We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, excellent view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Lounge • Grille

Local Lounge • Grille
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Summerland
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is no public bus service in Summerland. Taxi service is available.
Description: Local Lounge • Grille is a multifaceted ADULT ORIENTED food & wine restaurant concept that merges casual sophistication with an upbeat urban style, in a relaxed rural waterfront setting. We feature an expansive 100+ bottle local British Columbia VQA wine selection coupled with a menu that blends classic styles with seasonal Pacific Rim ingredients. The atmosphere is often described as an urban retreat with amazing views of the water and natural elements. A la carte reservations are available for parties of 6 or less, for parties of 7 or more please contact our restaurant
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I had dinner one night and appies the next night at this most wonderful restaurant. My complements to the chef!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gab_in_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    110
    60
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our reservation was for 12 people on a Saturday evening and I'm sure we got stuck with the worst waiter on the staff.

My meal was fantastic (the salmon), but getting a drink was near impossible and forget seeing the bill.

Our table spent 3 hours on the patio and I got a total of 3 drinks the entire time. Considering this was for a wedding party, much more was expected.

It's a very nice restaurant with a great menu and a beautiful view of the water. Just be prepared to have to hound your server if you want any service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoundTravellerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenelon Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food was great, the burgers were wonderful and very tasty we had the flourless chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swebster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stopped off here for a quick bite before heading to an event and were very impressed. We were able to dine on the beautiful patio and enjoy the spectacular view. I ate the Local Burger which was absolutely delicious! I saw other dishes which looked equally good and will definitely stop here to try something else the next time I'm in the area.

We visited the lounge toward closing time the same night--loved the room, cocktails and service but it was a little bit quiet as summer holiday season was over.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanCityTallPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is very well known in Summerland, it has had a chequered history with previous owners, but was completely renovated and reinvented a couple of years ago.

The restaurant is now definitely further upmarket and is priced accordingly. We had dinner there last week after having a couple of lunches over the past year.

Our party of three had the grilled pork, and two versions of the pasta, a rigatoni lamb and italian sausage. Wine is clearly their specialty when it comes to beverages, a very extensive wine list showcasing B.C. wines.

Given that there is sometimes a bit of hype with a restaurant like this, I could try and find things at fault, but there was nothing that really fell below excellent.

All three dishes were all very enjoyable, the service was stellar (thanks Paul) and the location and view at sunset was very special. The place has an air of being professionally run with very good staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Lounge • Grille also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Local Lounge • Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing