We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang Bang Beer!”
Review of The Pie Whole

The Pie Whole
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bang Bang Beer!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went for lunch -- had the Bang Bang lunch special and tried a couple of Belgian beers -- great selection of beer! Pizza is very good too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteeleTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    143
    44
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best pizza in years”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

$14 dollar lunch special includes a generous salad and "personal" pizza that will feed two average appetites. My husband has never eaten his crust but ate every crumb at Pie Whole. Extensive beer list too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJUNBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best pizza on St. Thomas!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pie Whole without a doubt has the best pies on St. Thomas. You can't go wrong with any of the choices. Often they have specials like Taco pizzas and Hawaiian etc. My favorite is the Spanish pizza but I must say I've never had a pizza from there that wasn't awesome! If you are a beer fan they have the best selection of Belgium beers on island as well. The indoor seating is limited and this is a popular joint so keep that in mind!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best pizza on the island”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The beer selection will draw you in and the pizza will bring you back. This NY Village style pizzaria is almost out of place from what you expect to find on an island. It's an oaisis when you tire of the rum and seafood and you hanker for something from a brick oven.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bananasaurus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a great dinner at The Pie Whole. When we arrived there was a bit of a wait so the hostess was nice enough to help us pick out two beers off of their extensive beer list. When we sat down we started with their garlic cheese bread as an appetizer. It was delicious! For dinner, we split the chi-town favorite pizza and the Italian sub salad. Both were amazing; I loved the dressing on the salad and the crust and fresh ingredients on the pizza were delicious! Since I have been back in Chicago I have actually been craving their pizza! It gets pretty busy so I would recommend reservations. This place had great service, delicious food and drinks and a great atmosphere. I would highly recommend it as a don't miss restaurant on St. Thomas!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Whole also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Pie Whole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing