We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enkai

Enkai
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Winner of the reader's choice 'Best Sushi of the VI on St. Thomas 2014'. Enjoy an array of artisanal sushi, created with love.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really fresh and tasty. Tried the jerk roll. Delicious. Went during lunch and got the bento box. Nice atmosphere and great view. I will def be back for more!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mich821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slowest Sushi going”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went with a group of friends to an otherwise empty restaurant. After promptly placing our order we then waited approximately 2hours! until ALL of our sushi was placed on the table.
We had ordered a large amount however rather than bringing it out as it was prepared they waited until it was all ready then brought it all at once, not sure how long some of it would have been sitting as a result.

That aside the location is nice with views over the bay and the atmosphere is relaxed and if not for the wait, fun.

Sushi itself was good although not mind blowing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigmacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great sushi chef.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first female sushi chef. Storm roll is a must. Looks very different once you get inside, fun and casual. Our waiter Scott was great fun and tried very hard to suggest things we wanted. You will enjoy this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MG5507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary in St. Thomas this year. One of the staff at our hotel recommended Enkai so we decided to try it. We both agreed it was the best sushi we've had! We tried "The Storm" based on Trip Advisor recommendations- it was delicious! This place is difficult to find so take a taxi, but it's well worth the trip!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easily best sushi in St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Located right by the water always wins with me but they also have GREAT sushi... Their menu includes most of the usual favorites you find in any good sushi restaraunt but they have this one item that ive never had anywhere else thats a definite must-have called the Storm roll... Just try it and you will see! Very friendly servers as well. Other sushi ive ive had in St. Thomas looked old when served or had rumors of making people sick. Not only is it a great place to go for sushi but its the ONLY place to go!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelslightly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enkai also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Enkai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing