We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Bacaye
Nearby Hotels
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Siesta Hotel(Grand Anse)(Great Value!)
$82
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coyaba Beach Resort(Grand Anse)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Hartman Bay Estate(Lance aux Epines)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
25
7
1
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
7
1
0
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 37 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My husband and I still reminisce about our honeymoon and Petit Bacaye's tasty lemongrass lemonade and outstanding fresh-caught tuna (which they kindly served to us at at 10 p.m. when we arrived.) We loved how peaceful and secluded the place is and how it's such a beautiful, natural setting, yet, although there's no air conditioning or TV, you don't feel like you're roughing it at all. In fact, we also got relaxing massages on-site and the staff's attention to detail (such as a flower-and-water filled basin to rinse your feet off as you enter your thatched-roof accomodation) is very good. The experience was quite romantic. We also stayed at LaLuna, the pricier resort nearby. The beach at LaLuna was far more beautiful than that at Petit Bacaye, but the food was not near as good. If we visit Petit Bacaye again, we would likely just take some day trips to other beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luce2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Fortunately everyone knows Petit Bacaye even tho' it's hidden well away down a very steep hill to an almost deserted bay. There are no glitzy lights advertising it's presence just a small unlit sign telling passers by about its tree top restaurant. Our taxi driver braved the hill and took us down the narrow bumpy concrete drive between two block and wooden houses on stilts, being the norm in Grenada. On arrival at the front gates we were met by the idyllic scene of an almost private beach and beautiful gardens full of fruit trees, palms and many colourful blooms being investigated by humming birds. Petit Bacaye is fabulous, wonderful setting, delightful owners and staff, fantastic food and a brilliant guard dog (actually Spare was very friendly, didn't beg or pester us and I miss him! ).

Our bed was decorated with a heart made from petals and there was a beautiful arrangement of flowers from the garden in our room and on our veranda. Peter and Julia go out of their way to be accommodating, likewise nothing is too much trouble for Jennifer, Natasha or Celon, for example, cooking our lobster we'd purchased from the local fisherman on our last day and packaging it up for us to bring home or cutting us a fresh coconut to drink from and eat.

As the fishermen go out from the bay daily it is so easy to buy from them on their return and bbq either lunchtime or in the evening. We were supplied with charcoal and also able to buy more from the house at the top of the hill, a huge bag full for about £1.

There are great walks from Petit Bacaye beach along the tracks and cliffs to as many other beaches as you are prepared to walk to, most of which were virtually deserted and utterly beautiful, bordered by so many different palm or almond trees.

We didn't bother hiring a car altho' we had intended too, as we used the local buses. These were an adventure in themselves (didn't realise how many people you could get in one 12 seater????19!!) but always good value. Either the driver or trust worthy colleague (he's generally the chap that takes your money) or another passenger would always help us with directions or where to get off or where to change buses. And everyone was so friendly.

Petit Bacaye is quite unique, the best holiday I have ever had that could not have been improved upon. For all you whinging poms out there, of course there are mosquitoes, it's the Caribbean but we get them in England too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juicylucySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Simply the most delightful location with a dining platform up steps into the branches of a tree. Superb lunch menu and simply the best lobster salad I have ever eaten up a tree or indeed anywhere!

If visiting Grenada this is a must for a lunchtime treat.

The accommodation in palm leaf roofed villas is very simple but would provide the total retreat from the rush and turmoil of normal life.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Great rual location for one who wants to sample local life. Accommodation lovely, beach not as good as we had hoped. Walked out to island and swam in warm nylon pools. Depending on tide there is a lot of seagrass. Fishermen bring in local catches which you can buy and BBQ at your thatched apartment. Peter and Julia very hospitable and helpful. Be careful a lot of bitty insects go prepared possibly use the local stuff "OFF" can be purchased from local supermarkets. Note the bar/restaurant is only open from 11-5 each day but you can pre-order your meals and they will bring them to you to warm in microwave. Food is lovely - rum punches to die for!!! Go for a cottage with an elivated view for evening drinks. All very tranquil if you want an away from it all holiday - car a necessity. Local supermarket is walkable. Kitchen well equiped and open shower with banana tree very different. If it's what you want you will enjoy it - but remember open windows attract insects so keep the lights low and the candles burning. Sounds at night are to die for - well I enjoyed them.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAYNORENGLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

we have been to Petit Bacaye now 3 times and cannot recommend it highly enough. The most fantastic holiday ever and my husband is Grenadian so he knows locally whats good. Its not a place to go if you don't like rustic local conditions or wonder why mosquito's bite..................but if you want local brilliance, friendly service, quiet and relaxing times on the beach there is no -where better
5 stars all round especially for Spare the hotel dog!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews