We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger on the island - but so much more!”

The Twisted Cork Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The Twisted Cork Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Twisted Cork Cafe, located in the heart of Frenchtown,offers a relaxing, comfortable, yet elegant atomosphere while providing gracious service and exceptional cuisine.Utilizing fresh local fish and produce when available(on premise garden coming in 2013).In addition, our bar is always warm and inviting for our regular patrons, or guests passing through who wish to imbibe their favorite libation in a cozy and friendly environment.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger on the island - but so much more!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Twisted Cork is a great place with good ambiance and excellent food for the price. Hands down one of the best burgers on the island...a gourmet hamburger in fact!

They also have delicious surf and turf entrees, often with fresh caught fish from the fish market down the street. The wine selection is huge, the dinner menu is unique, the bar is great for lunch. I had a fantastic Italian style sandwich for lunch one day, one of the best sandwiches I've ever had.

Overall it's not too expensive either, I think it is a really good value for the quality of food and service.

Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PihmpDaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    59
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fresh spinach from their garden out back...Wow!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped by for lunch last week and Eric had the Chef cook up some fresh Mahi with spinach.
The fish was great, but I had to ask where the spinach came from because it was awesome.
His answer, from the garden out back. Wow!!! The best local spinach I had in years. Great job guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Finding their Way...and Serving Great Food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently visited Twisted Cork for the 2nd time in the past several months. We have been pleasant pleased with the quality of the food and how well and consistently it is prepared.
But, the Twisted Cork is still trying to define their place among all the other dining options in Frenchtown. Based on the current menu options [which the Chef is in the process of updating], it's now clear whether they want to emphasize a more fine dining experience or whether they are more focused on the burger and salad crowd. Time will only tell as they continue to come into their own. We hope they choose the first path!

We really enjoyed our dinner on this visit. Our favorite starter is the fried chicken livers. Outstanding. I chose the Jambalaya pasta and my husband had the Mahi-Mahi seafood special. Both were very good.
Service was a little unbalanced on this evening even though the restaurant was not crowded. It seemed that one server had two tables and bar service and the other had all the rest of the tables. With two servers, we think that they should share the load instead of having diners waiting for one person while the other is standing around.

Our only other comments are that the noise from the bar can be a little distracting for those in the dining room. Lots of former "Craig and Sally" bar regulars still come to the Twisted Cork for a cocktail or a quick bite at the bar, so it can get a bit noisy. We also didn't like the fact that there seemed to be too much loud idle chatter with friends, and staff behind a half-wall partition in the back of the restaurant. People seemed to be wandering in and out of the kitchen at will. Not sure why that was the case. Based on the position of our table. We could see and hear it all.

Overall, we do like the Twisted Cork and will go back to see where their journey to find their own way will take them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBHSRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yumm”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It's a little off the beaten path but worth finding. We had the blueberry salad, smoked ribs, mahi special with a sauce to die for and then topped it off with blueberry bread pudding! The bread pudding had goat cheese in it making it very moist. All in all it was a fantastic lunch! Food and service was amazing! We were put in a corner booth to allow more room for our 13 mo old. however for the money we paid, it would have been really nice to have been provided a high chair. Being a jungle gym and trying to eat at the same time can be very challenging. Our only complaint was no high chair. Oh and the tripadvisor linked to an iPhone google map takes you to the ghetto not to the restaurant! Our best meal so far!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrandklev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“What a delicious meal!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice and quiet in a good way, friendly and knowledgeable staff and the food was so, so delicious. We had Yellow Finned Tuna, Mussels and the Key Lime Pie was also great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerlach2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twisted Cork Cafe also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Twisted Cork Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing