We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and great service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed from August 21 to August 25th and highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a retreat from the city. The resort is well kept and the service was great. The first 3 nights we stayed in the Studio suite and was perfect for a couple. Kitchenette was well stocked and the bed is very comfortable. We decided to stay extend our trip for one more night and Kyle at the front desk did everything possible to accomodate us. We received an upgrade to our suite and stayed in the one bedroom with a partial lake view. Again the room was great. The hot tub was great, pool is not heated, but in the summer, who needs it? They provide a daily itinerary, for the town of Summerland. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to stay there. The staff were polite, accomodating, and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: The partial lake view is definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooshbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    347
    100
    30
    27
See reviews for
367
516
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel has been on my list of places to stay for quite some time. But I was very disappointed when I finally did stay for two nights recently. The front desk staff were disinterested, the rooms we stayed in were dated and the one room had a great deal of mould in the shower and the tub would not fill ore than a couple of inches after 40 minutes of filling. The first bed I slept in was very comfortable but the second bed (in a less expensive room) was not and the hide a bed was a disgrace. All in all not terribly impressed and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I Agee. Overpriced. Cob webs & mildew in our room. Mega spiders on the deck/ building. Roadrunner191 review is right on. We have stayed her 3x in past and it is obvious they are struggling to keep service & quality matching their prices. Too bad.

Room Tip: On site Spa was booked for rest of the month!! Book well ahead if a spa service like a massage is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights Aug 4-6.

Positives: Nice location right on the water. Couple of very small beaches - nice to sit and enjoy the view.

Negatives: Emailed on enroute informing us that we would need to change rooms for 2nd night. No reason given as to why. 1st room was clean and in good shape. Side view of lake as opposed to the direct view we had requested. Good size balcony, but was right next to the exhaust vent of the kitchen of the restaurant next door. Made for unpleasant odour until late in evening once the kitchen had closed. Balcony and windows with many spiderwebs - could be washed more frequently. Moved to main building for 2nd night. Carpeting in this building showed generally more wear and tear - maybe older building. This was also reflected in the unit - many carpet stains, cracked toilet fixed with silicone and stained grout lines in the shower. Balcony could again be washed more frequently to clear spiderwebs and dirt and bird droppings on balcony glass. Balcony over the pool not relaxing as it gets noisy with kids enjoying the water and a little tight for 4. View of lake was also partly obscured by the marsh area of the property. Internet signal was practically useless throughout the property.

Conclusion: It's a nice quiet location on the water, but for the price per night we expected the room to be top notch. Not much else in Summerland in the way of restaurants or entertainment so we made good use of the kitchen which was nice to have. Don't think we will be back unless the price is way lower than what we paid.

Room Tip: The south building shows less wear and tear and can be quieter since you are away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were there July 27 - Aug 2 for our son's hockey camp (in Penticton); had a nice corner one bedroom suite. The king sized bed was really comfortable and the kitchenette was great! Pool was nice but not heated and hot tub was out of service during half our stay. Always short on towels (always 3 towels for 5 of us staying there). Reception staff were clueless half the time, boat rental staff were completely useless and charged us twice for our boat rental, had to go back and get them to re-do the transaction. Don't like the fact that we had to drive everywhere, no decent food establishments near the hotel. Not sure if we'd do the 8hr drive from Calgary to stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice hotel but pricey. For families of 5, better off to rent a house or condo; better value for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited mid-June for a wedding and mini-vacation here. We stayed 4 nights in a parking lot view 1 bedroom suite, with our two small children. The room we had was wonderful, having both a sofa bed and a murphy bed, so each child had their own bed. The suite was well appointed with a nice sized deck, everything we needed in the kitchen and delicious coffee! In fact we were able to cook most meals in our suite. The hotel has a BBQ area that guests can use free of charge, and we certainly took advantage of this a number of times during our stay.

The pool is a nice size (but very cold), and hot tub was able to fit 30 of us one evening. We were here with a group of roughly 80 people so we basically took over the resort. A number of the kids and adults did injure themselves on the pool bottom as the floor and sides are like sandpaper. Lots of little cuts; we would strongly encourage them to look at fixing this problem. Watch out for the small frogs that swim in the pool or hang around the edge, made for fun catching though for the kids.

One staff member was excellent at the poolside, and brought plastic cups to us when he noticed a few people drinking out of glass bottles on the pool deck. No comment about the beer, just gave us the plastic cups and left.

The resort’s beach area is very small. However a short 5 minute walk down the left path to a big sand beach, 5 minutes more to a playground and water park, 5 minutes the other way and another playground. A great location for small children as there was lots to keep us busy!

The wedding was on the small grassy area and beach at one of the resort, it was a beautiful location and nicely set up.

We took our two boys to the Kettle Valley Steam Train. This is highly recommended for a fun adventure. Surely a highlight of our trip.

We did experience a number of customer service type problems during our stay, and I know that a number of the other wedding party guests were also not impressed with the service they received. Front desk staff were unable to answer some questions about directions and even where to find pool towels (at the front desk). We also had problems both in the small café and at the wedding reception with the staff not respecting my son’s peanut allergy, and serving him food that “may contain peanuts” even after we asked. Luckily he was fine. We also had problems requesting late check out on a Monday, which was very frustrating and handled very poorly by the front desk staff.

When I stay at a “resort” I am expecting excellent customer service, where people ask how they can help, anticipate your needs and go above and beyond. If we were stopping here for a one night stay then my feelings would probably be different, however on a vacation where this resort was the destination, I never felt like a valued guest.

Overall, this resort is beautiful but we would not stay here again. There Okanagan is such a beautiful area that we will try something different the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a one bedroom suite over the waterfront. Recomendation is pay the extra money and get a waterfront view as the mountain view looks at a fairly steep cliff less then 200 feet away. So really there is no view to the back side at all. The rooms are well appointed and were very clean. The on site Resteraunt called Locals was very good but quite the limited menu. I had the deconstructed lemon pie and it was excellent.
If you are staying for a few days bring your supplies with you as there really is no shopping close to the resort. Thou Summerland town Center is only about a 10 minute ride away.
I don't remember the web site saying it but this resort and grounds are all totally smoke free. If you smoke you need to go to the parking lot across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#3 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Property: Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beauty of vineyards and dramatic landscapes, the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa is set on a secluded stretch of Lake Okanagan shoreline, 15 minutes north of Penticton and 45 minutes south of Kelowna. The beachfront resort features 115 condo-style suites, each well appointed with a full kitchen, dining and living areas, fireplace and most offer a balcony for stunning lakefront views. You are invited to live the Okanagan lifestyle and enjoy two outdoor hot tubs, a large outdoor pool with sundeck, barbecues, beaches, boat rentals, fitness room, meeting and group venues, as well as a neighbouring Restaurant and Day Spa. At your doorstep is Summerland's Bottleneck Drive wineries, golf courses, water activities, hiking, biking, cycling, swimming, art galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing