We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spinach Artichoke Appetizer in the World”
Review of The Pie Whole

The Pie Whole
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Spinach Artichoke Appetizer in the World”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Seriously, we went for the pizza, ordered the pasta and pizza, yet mainly enjoyed the friendly service and the most fabulous spinach and artichoke dip on pizza bread with extra cheese that we have EVER tasted. The prices are high, the place is small, yet the appetizer is worth the hassle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GottagoGottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    144
    44
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing beer selection, delicious food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent artisan pizza and much more. Plan recurrent visits to sample the huge array of Belgian beers. One of several culinary attractions in French town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janis_mCampHill_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
1 review
“expensive, but tasty.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our hotel was close by a section of town called french town. They have several restaurants there and The Pie Whole is one of them. We wanted pizza as we were starting to get tired of island food.
This place is very small, but we didn't have a problem getting a table. It was clean, and our waitress was friendly. We asked her what the house specialty pizza was, and took her suggestion without reading the menu.
Our pizza seemed to take a long time to get to us even though the restaurant was not that busy. It was very good, but i wish the toppings had been more plentifull.
Heres the only real problem. It was SUPER expensive. Thats what we get for not reading the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimw34038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“we enjoy this place on each visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

omyomy... so good. we always share their pizza and salad. a really great, small place. we get there early to get a table right away. each trip we dine at pie whole sometimes three times. counting the days...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachminow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good Pizza/Pasta in St Thomas”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After tiring quickly of the 'fine dining' touristy options in St Thomas we were very, very happy to find Pie Whole. I think its relatively difficult to screw up fresh brick oven pizza, but regardless, everything we had was very good - caprese salad, a pizza, and one of the pasta dishes. The service was really good and friendly and the pricing was fine compared to the exorbitant food costs at some of the other restaurants in St Thomas. We ate every crumb of everything that was delivered to the table and it was one of the few satisfying casual meals we had in St Thomas. If you're in town - 100% head to Pie Whole.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Whole also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Pie Whole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing