We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonita's Bistro - CLOSED

Bonita's Bistro
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Awesome new restaurant attached to Bonita's Winery in Summerland.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Although we had been on the lookout along the highway for Bonita's, we nearly missed it. After turning in, the drive down the hill from the highway is a bit longer and bumpier than expected. It is well worth it, both for the view and the food. We tasted wines, but we were really there for lunch. With the breeze that day, we decided to eat indoors. The server was competent and helpful with vegetarian options; the food was served promptly and so attractively that we took a photo, (Sorry, it can't be posted.) Upon hearing that it was a birthday celebration, the chef appeared and asked our preferences in special desserts. A few minutes later, the birthday celebrant was gifted with an off-menu surprise: two crushed-almond, dense chocolate small cupcakes, with a raspberry sauce with creme. This was absolutely delicious - and we do our own baking so we don't hand out laurels lights. Will we be back? Most definitely. We had none of the problems mentioned in earlier reviews. This goes on our list of favorite winery/bistros in the Okanagan Valley.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwestadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pemberton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I went for a wine tasting and lunch at the bistro. The view is outstanding and the food was very good, but the gentleman who owns the place was extremely arrogant. He approached us and started to brag to us about stories of how he had overcharged clients. It was a one side conversation of how amazing he thought he was. I felt it was extremely unprofessional and by the time my wife and I were able to pull ourselves away from the conversation I felt like I wanted a refund for the bottle of wine that I had probably paid to much for... Good luck if you decide to go there. If there is anything positive that I can say from this experience is that the view was amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Poor service, cloudy wine, beautiful view. Tried it twice and had the same poor service but different waitress and all the red wine was cloudy and had floaters. We were told I is supposed to be that way!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deetas, Manager at Bonita's Bistro, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
We do appreciate response, although we find it odd that your review is dated March 2014 and our restaurant was not open at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing location&food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went with my son who's travelled extensively...his comment"just wonderful"
Beautiful view,great atmosphere,excellent food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mado070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Ontario, canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Burgers ever, with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great food here. They make the best burger i have ever tasted. And a great view of the lake and vines. Good service, and friendly staff. They make good wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maninmotion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonita's Bistro also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing