We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money you can find better in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Summerland Waterfront Resort and Spa is quite a pricey hotel and for the money I would expect better. The location is lovely although sadly due to the side of the lake they are on, all lakeside rooms (and the pool) is in shade from mid-afternoon. Views from the lakeside rooms are lovely - but then so are most of the hotels with lake views in the area. Rooms are OK - we had a 1-bed - the bedroom is quite small (we had our baby daughter with us and could only just fit her tiny cot in the room) but it's dark and the bed was comfortable. Staff varied - some were lovely and went out of their way, others were less friendly. A restaurant is attached to the hotel which we were told was good but on the night we booked, despite having checked with the hotel in advance we could eat at the restaurant with a baby in a stroller, we were refused entry as the part of the restaurant that allowed children was closed for a private party. It subsequently became clear that there was little communication between the hotel and the restaurant and although we'd be led to believe by the person who took our booking at the hotel that the restaurant was part of the hotel, it isn't - so if you want to eat there with children, I would check in advance. The attitude of the staff in the restaurant was extremely dismissive and we left feeling very uncomfortable. Rather than a great meal at a grill, we ended up with take-away pizza in our room! There were other things that were just annoying - our room was only half cleaned, the place felt very understaffed - calling down to the front desk generally involved holding for at least 10 minutes. For the money you are paying there are definitely better locations eg Walnut Beach at Osoyoos.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acustomer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

This Resort is amazing! It is right on the water and is very relaxing and peaceful. The staff are very nice and help in any way they can. Check-in was quick and painless. Locals has the best food I've ever had and the staff are amazing! Im going back in August and cannot wait!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

With a couple of friends, my Wife and I stayed at the Summerland Waterfront Resort and Spa the weekend of April 23 - 25. Ths Resort is in a great location and has good amenities, staff were very helpful and the grounds were well groomed.

We were staying in a 2-bedroom Suite in the smaller of the 2 buildings, and although the suite was very well appointed and clean, both bedrooms were small. In fact, for 4 people it could become a bit crowded if you spent much time in your room. There was a nicely appointed kitchen and the bathroom was spacious and clean.

Pro's
- close to several good restaurants (including one on site but not affiliated with the hotel)
- close to the Wine region and literally dozens of wineries where you can tour and taste, and
- it's in a great location.

Cons
- the one thermostat for our suite was in one of the bedrooms - couldn't find any other controls - and as a result it could get fairly warm. The radiant heating in all the tile floors was nice (bathroom - kitchen - hallway), but because of poor control it made the suite unnecessarily warm.
- bedrooms were small (maybe a 1-bedroom room is better?)
- you had to be something of a contortionist to get at the toilet paper holder in the bathroom

Overall though, a very nice place and I wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My family and I got a suite at this resort and found it to be absolutely amazing. the underground parking was quite nice and secure. The resort was very clean and offered many things to do or to just relax. Located right on the lake, you are able to go out on boat or jet ski, or just go in for a swim. there are so many things that you really don't have to leave the resort if you don't want to. There were also bbq's, just incase you felt like grilling up your own supper. The suite that we were in was very large and offered everything you would need in a home away from home. It was immaculately clean, the beds were amazingly comfortable and the balcony offered a nice view of the lake. And actually at the time we were there they were selling some of the suites. So if you liked your stay that much and you had the money you could buy your room. It was quite expensive to stay here but was totally worth it, and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianDeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I can't say enough about what a great hotel this is, it's right on the water. I took my wife their and we can't wait to back. Rooms are big, and very clean, excellent amenities.
It's a great hotel, staff is friendly, great small town feel. If you can get a view of the water, its' so beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jester729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

we stayed midweek in an empty hotel off season and they gave us a room at the end of the building with a view of the marsh not the lake and the farthest possible distance from parking.
Wouldnt you think they would give us a great room close to parking and a lake view to make sure we praised the hotel. Not even when my wife asked for different room would they do anything,and the hotel was empty,poor marketing ,now we praise the okanogan and not the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank johnchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had looked at the hotel when it was being built - loved the location - and have always loved the quiet little town of Summerland. The resort is located right on the water and well away from the noise of the highway and even the noise of a busy main street. We imagined that the height of summer, this hotel would be fully booked but we took a chance near the end of September and just "showed up at the door". We were given a lovely room - more than big enough for the 2 of us - overlooking the lake on the 3rd floor. The view was wonderful, the room quiet, and the bed ever so comfy -heaven! And the price --- unbelievable! And, best of luck, a new eatery opened up right next door the day we arrived. "Local" -- amazing atmosphere, fantastic food, and you can toddle off to bed just walking distance from the outside patio after consuming a bottle of the great Okanagan wine! Bliss! We are going back - soon and often!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range: $107 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing