We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury on the hillside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Punta Norte Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Summerland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury on the hillside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

In between camping and winery tours, my husband and I enjoyed a fantastic two night stay at La Punta Norte. The A/C was most welcoming as the days were hitting 30+ degrees celcius. Our room on the upper level was large and very well appointed, with a small fridge, satellite TV, complimentary blackberry port, and an incredible view across the lake. The breakfasts were the best I've ever had at a B&B, including homemade apple & pork sausage and fresh baked goods. The location was excellent for exploring vineyards up, down, and across the lake.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at this B and B as part of a group of 4 couples. On arrival with another couple, we were shown a room right next to the entrance on the top level. Being a very light sleeper, I asked if we could have a room on the lower level, like the one our friends were given, but was told that this is the room we were assigned to and there's NO changing. Since there were other rooms on the lower level that were unoccupied at that time, it seemed rather rigid on the part of the hostess to be so unaccomodating. When the other two couples in our group arrived later, I noticed that those of us who were from Canada were given rooms on the top floor that were noisier (fronting the parking area) and hotter (having no shade for the balcony) while our friends who were from the US were given quieter rooms with shaded balconies. To add insult to injury, the room we were in had a toilet that was backed up and we had to use the plunger several times. In addition, there was construction on Highway 97 just where the B and B is, meaning lots of noise (including at night), dust, and road closure for several hours each day. We were not informed of this at the time of booking. Given the ungracious attitude of the owners, the inconvenience from the construction, and the very high room rates, this was among the worst B and B experiences I've had.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by Colleen and shown our room, complete with private hot tub on a balcony overlooking the Okanagan Lake.
George and Colleen were the best hosts you could possibly ask for during our 3 night stay, including rummaging for a waterproof container so we could take our keys and money safely down the canal in Penticton.
The breakfasts were incredible and plentyful! Lunch was barely needed after them (a two course breakfast, fruit followed by a hot dish of sundried tomato and sausage with egg (or without the sausage in my case as I don't eat meat which wasn't a problem as Colleen asked on arrival about dietry requirements), apple pancakes or omlette and plates of scones, homemade breads and sausages) and sitting out on the balcony whilst enjoying it in the morning overlooking the lake was perfect.
We would love to go back again and again!
Thank you George and Colleen!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for one night in June, a treat after spending several nights in a rain-soaked tent, and what a treat it was! The rooms were gorgeous, the hand-painted Mexican fixtures in the bathrooms were a great touch, and the highlight being the private hottub on the balcony, with the complimentary port and chocolate, overlooking the Okanagan lake - talk about a romatic setup! Breakfast also did not disappoint, they had a live pianist in the corner and all the guests around the same table for some lively conversation. The food was one of the best breakfasts I have had at a B&B - if you are journeying through the Okanagan, this place is a must!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

We have stayed in other places in Okanagan and this is by far the best Bed and Breakfast in the region and probably on of the best in Canada.
Features:
1. The view is fantastic (see pictures)
2. The rooms have fireplace and a Hot tub in the balcony!
3. The details in the bathroom and room are unbelievable (see pictures)
4. The pool is great, not too big but perfect.
5. The breakfast is very good and abundant.
6. Colleen and George are the best hosts!
7. They are still expanding their amenities and a mini movie theatre is in construction and almost finished.
8. The location is perfect, with lots of wineries very near.

I wouldn't think of anyother place to stay as you will feel very good and pay for great value!! We had a wonderful time and hope to return soon to La Punta Norte B&B.

  • Liked — The details everywhere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohhyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2006

We recently spent two days with our wonderful hosts in their lakeside brand new B&B with unobstructed views and total peace and beauty. They could not do enough to make our stay perfect, and it was. The private rooms, complete with satellite TV, fireplaces, mini fridge, microwave and coffee makers allowed us to enjoy our privacy as we wished. Add to this, a totally private balcony with a beautiful hot tub - talk about romantic and relaxing!!

There is much or little to do, depending on your wishes but the common spaces, awe inspiring and comfortable, are fabulous. The time and attention to detail evidenced in the rooms and everywhere show the love that the owners have brought to their creation. The Mexican and South West decor is a joy to see and nothing has been overlooked in their quest to make visitors feel welcome and comfortable. George is a vast storehouse of information and witty stories, while Colleen, bubbly and energetic, moves easily among her guests bringing perfectly prepared delights that she prepares in her dream kitchen.

I can not say enough about this wonderful spot. It is a rare gem and we had the most wonderful time during our visit, wandering the property, listening to the birds, sharing stories over breakfast, sharing a glass of port (provided) in the evening in the hot tub, writing on the balcony and enjoying the clean air and panoramic views.

This is the BEST B&B I could imagine, with all of our wishes cheerfully granted. We will be visiting again and wish the Davis's resounding success in their new venture.

Helpful?
11 Thank canyongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerland
4.5 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
6.6 mi away
Summerland Motel
Summerland Motel
#2 of 4 in Summerland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pineacre on the Lake
Pineacre on the Lake
#1 of 19 in Peachland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#3 of 4 in Summerland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harvest Moon Guest House
Harvest Moon Guest House
#10 of 23 in Summerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Punta Norte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Punta Norte Guest House

Property: La Punta Norte Guest House
Address: 365 Hwy 97 N, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Southwest design facility on the lake, in the middle of Okanogan Wine country specializing in weddings and other festive gatherings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Punta Norte b&b
La Punta Norte Hotel Summerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing