We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truffle Fries to Die For!”
Review of Epernay

Epernay
Reserve with OpenTable
Epernay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Epernay Bistro and Wine Bar is a Bistro and Wine Bar that serves delicious global cuisine with french inspired touch,old school craft cocktails and great wines. We have recently livened up the appearance of our deck & restaurant and are very proud of its new presentation. Stop by for one or both of our happy hours Monday to Friday 5-7pm and 11-1AM or come enjoy a drink on our improved deck and choose from one of our nightly specials(local caught fish.catch us on Brisket night or stop by for a late night bite..)
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I really like the atmosphere at Epernay. Small and cozy with romantic, warm low lighting. A very nice wine list and truffle fries to die for! Truffle fries you ask? These are not your everyday fries! They're fried in truffle oil and served in a cone shaped basket that keeps each fry hot til the very last one. They're awesome. In addition to the truffle fries they have a very nice menu with some lovely dishes.

Thank HootinHollerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Michael Stark, Owner at Epernay, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us this past January. I'm pleased that you think our truffle fries are "to die for." They definitely aren't your typical fry! I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to the kitchen. What other dishes did you try on the menu?

Good food, a "romantic" atmosphere—these are all things we like to hear! Yet if you ever have any suggestions about what we could do better next time, don't hesitate to share them with us. We hope to welcome you back soon, but until then, take care, and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Cheers,

Michael Stark, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Epernay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

This restaurant is not listed under restaurants in St Thomas. I looked for it amongst the restaurants and could not find it.

That being said the food is absolutely exquisite and so are the wines. I have been there twice and recommended several of my guests to savor the delights of Epernay. Their Tuna tartar is to die for.

Great restaurant and quite reasonable too. Excellent service from the team there.

1  Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Michael Stark, Owner at Epernay, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Even though a few months have passed, it's always wonderful to read a positive review like yours. You can never go wrong with the tuna tartar—that seems to be a customer favorite. Glad you enjoyed it!

What other things did you and your guests delight in? Anything you didn't get to try, but wanted to? We appreciate your compliments, and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in town.

Cheers,

Michael Stark, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We live and work on the island and Epernay is a perfect after work location with colleagues and friends... A tiny bistro (5 tables for 4 inside?) but the menu is short but wonderful (and the food is consistently excellent), best mussels I've had outside of New England, and the fish dishes are splendid, too. The wines are excellent, given how hard it is to find wine in this rum-soaked island. The service is spotty, but if you are lucky your server will be Isis, or the overworked Tucker behind the bar.

3  Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Epernay used to be a hot spot with great (although sometimes inconsistent and overly rich) food, a hopping crowd, great bartenders, and an attractive, attentive staff. What happened? Worse, it's taken 6 years for this so called "wine bar," to update its wine list at the behest of many harping, nagging, loyal customers. Epernay has now finally updated its list . . . but it doesn't actually have most of the wine on the list. The steak frites which used to be tops was bland and tasteless. The service was surly. The bartender wore a T-shirt for God's sake. We were very, very disappointed to visit this restaurant which used to be one of our favorites. Perhaps it's not surprising that the place was COMPLETELY DEAD on a Saturday night. Not good.

5  Thank MrFrench_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epernaystthomas, Manager at Epernay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

MrFrench,
I wanted to reach out to you as the new GM of Epernay,to say... I too agree that in the past Epernay lost its way,however the owner Michael Stark has taken all the necessary steps to addressing all the issues you have stated. I was hired on this past August and have set my mind to turning around all the issues that where happening.
I would like to extend out an invitation to come back and see us and check out all the changes.I am sure you would agree,that Epernay is back on track and our many local regulars will agree!
Lisa Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have dined at Epernay several times- and so excited to report its greatness, while finding the restaurant/wine bar refining its program and menu to make for a better and better experience every time I go back!

Tucker and his staff are hard working, genuine and passionate about the business. They treat every guest as if it where a special occasion- providing a special experience while doing so. In a place like St Thomas- difficult to provide consistent product and service: at Epernay... you can be sure they are giving you 100% of their energy and knowledge while you are guests of the house.

Try the tuna selections for something light- and the kobe meatloaf to satisfy your hunger. Let Tucker sit with you and talk you through the extensive wine selections. His passion for food and wine is refreshing. it always makes the journey more enjoyable when the owner (or anyone involved in your experience) is excited you are there- and happy to share passion with you.

Celebrate life over a glass or bottle of his wonderfully chosen champagne selections. Its always best to drink the good stuff with a staff who care and know how to serve it in style. Thanks Tucker and Staff. From one local business owner here on St thomas to another- you are making the island a better place to eat and drink... one glass of bubbles at a time!

2  Thank islandfoodievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epernay also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Epernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing