We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh”
Review of Oceana

Oceana
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oceana Restaurant and Wine Bar combines the perfected culinary methods of yesterday, the creativity of tomorrow, and the spice of the Caribbean all in one of the most beautiful and historic locations on island. Our guests can expect an unforgettable culinary and dining experience in a private villa right on the water, and feel the years disappear as they are swept away from the busy modern world while enjoying locally-sourced and artfully-prepared entrees. We also feature house-infused cocktails and an impressive wine selection. A TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient several years running, Oceana has also been voted "Best of VI" multiple times, most recently for Best Gourmet Dining 2016.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

By far the nicest atmosphere of pretty much any restaurant I've seen down there but that's about it. Very pricey, high end food with less flavor than you want. It's a shame because its not an awful place, just kind of a let down for the atmosphere, cost and vibe. If you go, don't get the steak, maybe you'll have better luck than me. I am not saying it stinks, just saying there's much better upscale food quality down there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    135
    68
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super birthday meal”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Gorgeous location and fantastic food. I had the yellow snapper special of the day and it is probably the best fish I've eaten in years. We went to celebrate my daughter's boyfriend's birthday and the staff made us feel as it we were all celebrating our own special occasion. Outdoor seating with a magnificent view. Only downside is a few bugs but what do you expect from an outdoor location on the beach. Ambiance more than made up for the little critters.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJUNBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent food and service. Open air restaurant right on the water. Only negative is finding the place. Took us 4 times to find the restaurant because its hidden and in the dark you have a difficult time finding it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmeade2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterside elegance”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Great experience on the island.
Stick to soup and seafood.
Perfect place for a group of friends
Our favorite place on St T

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sporthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location 5 star dining at 5 star prices”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Location, location, location! Beautiful restaurant on the tip of the land in Frenchtown over the water. Very expensive--we would never spend that kind of money at home, but, hey, it's vacation ($145 for dinner for two without alcohol, including tip.) We chose Oceania based on a couple of locals' recommendations as a good fine dining place with a good chef for the one "nice" dinner we wanted to go out to on the last night of our trip. (Our waiter said a lot of people tell him that they're there on their last night of vacation.) Awesome and interesting mix of French and Asian influences on the food, combined with fresh seafood, as expected. For the above money, we had 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 1 dessert and a bottle of Pellegrino. Freebies included a small "Amuse Bouche" of duck on toast, and two rolls with two awesome spreads instead of butter--one was pesto & I think the other one was a roasted red pepper something or other. Delicious appetizers of a cold "Beet Pattern" and steamed mussels--would've been enough for 4 or even more to share. Entrees of fresh seafood for both of us--Chilean Sea Bass and a medley that was one of the specials. Suggestions: Make a reservation if you want to be sure to sit at room's edge, though you can't help but see the water from every table in the room we sat in. (Not sure if there's another dining room or not.) Read the interesting history of the property inside the menu and check out the cool art gallery and sitting area upstairs by the restrooms. We were a little too late to catch the sunset, but hear it's lovely from there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing