at 10pm and showed us to a very cozy and clean suite. Everything from late night treats to flip flops for the hot tub were provided.
Breakfasts were creative and not skimpy (always gets bonus points from us) and were complimented by a non-stop flow of Chris and Elaine's special blend coffee.
We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDB655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We just spent our 6th year in a row staying at Apples & Quails for the Labour Day weekend. As always, we were welcomed by Chris & Elaine as if we were old friends. The house was purpose built lovingly by Chris as a B&B. We were there the first year it was built and 6 years later it still looks as new. The breakfasts are an absolute 10. The views of the lake are spectacular but for that you should visit soon as the house is up for sale. They will be relocating as a B&B but plan on building from scratch again. You will not regret staying here - beautiful house but it is the people that bring us back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wedgewood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have just returned from our 4 week touring holiday in The Canadian Rockies and British Columbia. In total we stayed in 14 bed and breakfast type accommodations. Summerland was chosen as a brief stay, on route from Vancouver back to Calgary. To think we could have missed the best part of our holiday.
Apples and Quails is number 1 on our list !!!!!!!!!!
When we arrived the sun came out and this was to be an indication that our choice had been an excellent one.
We were met by Elaine and shown to the beautiful Blue Room. The web site photos just do not do it justice. The room is large, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. A couple of steps leads you to a great bathroom, which was in itself as large as some of the bedrooms we had stayed in. Every little thing had been thought of and we were still finding things, in cupboards and drawers, the day we left.
In addition to our bedroom there was a communal lounge and small kitchen area. This was unexpected and a real bonus. Every evening we returned to find a small food treat had been left out to welcome returning guests.
Doors led out to a balcony and the view of Okanagan Lake was the icing on the cake. Absolutely unforgettable. We could have spent days just sitting on the balcony enjoying the views and watching the Quail family scurrying under the vines in the garden. I must also mention the hot tub in the garden. Fantastic just sitting under the stars relaxing after a day of hiking.
The big surprise was the town of Summerland. There was so much to see and do there and so different from the rest of British Columbia. Almost Mediterranean in feel. We did a couple of short walks, visited wineries and bought loads of fresh cherries. There are fruit trees everywhere!
Finally we must mention the hosts, Elaine and Chris Nuessler. Undoubtedly the best hosts of the holiday. They made us feel welcomed and relaxed in their home. Nothing was too much bother. We really enjoyed the breakfasts. Not only was the food exceptional (especially the muffins and fruit salads) but also the amusing conversations were a great way to start he day.
As we left a golden eagle flew over the house, a sign of good luck. Hopefully it also means we will return someday.
Our only regret is that we did not stay longer.

Room Tip: book early to ensure you get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devontravellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerland hotels
1 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#3 of 4 in Summerland
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Summerland Motel
Summerland Motel
#2 of 4 in Summerland
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wildhorse Mountain Guest Ranch
1.4 mi away
Harvest Moon Guest House
Harvest Moon Guest House
#13 of 21 in Summerland
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Iris B and B
Blue Iris B and B
#1 of 5 in Summerland
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apples and Quails Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12014 Trayler Pl, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range: $112 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Full-Service Boutique B&B perched on the side of Summerland's most prominent extinct volcano, Giants Head Mountain. This quality built air conditioned home includes such features as window seats, private decks, rustic hardwood floors, fireplaces, hot tub overlooking a hobby vineyard and lake beyond. Large guest rooms with private en suites and sitting areas. Theme Queen Rooms and common sitting room. Microwave, Refrigerator, Barista. Assorted afternoon snacks. Seasonal Gourmet Breakfasts. Locally Roasted Coffee. Special Diets available. WiFi and laundry available. Down Duvets and Spa Robes. Minutes from downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing