We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave your hectic life behind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops Villa Guest House
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just got back last week from 5 nights at Treetops. We're a couple in our late 20s. It's a restful, beautiful base from which to explore Grenada.

What we loved about Treetops:
1. Pam and Chas. Welcoming (greeted us with cold drinks to enjoy on the veranda after our late night flight arrived), knowledgeable (Pam met with me most mornings over coffee to help plan our days - knows everything about things to do/places to eat on the island and tips), and fun (invited us to join their friends for happy hour at local bar). We learned and saw more about Grenada than we ever would have otherwise. We got lost multiple times driving through the interior but it was part of the adventure, we got to talk to locals to ask for directions countless times.
2. The views. 'Nuff said.
3. The landscaping. Gorgeous flowers.
4. Our room. A study in fitting in everything you need in a small space. A mini kitchenette with microwave, egg poachers, fridge, a cafe press, electric hot water kettle, etc. We LOVED Pam's homemade bread, and our fruit(from the garden)/eggs/cheese was replaced as needed. Making breakfast and enjoying it overlooking the views was one of our favorite memories.
The butterfly room was whimsical and artful, like a cabin with unique touches everywhere you look and it exceeded my expectations. As another reviewer said, not swanky, but peaceful. Wooden floors and walls and bed. Thought we would miss the A/C but we didn't, with enough breezes. Slept with one sheet most nights. Fabulous shower with views. Plenty of towels provided which you hang to dry outside in the breeze. Paula the housekeeper does laundry and dishes and keeps the room tidy. The first night we got there I worried about privacy since you leave the windows open all night for the breeze, but no one walks by your room due to the thoughtful layout of the place.
5. Levera beach (you shouldn't bring valuables, but this was no different for us than other places we've visited, and Pam lets you know where you can leave them)
6. Walking around the property barefoot, including down to the spa. The water temp, not too hot, and jets are perfect.
7. The WIFI was faster than ours at home in NY.
8. Treetops was such a nice break from our usual life that some days we wanted to just stay there -- me, writing and tanning in the sun, my husband reading in the shade.
9. Last but not least, NO biting bugs. We didn't get bit once, which is a rare thing for me. And no creepy crawlies.

What you should know:
1. If you arrive in the evening, I wouldn't do the drive from the airport. Winding roads, sometimes unmarked. Pam can help find someone to drive.
2. Plan ahead for evening meals as options are limited. There's a BBQ if you buy your own fish. Enjoyed The Heights and Aggie's for food, the local bakery, and Petite Anse for drinks overlooking the ocean. Wished we could have tried Helena's but always got there too late in the day.
3. Bring your own shampoo.
4. We rented a car and drove everywhere.

We spent two nights in a fancy villa near Grand Anse after Treetops. Yes it was nice to be able to walk to the beach, but missed the personal touches of Treetops when we were presented with store bought bread, Smucker's jelly, and bad coffee -- nothing like Treetops.

Zero pretense here. We can't wait to come back someday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsVilla, Owner at Treetops Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you J&G for all those comments....you were perfect guests and lots of fun...particularly your tales of getting 'lost'....!! You were a joy to look after and immersed yourselves wonderfully in the local community - everyone misses you! We know you'll be back - Grenada has got under your skin! Cheers! Pam & Chas xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Grenada for 11 days in February of 2013 for our 10 year anniversary. We stayed at Treetops for 3 nights as we wanted to explore the northern part of the island as well (we stayed in Grand Anse the rest of the time).

Reasons we loved Treetops in no particular order:
1) Pam and Chas were amazing hosts. They are there when you need them, but also leave you to yourself and respect your privacy. Need a recommendation on where to eat? Need another loaf of homemade bread? Need to know the best local watering hole to visit? Need a plug to charge your camera? Need a good laugh? Rental car? Pam and Chas have you covered.
2) The view. It's simply stunning and photos just can't capture it. We even got to watch some storms come in over the ocean...and it was wonderful to watch from the huge covered verandas. And morning coffee on the veranda reading a good book = best ever.
3) The house and property. The gardens and landscaping are well designed and maintained and a pleasure to look at. And the multi-level house is fantastic, which Pam and Chas helped build. Sounded like Chas did a lot of the detailed wood work.
4) Our room was great! Very cute decorations. Swanky? No, just simple, clean and comfortable as we like it with nice colors. Bed was great! Kitchenette was great!
5) The food and kitchenette. My husband and I were surprised to find fresh baked bread in our kitchenette and cheese, juice, milk, butter, jam etc in our small fridge. On the counter, tomatoes, oranges and lemons. Pam also gave us eggs. What a treat! We enjoyed making a simple breakfast and putting together some cheese sandwiches to take to the beach for lunch. AND...BEST OF ALL a french press with decent coffee. We had a difficult time finding good coffee around Grand Anse, so this was a treat. Also, the juice went nice with our bottle of rum. :)
6) Housekeeper was great. She even did our laundry.

Recommendations when staying at Treetops:
1) You should probably get a rental car if you want to explore a lot on your own (which my husband and I did). Driving was a blast! And it allowed us to see a lot of the country.
2) Levera beach was so wonderful. We were the only people on the beach most the day!
3) Pam and Chas know where to eat and drink...listen to them.
4) Go drink in Sauteurs and chat up some locals.
5) Go to the Fish Friday. Good food and a beautiful drive along the coastal towns.

Note: My husband and I are not "all inclusive resort types" so Treetops was perfect for us. We like great accommodations from which we can explore and experience local culture.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsVilla, Owner at Treetops Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thanks KT & M for such an honest and comprehensive review....you were GREAT guests and we enjoyed every minute of your short stay. We love sharing our home with wonderful visitors like you two and helping folk get to experience the 'real' Grenada. So glad we helped to make your anniversary special. See you again somewhere along life's travels...Cheers! Pam & Chas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Treetops for a week in January, in the butterfly room (I think). Really enjoyed the stay, it's a well-designed property with probably the best view in Sauteurs - stretching right across the north of Grenada, with the sunrise over the hill in the distance.. truly worth seeing, whatever the weather.

Pam and Chas were very helpful and friendly, but didn't intrude - they seemed to know most of the people in town and around, introducing me to locals and taking me along on trips to restaurants (Aggie's in Bathway beach is great).

If you're reading these reviews, you probably already know that the north of Grenada is quite different from the more developed south - there's no big hotels or resorts here. There's a lovely woodland path down from Treetops to the road, and across the Petit Anse drive to a great little beach - best waves on the island.

Hard to add much beyond what previous reviews have covered - the wifi was excellent and superfast, the kitchette is compact but has enough for breakfast and lunch. There's homemade bread provided (highly tasty herb bread made by Pam) and other essentials, plus whatever fruit is on the trees around.

Meeting locals and other expat friends of Pam and Chas was interesting, and gives you a better feel for the place and what's going on, rather than being isolated in a resort. I value that kind of experience, so would definitely recommend staying here (as well as in the south).

Room Tip: Two rooms, both seemed about the same size and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsVilla, Owner at Treetops Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, Tim - it was a pleasure looking after you. We appreciated you comments about the views from Treetops as photos do not often capture the spectacular vista. Keep in touch and come back soon....Cheers! Pam & Chas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my Second visit to Treetops and it was (again) a great experience. Pam and Chas are simply the most gracious and dynamic hosts you can imagine. They are so helpful with suggestions and activities and have a great way of giving you all the space you need while at the same time, if you are up for it, making you feel part of their life and community . We definitely took advantage of the latter.

You really can't ask for a more picturesque place than Treetops, the view was definitely one of the attractions for me and the grounds are lovely and well kept. In fact they were investing in improvements in the property while we were there, and its always easy to feel at home.

I had some difficulties with luggage which required timely delivery ( despite being misplaced by AA - NEVER AGAIN on AA!) . Pam came to the rescue with her contacts and expedited delivery ( direct to the local Rum Shop!)

My beautiful bride joined me after my radio contesting weekend, and her flight was very late ( AA again!) , but Pam arranged her a late ride so that she could travel directly to Treetops and not have to stay in St. Georges, for which we were both very grateful. Carolyn really enjoyed Treetops the grounds especially the gardens as she is a gardening enthusiast.

Some parts of my radio antenna had gone astray and Chas helped out with bits and pieces that allowed me to get on the air successfully. Thanks Chas!!! (PS : I checked and they were definitely lost en-route ! I've had to replace them since.) I was so lucky to find a Guest House in a fabulous location where the owners not only understood what my crazy "Ham Radio" hobby was about, but actually encouraged me to set up and operate from their little piece of paradise !

Carolyn and I had great travels around the area using the buses and Treetops as a home base . Great restaurant suggestions from our hosts did not disappoint. We were even invited by Pam And Chas to join in a group dinner with friends at a lovely restaurant close to a beach, a bit of a drive away. Aggie's is splendid with great atmosphere, wonderful fresh food, and the hosts and company were warm and fun! What a memorable outing.

We had left our planning for the remainder of our trip loose, except for the last 4 days when we planned to be on Grand Anse beach . Pam recommended a B&B in l'anse aux Epines and it was spot-on. The rest of the trip went well and we will be coming back to Grenada and Treetops in the future I'm sure.

Thanks again, Pam and Chas for making our time away together so relaxing and fun. Always great to see you both.

Cheers!

Tom and Carolyn
Mississauga ON, Canada

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorseCodeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsVilla, Owner at Treetops Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks Tom and Carolyn - Come again soon....Hope you were a winner on the Ham Radio comptetion?? Cheers! Pam & Chas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Treetops for just two nights while traveling the whole of Grenada, and Pam & Chas were incredibly hospitable, picking us up at our ferry and then shuttling us to dinner one evening at Petite Anse, down the road.

We were the only guests at the time and were lucky to book a rare short-term stay (typically Treetops only signs on for a week at a time, which is probably advisable in this corner of the island, anyhow, to leave room for exploration), and we were delighted to have such a comfortable & clean home base while exploring the northern corner of the island. We loved having a kitchenette in the room with fresh fruit and bread and eggs every day to enjoy breakfast on the veranda. It was private & perfect. Treetops is truly secluded with spectacular views, and while it's definitely off the beaten path, this is almost always a good thing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsVilla, Owner at Treetops Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi L & J...our lovely guests from the home of THE Bean....Thank you - it was a joy to have you both here - albeit a very short stay - hope to see you in Grenada again soon....Cheers! Pam & Chas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent three nights at Treetops with Pam and Chas, using it as a base to explore the north and centre of Grenada. This part of Grenada is very laid back, friendly and so very different from the more tourist frequented areas in the south. Even on a Saturday we managed to use the local buses (so easy and friendly) to travel to and from the Grand Etang reserve, whilst on Sunday we joined Chas and Oliver the dog on a local walk, and later met up with some of their friends for lunch at a wonderful small restaurant next to one of Grenada's many beautiful beaches. We finished the day walking back to Sauteurs via Lavera beach, utterly deserted.

Pan and Chas were wonderful hosts, providing copious ideas and information on what to do and how to do it. They looked after us introducing us to the Royal Sauteurs Yacht Club (!), whilst also providing lifts into Sauteurs to catch the buses, and laid on a very good curry cooked by Chas on Friday night for ourselves and our fellow guest.

Treetops itself is a lovely B&B, set on a hill with views overlooking the coastline and Sauteurs. The house is very much the product of Pam's vision and Chas's skills and hard work. The room provided everything we needed, including a small kitchenette for breakfast, well decorated, maintained, and clean. Chas and Pam clearly keep on top of those small jobs that many places in the Caribbean seem to forget about!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 10 nights to escape the UK winter!

The location is quiet, gorgeous and beautiful. The house itself is lovely! The nearest town Sauteurs is 40 mins walk away along a lovely palm fringed beach.


Pam and Chas are such great fun, brimming with ideas for your stay and always on hand to ensure you have a good time. Pam was more then happy to take us to the bus stop and even pick us up. They invited us to numerous social events which was really sweet and gave us a real insight into 'island life' and opportunities to meet more interesting people.

We used the buses for one day which I highly recommend and fun but as we wanted to be a bit more self sufficient , we decided to hire a car which Pam kindly organised for us. Re driving - do bear in mind it does take 1.5 hours to drive from Treetops to Grand Anse Beach for example and driving at night is a little fruity due to lack of street lighting. You'll have the road to yourself at night though!

We stayed in the Fish Room ( one of the two rooms) which was ideal. It is equipped with a small kitchenette ( microwave, kettle,fridge, sink, crockery, cutlery, glasses etc) which was stocked daily with our breakfast (home-made bread, fresh eggs, home-made jams, lovely coffee, tea,milk,cheese,fruit) enabling us to eat breakfast when we wanted.

The bed was king size and super comfy!

Nearby options for supper
The Heights - really sweet couple ( Harriet & DJ) and delicious food and company. There are only 2 tables so advisable to call ahead (perhaps the day before at least) to ensure they have room.
Petite Anse - stunning location and charming people but $$$
Pam and Chas can arrange an evening meal for you as well at Treetops

There is a BBQ option on site now which is good. It is set on the level below Pam and Chas so you can be self sufficient if you wanted to be.

All in all a lovely relaxing holiday - thank you very much!

Room Tip: I think the Fish Room is the better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
0.2 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
377 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
54 reviews
23.4 mi away
Bogles Round House
Bogles Round House
#1 of 8 in Carriacou Island
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
34 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mango Bay Cottages
Mango Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
74 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Cabier Ocean Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crochu
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Villa Guest House

Address: Mt Alexander | Sauteurs, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Patrick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range: $80 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treetops Villa Guest House is a unique Gingerbread-styled Caribbean Villa with two beautiful and individual Guest Suites having their own veranda and spectacular views. Set in over 100 acres of unspoilt tropical forest and within walking distance of several secluded beaches. Ideal for those seeking tranquility, great walking, bird and butterfly watching - a tropical hideaway. Relax at the end of the day in the spectacular jacuzzi spa pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops Villa Guest House Grenada/Saint Patrick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing