We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Great Small Town Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalta Hotel Provost
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Provost
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Canalta in Provost for three nights during the Western Baseball Championships during the past weekend. Going to Provost, I was not expecting to be staying at a quality hotel, but I was completely wrong and surprised.

The Canalta is an exceptionally clean and comfortable hotel within Provost, with very spacious rooms that were very modern. The hotel used to be a Super 8, but was much better than many under that brand.

The beds were very comfortable and provided a great night's sleep.

The hotel also provides an exceptional continental breakfast complete with everything including eggs and make your own waffles. During the day, the hotel also had freshly baked cookies and fresh popcorn available in the front lobby for guests.

The service was so exceptional at the Canalta that the hotel even allowed us to shower after our last game of the weekend before we went on the road back home, even though it was past check out time.

This hotel was exceptional in so many ways that whenever I am in Provost I would not hesitate to stay here again and will recommend to anyone that is in the area. Great stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor do have an door on the outside that does provide quicker access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016

Greetings:

I recognize you stayed quite some time ago , but as a relatively new General Manager, I think it best if I try to respond to all reviews of our property.

Thank you for your kind comments & honesty.

We continue to inspire all our team members to surpass our guests needs & seek to maintain an outstanding property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very clean, spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful, polite and efficient. The continental breakfast was great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone passing thru, and would definately stay here again! Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review of Canalta Provost! We appreciate hearing when our guests are pleased with the hotel and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were recently snow-stayed in Provost for two days and were lucky enough to get a room at the Canalta. We were pleased with so many aspects of our stay: friendly helpful staff, clean room with lots of amenities, free use of computer with internet, and continental breakfast every morning. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

THank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review of our property. Thank you for your very kind comments; I will be sure to share them with all of our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was sent to provost by my company and had no hopes to find a good hotel. But then Canalta proved me wrong. Staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Clean and nice. Thanks

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016

Greetings:

I recognize you stayed quite some time ago , but as a relatively new General Manager, I think it best if I try to respond to all reviews of our property.

Thank you for your kind comments & honesty.

We continue to inspire all our team members to surpass our guests needs & seek to maintain an outstanding property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights midweek and was lucky enough to get a suite with a whirlpool bath. The room was a little tired decor-wise, but was clean & tidy and the staff were friendly. The king bed was SO comfortable and the room also had a large sitting area with a huge gas fire and TV/DVD. The bathroom was really small tho, which seemed odd in such a big room! The buffet breakfast (included) had the usual suspects: cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, yoghurt and some hot food. Provost is a small town, so I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice and well-run hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank JC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice Clean rooms, wireless internet, decent breakfast.

No complaints

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank oc64Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016

Greetings:

I recognize you stayed quite some time ago , but as a relatively new General Manager, I think it best if I try to respond to all reviews of our property.

Thank you for your kind comments & honesty.

I am grateful your stay generated "no complaints" as we continue to inspire all our team members to surpass our guests needs & seek to maintain an outstanding property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice stay here again, consistance service at this hotel. Do not hesitate to stay here. Wanted to write a new review because I notice now that there are few restaurants that offer delivery to the hotel. They are Top 20, PMI,& Silver Sticks. Nice for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I hope to see you next time you are in Provost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provost hotels
1.1 mi away
R & R Inn Provost
R & R Inn Provost
#2 of 4 in Provost
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Provost Motor Inn
Provost Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Provost
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenhead Motel
Greenhead Motel
#3 of 4 in Provost
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Deerhead Inn
Deerhead Inn
#1 of 1 in Provost
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Canalta Hotel Provost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Hotel Provost

Address: 3611-57 Ave, Provost, Alberta T0B 3S0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Provost)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Provost
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Provost
Price Range: $125 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canalta Hotel Provost 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home when traveling! The convenience of comfort and service - complimentary WI-FI. We are the only hotel in Provost with a gym and a hot tub. Your comfort is our #1 job. Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association Housekeeping Awards: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013 & 2015, 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Canalta Hotel Provost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provost Super 8
Provost Super Eight
Canalta Hotel Provost Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing