We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, Great owners”
Review of Sonoran Winery

Sonoran Winery
Ranked #11 of 35 things to do in Summerland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We welcome guests for free wine tastings. Guests are also able to purchase locally produced white, red, Rosé, sparkling, Ice wine, and dessert wines including port style wines. Come and join us for a great day. Pick your favorite bottle and feel free to have picnic on our ground with the beautiful view of the lake. (glasses are available for hire free of charge, deposit requires and will be refunded once the glasses are returned in good condition) B&B is also available should you require to stay overnight.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine, Great owners”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stumbled onto this winery a few years back while touring the Summerland area. What a great find. It has now become a "Must Visit" even if we are just passing through. If you like good wine at a very fair price drop by and do a tasting. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Delightful Wine Tasting”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our recent visit to Sonoran Estates Winery was delightful. The owner (wife) was pouring at the tasting counter and was knowledgeable, informative and friendly. Oh, and the wines were yummy too! We loaded up, as they represented value not easy to find in the OK.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot! So so tasting experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to get an unhurried eating experience on a busy long weekend Saturday when we arrived. Sonoran has a small but reasonable menu with some strong points: the caesar salad was pretty average, but the other salads and the salmon burgers were good.

Our tasting experience was mixed: our pourer was a surly Dutch guy I assume must have been a winemaker feeling forced to deal with the public. He poured lots of samples though, so there was a upside. We did miss some stories about the winery and the unique winemaking process of Sonoran. Didn't get much of a sense of pride from him - maybe he felt the wine spoke for itself. We did buy a bunch of bottles, so maybe that makes sense!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garGoil8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best quality ice wine in the okanagan”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Mr smit the owner of the winery is great at showing you all the white red and ice wines we have been going to this winery for 7 years and every year they have tasty white wines to purchase we buy at least a case of wine each visit to the winery definitely recommend this winery to anyone who likes white wines or ice wines

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LONG LONG WAIT!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I visited the Sonoran Winery during our three day stay at Divine View Cottage in Summerland, BC. We walked to the winery from our vacation cottage. We ordered an appetizer and a salad and waited nearly an hour to be served. We were seated on the patio and there was only one other 'occupied' table when we arrived. We had waited so long that my husband, who doesn't usually get impatient, went inside (where there are no tables), and enquired about our lunch. Shortly afterward, the owner came out, sat down at our table and started chatting with us (for some time). Probably trying to distract us. Finally, our food arrived, but the owner didn't leave right away. After a time, he went inside to do some 'tastings'. It also took forever to get our bill. We were going to buy some wine, two cookbooks, and some other gift items...but we were so unimpressed that we just paid the bill and left. No tip...as the waitress never once acknowledged the long wait for the food or the bill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoran Winery also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Sonoran Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing