We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, Great Food, Amazing View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonita's Bistro - CLOSED

Bonita's Bistro
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Awesome new restaurant attached to Bonita's Winery in Summerland.
Penticton, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Great Food, Amazing View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first time to Bonitas it is a windy drive down to the winery but amazing once you get there. We were seated on the patio overlooking the grape vines and the beautiful lake. We had the bruchetta and chili pepper ribs. The food being brought out to other guests looked amazing. Large portions and the flavours were fabulous. It did take awhile to get our meal, but we were okay with that as we were enjoying the whole winery bistro experience . Very nice and relaxing. Would definately go again. We also thought the staff they have working there were really nice, professional, and hard working. This winery bistro gets busy so I would suggest making a reservation if you are going for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was worth taking a trip to try the food here. It was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. Th elocation is stunning. Bewarned that parties over 6 do cause problems as they caanot seem to work out how to put the tables together without having to move umbrellas. But that was minor proble. Just enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pendor109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High class gem on little backroad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a delicious lunch with a fine glass at Bonitas Bistro just north of Summerland. This little miracle of a vineyard grows out of the side of a clay hillside. The buildings and patios are very modern looking and the view is of the sparkling Okanagan Lake. From the patio and restaurant you see out across very green fields and vineyards to the lake and up & down the Okanagan Valley. The lunch menu was expensive but not outrageous with entre & 1 glass of wine being $24.
The meal was delicious and the setting spectacular. Only complaint was the blazing Okanagan sun was almost overwhelming. Thankfully the wine shop is air-conditioned as is the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tooskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The experience lives up to the meaning of the name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

After tasting the wines (whites are the best here), we were seated on the bistro patio overlooking the vineyard and Okanagan Lake. Beautiful! We started with two appies; the Avacado Shrimp Bruschetta and the Chili Ribs. The bruschetta was excellent and presented beautifully. We were expecting a bit more zing from the Chili Ribs, but aside from that, they were very good. Some of us had the beet salad with a salmon filet to top it off. Excellent preparation, presentation and taste. I had the open faced salmon sandwich. It was beautifully cooked and placed on a garlic buttered crustini along with mixed greens in a very light and creamy dressing. Stellar! We shared a bottle of Bonitas own Viognier white, which paired with the meal selections wonderfully. For dessert, we shared a gorgeous maple cheese cake with fresh blueberries and a blueberry compote (to die for!), and the warm sticky date pudding with toffee sauce and homemade maple icecream. This was enjoyable, however, the cheesecake was the clear winner! Lattes and coffee to top off the meal. The service was excellently provided by our server, Claire. This level acheived while having to climb the stairs from the patio and up to the kitchen multiple times just for us, let alone the other tables she was serving!

Helpful?
Thank KevinJWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Bistro, Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went to this bistro for lunch after buying some wine and we were pleasantly suprised, resonably priced and amazing! From the salad to the main course....Excellent.
The view was excellent.
The service was Excellent.
The Chef is top notch.
Go for lunch, its worth it...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Anabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonita's Bistro also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing