We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location!”
Review of Oceana

Oceana
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oceana Restaurant and Wine Bar combines the perfected culinary methods of yesterday, the creativity of tomorrow, and the spice of the Caribbean all in one of the most beautiful and historic locations on island. Our guests can expect an unforgettable culinary and dining experience in a private villa right on the water, and feel the years disappear as they are swept away from the busy modern world while enjoying locally-sourced and artfully-prepared entrees. We also feature house-infused cocktails and an impressive wine selection. A TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient several years running, Oceana has also been voted "Best of VI" multiple times, most recently for Best Gourmet Dining 2016.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Location!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice Location, food was OK above average. Server was very nice and helpful forgot her name but she was very sweet. Service a bit slow. Definitely for people who are in complete vacation mode. They are in no rush to serve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    139
    68
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oceana is the best”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friends and I go to Oceana for dinner regularly, the most recent visit in March 2013. It is an open air dining room with a wonderful view of the ocean. At times you may see cruise boats at a distance, or the sea plane from St. Croix landing, or at Christmas time the Vice President and his party passing in boats going to or from Water Island. There is an inclosed bar area. Service staff are friendly and knowledgable. Food preparation is marvelous. This is the best restaurant in St. Thomas. It is pricy but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John144Albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience in the Carribean”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

With the recent closing of Craig and Sally's, Oceana has stepped to the forefront and is now the top dining spot in St. Thomas. Master Chef, Patricia La Corte, has created a wide ranging menu that caters to all taste wishes.
My wife and I treat ourselves monthly (it is not inexpensive but worth every dollar), and look forward to every visit. Last night I had their version of surf and turf which consisted of a magnificent filet, perfectly cooked to order, and topped with two jumbo garlic shrimp. When it was presented it looked like artwork out of the kitchen. My wife enjoyed a succulent dish of scallops, preceded by another work of art beet salad. I had their "BLT" salad which was wonderfully tasty.
We are locals who moved here 12 years ago and I can assure all that you cannot go wrong at this fine dining restaurant. It truly deserves at least a Michelin star.
Our tab was $130 which included three drinks and it was well worth it.
Any visitor to Paradise in the Caribbean should include this in their dining plans if it is affordable.
The ambience is also magnificent as it sits waterside looking to Water Island, creating a magical, romantic setting. Try it-we guarantee you will love the dining and the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum...and a delightful find in Frenchtown...call for directions!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

When I asked directions (we were lost in Frenchtown) a lovely couple told us to follow them, as it was impossible to find the restaurant otherwise...but it is well worth it, so make the effort! Portion sizes were excellent. My husbands veal chop was delicious, the starter of calamari stuff chorizo sausage inventive and flavorful, the arugula pesto, and red pepper hummus dips that came with the bread were superb. The fish of the day that I had was a lovely size and paired with caramelized macadamia nuts and roasted red potatoes ... It is such an enjoyable experience to find a restaurant that is not only in an exquisite location, in a historic building, with excellent service, but also, with originality and creativity being a defining aspect of the cuisine...well done Oceana!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great waterfront restaurant in St Thomas near Charlotte Amalie. The food was terrific, service exceptional and atmosphere outstanding. I highly recommend it for a couple or a family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing