We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Short of Paradise”
Review of Almost Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almost Paradise
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Short of Paradise”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Let's start by saying this is a wonderful place to stay. The cottages are beautiful, designed and built by Uwe, the owner. They are on a steep hillside, with a magnificent view down over the wilderness and out to the ocean and the southern Grenadines. The rooms are very comfortable, with good covered porches with views, comfortable furniture, a nice kitchen and good beds. The breakfast food provided to cook in the room for those staying a week is great. Wonderful homemade bread and jams as well as tropical fruit, cheese, butter, milk and coffee.

The food for dinner was very good, but not always excellent. Some dishes were excellent. There aren't too many choices nearby, but you should be happy with what you get here. We ate lunches down the hill at Petite Anse, which is a great option for those who don't want to get groceries or eat in Sauteurs.

It is an easy walk to the beach, and the waves look big, but the water is shallow and it is great swimming. On rainy days, there is plenty of room to hang out on the porch, or go up to the "restaurant" and just hang out.

If you want to hang out by a pool they are happy to have you at Petite Anse down the hill, if you buy lunch or drinks, and we did this on two days.

Unfortunately, the hot water in our beautiful outdoor shower didn't work, ut we used the one in the smaller unit next door during our stay, and this was just fine. We were happy to have the big unit! More privacy, and more comfort than in the medium or small units.

The rum punches here are exceptional, with fresh fruit juices, and of course, a grating of Grenada nutmeg!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newprospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Admittedly I had a gorgeous view from my balcony but that was the best thing about this place. Fridge? What fridge - oh it broke I was told. The night I tried to spend reading quietly in my room was constantly interrupted by incessant barking dogs that belong to the owners. On querying them on this and the dangers of the beach and strong currents (the young lifeguard in the room next to me was swept out to sea and rescued with his arm pulled out of its socket) I was shouted at very aggressively, fingers pointed in my face and had to ask for the manager to keep his distance from me. He never apologised. I'm a 61year old woman. The room was very basic, paintwork dirty, the only chair broken, there was a bloodstain over the bathroom sink, the cold tap rotated when turning on, movable electric sockets and light fitting, scratchy old bedsheets that i had to ask to be replaced, hardly any change of towels, one ancient smelly travellers kettle. They refused entry to our local friends. It was very windy when I was there, I found this very frightening at times but they refused to let my friends move into the empty rooms next door. The food i tried in the restaurant was not only overpriced but some of the worst I have ever sampled. I also didnt like the fact that we had to pay in cash over £1500 for the 3 week stay on the first night we arrived, making my journey much more stressful Grenada and its people I loved - pity I cant say the same about this place.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elainekLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Owner at Almost Paradise, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Elaine travelled to Grenada as part of a group, and when she arrived, she told us that this was to be the "trip of a lifetime." Unfortunately, we were not able to help her to enjoy her stay with us.
The group consisted of a family of three who originally booked with us, and who enjoyed their stay. Friends of theirs, a family of four (with two small children), subsequently booked in, although we did speak on the phone about the property and its suitability for children. (Our website states that we are not set up for children under 8 years of age.) They enjoyed their stay, but admitted that they had misjudged how challenging it would be with their children. Elaine was the last to book, and she only booked with us because her friends (the second family) were going to be here. She did contact us before her trip to ask about the slope on the hill, and we did tell her that there were 60+ steps down to her room, and that a certain level of fitness would be necessary. She wasn't honest to us or herself about her ability to move around the property comfortably.
Basically, she didn't choose to stay at Almost Paradise, a small, rustic, owner-run, eco-friendly property. She would have been much happier at the property down the hill, with air-conditioning, a swimming pool, and lots of staff to see to her every wish. However, the price difference between U.S.$77 per night (our price) and U.S.$270 per night (the price she would have paid at the property on the beach) also influenced her choice.
Some of her complaints never reached our ears, and many have been dealt with, and would have been had she spoken to us of her issues. She gave a tip to one of the cleaners (although our tipping policy is that tips are shared between staff members), so we wonder why, months later, she decided to post a picture of the cobwebs instead of just asking the cleaner to deal with them.
As owners, we try to present our place as honestly as we can, so that we have happy guests. We certainly wouldn't have recommended to Elaine that she come to stay had we known some of the issues that would be a problem to her. We hope that she will be able to take her "trip of a lifetime" in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We came to Grenada for a wedding and our stay was terrible. The fridge dont work we bought food the following morning the food was full of ants. This is more of a camping site and good for people who like rough life. But definitely not for someone with a bad back. It is too expensive for a camping site.

Room Tip: There no swimming pool not fitness center. No front desk or anything like that. You walk through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Njeri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Owner at Almost Paradise, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
These three sisters came to stay for the wedding of one of the sons that was taking place halfway around the island. One sister and her son picked out our place, and decided that the sisters could share a studio apartment, meaning that two would share the queen bed and one would sleep on the futon.
After the complaints about the fridge, we turned it colder, thinking that it would solve the problem. When that didn't work, we gave them the use of another fridge.
Two of the sisters seemed to enjoy their stay, the one who did the booking told us often how lovely she thought everything was. The other obviously didn't know where she was going, as we do not advertise a swimming pool, nor a reception desk (for six units).
We're sorry that she was disappointed with Almost Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

we spent a week at almost paradise, and kate & uwe were wonderful hosts. the cottages were simple but very clean, and had everything we needed. the outdoor shower was great, made it easier to keep sand from getting everywhere. the beach was lovely and just a few minutes' walk. the breakfast package was nice, with excellent homemade bread and jam among other things; the fruit only lasted us a couple of days, but it was easy to get more. the location is a bit off the beaten track - but, that just made it so much more relaxing, and the buses were easily accessible for getting out to see the sights. would stay here again for sure. thanks for everything!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Kate & Uwe were wonderful hosts, with lots of recommendations for places to see and things to do. The meals and desserts were delicious - made our mouths dance. And their restaurant space itself is just perfect - informal, convivial, fun. The cottage we stayed in was spacious but pretty spartan - as you'd expect with a vacation cottage. The porch with the hammock was really nice and the loft bedroom was a neat touch - loved the breezes coming thru the windows. We would have appreciated better lighting in the cottage - it was pretty dim.

Room Tip: The blue cottage is very spacious and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The cottages are located quite far away from the everything but the long trip is worth it. The cottages is spread across a hill with an amazing view. The place is not what you typical expect from the Caribbean as it looks a little bit more like wooden cabins in the middle of Canada. But the views from the porch and restraurant are breathtaking. It´s really a nice place to let yourself get away from everything : almost paradise ! I was sitting for hours on the porch and enjoyed the amazing views while i was listening to the birds. Inside the beds are comfortable but bathroom with the outside showers and half doors are unusual but as I was alone it did not matter and it even had hot water ! If you stay there do not forget to get at least one meal from the restaurant - the food is some of the best food I had on the island. Would I go there again ? 100%

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubagirl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Went there for lunch, and wanted to spend a week. Fabulous food, great hosts, unbelievable location.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank floats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
0.1 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
363 reviews
17.8 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
159 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
16.5 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
17.0 mi away
Laluna Hotel
Laluna Hotel
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almost Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almost Paradise

Property: Almost Paradise
Address: Sauteurs, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Patrick Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Almost Paradise Grenada/Saint Patrick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing