We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oceana

Oceana
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Oceana Restaurant and Wine Bar combines the perfected culinary methods of yesterday, the creativity of tomorrow, and the spice of the Caribbean all in one of the most beautiful and historic locations on island. Our guests can expect an unforgettable culinary and dining experience in a private villa right on the water, and feel the years disappear as they are swept away from the busy modern world while enjoying locally-sourced and artfully-prepared entrees. We also feature house-infused cocktails and an impressive wine selection. A TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient several years running, Oceana has also been voted "Best of VI" multiple times, most recently for Best Gourmet Dining 2016.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ended up at Oceana after a mishap with another reservation at a different restaurant. Boy, were we glad of the mix-up! Right on the water in Frenchtown..beautiful building. Started out with drinks and appetizers. I highly recommend the Cava-jito...a mojito made with Cava sparkling wine. Out of this world! Appetizers were great, as well as the dinner. The seafood was very fresh, and I ordered a tenderloin steak, which melted in your mouth. The deserts were phenomenal also. Delicious Crème Brulee. The service was also top notch. Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    128
    66
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Night Out”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

After seeing so many great reviews and the recommendations of our friends, my husband was one of four of us eating there that got food poisoning! My husband had the scallops. Other than that, it was fine and we agree with everyone else's rave reviews.

BUT, any restaurant that gives us food poisoning will not have our business in the future...hence the poor rating. Perhaps the entire kitchen needs a food safety audit. This is one place I don't want the slogan "island time" to refer to how long food is kept and secured!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPAreviewlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Our friend took us out for dinner at Oceana the night after our wedding day. We have already been to there other two sister restaurants and they where wonderful. But this one is the best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmirrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Four of us had dinner here in early February. Outstanding food. Perfect martini. Very good service. A great experience in Saint Thomas. It is tough to find, but once you get there, it's first class.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clubman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Other Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

On the third night of our first visit to St. Thomas we had dinner at Oceana. This restaurant was superb. We had a reservation and we did not have to wait for our table. We were escorted to our table and were delighted with the open-air ambiance of the restaurant. Our evening was perfect from start to finish. Our waitress, Colleen was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable and helpful with our meal. Colleen was fun and made us feel at home. We will definitely go to Oceana on our return visit to St. Thomas!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing