We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and excellent food - go early”
Review of Oceana

Oceana
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Oceana Restaurant and Wine Bar combines the perfected culinary methods of yesterday, the creativity of tomorrow, and the spice of the Caribbean all in one of the most beautiful and historic locations on island. Our guests can expect an unforgettable culinary and dining experience in a private villa right on the water, and feel the years disappear as they are swept away from the busy modern world while enjoying locally-sourced and artfully-prepared entrees. We also feature house-infused cocktails and an impressive wine selection. A TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient several years running, Oceana has also been voted "Best of VI" multiple times, most recently for Best Gourmet Dining 2016.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and excellent food - go early”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Take and early reservation before sunset (like 5:30 pm), so you get a seat on the ocean edge. You cannot beat this view of returning boats and Hassel and Water Island with the light sound of Caribbean waves in the background. I had the Blackened Mahi-Mahi with a Sweet & Tangy Cucumber - Tomato Salad, Old Bay Yukon Gold Potatoes and Fresh Basil. It had a very tasty sauce and the fish was fresh. The others in my party also raved about their dishes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodieWineloverTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    131
    67
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine
Level Contributor
245 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Off-the-Charts Excellence”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went here for our last evening dinner in St. Thomas before heading back to Wisconsin. Without a doubt, Oceana was the best restaurant we have ever encountered for food and atmosphere! In all our travels, we have dined in some excellent restaurants but we felt like we were in another world at this place! The open-air restaurant, a full moon out glowing on the ocean, and sound of the waves had to be the most romantic place to be the night before our take-off on Valentine's Day.

For cocktails, I had the "Oceana specialty cocktail", a pineapple, lime and rum drink. I highly recommend this one. Hubby had the "usual".

We took advantage of all the fresh fish on St. Thomas so for starters we shared the special lobster appetizer of the evening, wow!!! A gourmet BLT! Presentation was a feast for the eyes and surpassed my expectations! My entree, Garlic & Herb Grilled Shrimp over Parmesan Polenta w/Truffled Corn-Carrot Broth, Roasted Cherry Tomatoes and Shaved Manchego Cheese was melt-in-you-mouth Perfection! Hubby raved about his Char-Grilled Scottish Salmon w/Smoked Feta Whipped Potatoes, Grilled Asparagus, Sundried Tomato Butter and Cucumber Relish, in fact, we had to take pictures of our meals! We split a Chocolate Souffle, just a bit of sweetness to end the evening. Our total bill of $115 was reasonable for all this and we would recommend this place in a heart-beat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank panielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ended up at Oceana after a mishap with another reservation at a different restaurant. Boy, were we glad of the mix-up! Right on the water in Frenchtown..beautiful building. Started out with drinks and appetizers. I highly recommend the Cava-jito...a mojito made with Cava sparkling wine. Out of this world! Appetizers were great, as well as the dinner. The seafood was very fresh, and I ordered a tenderloin steak, which melted in your mouth. The deserts were phenomenal also. Delicious Crème Brulee. The service was also top notch. Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Night Out”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

After seeing so many great reviews and the recommendations of our friends, my husband was one of four of us eating there that got food poisoning! My husband had the scallops. Other than that, it was fine and we agree with everyone else's rave reviews.

BUT, any restaurant that gives us food poisoning will not have our business in the future...hence the poor rating. Perhaps the entire kitchen needs a food safety audit. This is one place I don't want the slogan "island time" to refer to how long food is kept and secured!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPAreviewlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Our friend took us out for dinner at Oceana the night after our wedding day. We have already been to there other two sister restaurants and they where wonderful. But this one is the best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmirrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing