We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poolside room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent
1 review
“Poolside room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

When making reservation be sure to call resort directly, ask about poolside rooms, there are 7 large family suites with private balcony and stairs right On to pool deck. They cost more but everyone at the pool commented how they wished they had booked a poolside suite.....we were in the pool after it closed because the gates between poolside suites and pool never were locked at 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, we loved having you!
We hope that you visit us again next year and be sure to reserve that poolside room in advance as you know they go quick.

Regards,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    343
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
360
505
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed in a beautiful one bedroom waterfront apartment. Fabulous view, extremely well equipped with great amenities ( including wonderful comfortable king sized bed) and furnishings. Very clean as well. Friendly and helpful staff and reception folks. We were visiting with family who had a two bedroom unit and the only bad thing about the holiday was that it was too short.

This is our third visit and we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms/ balconies around the pool are a little noisy at peak season. Lakefront rooms are more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review with the Trip Advisor Community.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as the first, second and third
We look forward to hosting you for your 4th visit and for much longer

Thanks again,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very disappointed in this resort. It felt more like a cheap motel than a nice resort. At checkin, our room was not ready yet but front desk offered to phone us when room was done. They said it should be about 1/2 hour. Ok. After an hour and a half, we still had not received a call so we went back to inquire ( by then it was almost checkin time anyway). Yes the room was done. So why no call?

To get to the room, you need to go down the hall and outside(similar to most motels).

The room itself was your typical room, although it was smaller than the pics on the website. It also had a slight sewer smell in the room.

The bathroom was exactly as the pics on the website, except it was not very clean. The tiles and shower head were covered in mildew.

The pool area seemed ok although we didn't use it.

The beach area was much smaller than expected for this type of resort but not a big deal since the public beach is very close.

Overall, this place reminded me of a cheap motel and not the resort it is trying to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologize for your somewhat lack of service promised from our front office team that is not what we are known for I can assure you there will be follow up with this issue.
While I cannot comment on the issues you had in your bathroom as I don't have your room number, I can assure you that our rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day as well as inspected by housekeeping, before check in but we again seem to have dropped the ball during your experience with us.

Thanks for considering us for your vacation. I truly apologize from all of our associates and team here at Summerland Resort that we did not live up to your expectation at Summerland Resort. We do take great pride in our property and want you to visit us again!

Please contact myself directly and I would be more than happy to assist you with on your next visit.

Email: agm@summerlandresorthotel.com

Warm Regards,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here in July for 1 night. The service at the reception desk was fantastic. Friendly, courteous, and helpful.

However, the real winner was the rooms. Very specious, fully equipped and extremely tidy, modern, and clean. We had a fantastic sleep in what was one of the most amazing hotel beds.

There is a nice little restaurant on the water that is part of the hotel. The service was decent, but the food was fairly uninspired and bland.

Our recommend: Stay at the hotel, have a drink at the restaurant, find food elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level facing south or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Truly, well organized and well maintained hotel, with good work, love and professionalism from all staff. Very relaxed atmosphere and a variety of initiatives which can to do, just tasting it and try. The only drawback of no small importance, is the absolutely ban to not to smoke in the spacious, comfortable and private, panoramic balconies of the rooms. Obsession of NON-SMOKING is not compatible with the culture of good wine and good food, a little toscanello (italian prestige cigar) or a cigarette concomitantly with an excellent glass of local wine on the terrace of their room denied, are a slap in the face of well life or a “savoir vivre” if you prefer. Excessive no-smoking restriction, take down level of confort in this very beatufil hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take room "mountain view" not vale price of hotel absolutely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I really am ambivalent about this resort. On the plus side it has nice amenities including waterfront location and very nice and new building structure. Rooms are clean and most of the staff are nice and friendly.

But there are several items for prospective visitors should be aware of before they select a room:
1. rooms that face the street stare over a junkyard. Not exactly the view many people would expect when they are going to a resort. Other rooms face the parking lot. Only the waterfront rooms face the water or the pool, and some of those face a marsh.
2. Check in was very late. When we booked it was after 3 but when we arrived it took until 5 pm for us to check in as our room was not ready.
3. no true restaurant but a bistro that interestingly is a separate business so cannot charge to room and somewhat slow and understaffed at times.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side rooms - ask or else you will be having a nice view of a dump/junk yard across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelandtravail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerlandResort, Manager at Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We do pride ourselves on our guest service and creating memorable moments. You mention some very valid concerns and challenges that we face hear at the resort.
When you mention the view of the junkyard across the street you are speaking of something we have no control over and which is someone home. We are highly considering changing the view type of the rooms to street view to better describe to our travelers. When you mention the Lakeview rooms we have done an excellent job with them as have even changed some from Lakeview to Partial Lakeview to better manage guest’s expectations. We have a protected Wetlands area in front of the resort we are very proud of.
I am truly sorry that you check on was very late that is our fault 100% and should not have been, you are correct our the Restaurant & Bistro being separate businesses but we work well with both partners to bring a great resort experience, beside from not being able to charge to your room.

It is important to us that all of our guests leave with a smile on their face. I do hope you will consider us in the future for a second try.

Kind Regards,

Jason Brown
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowhead County, Ab
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We came for a family wedding in Summerland and the staff was unbelievably helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay and the wedding went off without a hitch even though the wedding and reception was at a near by winery. Thanks again to the staff at the Summerland Resort!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Property: Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing