We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location, but food just isn't good enough”

The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Price range: $15 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grenada's most exclusive hotel and restaurant invites you to dine at "The Cave House" The airy,elevated restaurant serves a varied menu of international and local dishes using all fresh ingredients, many grown on the Estate itself. Fabulous USDA steaks served anyway you want them, fresh fish and seafood, vegetarian dishes. Enjoy one of our exciting cocktails on the terrace with stunning views over Mount Hartman Bay and across to the nature Reserve. Open for evening only.. Private lunches and dinner for groups by prior booking. Booking recommended. 10 mins by car from Grand Anse area of St Georges. Pick up and return to local hotels for a small additional charge. Indoor or outdoor dining. Tell us if it is your special occasion.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Incredible location, but food just isn't good enough”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Peter, a Malaysian national who has travelled the world, will meet you out front and you will feel like royalty headed into this beautiful building, which amazing aspect views over the ocean. It was a windy, rainy night but we were cosy and the architecture is spectacular.

The service is true international 5-star service and you are looked after perfectly all the way through your experience. Every detail is looked after from the white tablecloths to the crockery and cutlery and low, ambient lighting and music. You could mistake yourself for being in a 2-star Michelin restaurant in France. Beautiful.

They waxed lyrical about the quality of the food, ingredients and chef and we prepared for a spectacular culinary experience.

But to be perfectly honest they need to fire the chef and get someone who can cook. I can cook better tuna and lobster than him and I'm not by any means a chef! The tuna was overcooked (despite asking for flash-seared) and chewy. The sauce, barely edible. The lobster - ruined. Chewy and tasteless. What a shame.

What surprised me - and I would have said something to Peter at the time but I didn't want to spoil the evening - was that they thought this was acceptable food to serve. Gordon Ramsay would have screamed expletives and thrown pans around the room!

And I suppose the reason why I had high expectations is the price. The prices are 30% more than The Aquarium or The Beach House and for that I expect the ambiance to be perfect (it is), service to be impeccable (it was) and for an equivalent or better quality food. And it's here that The Cave House lets its diners down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular venue.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Peter and his staff greet you as you pull up to the front of this most spectacular and unique building. Once a private home, Mount Hartman now operates as a small boutique hotel and restaurant.

The massive scale and impeccable craftsmanship on display makes the trip worthwhile, even if you only order a drink from the most able barman on duty, and sip something with rum in it while gazing out at the sea. (You may find that you're gazing more at the interior of this fantastic building whilst you're there.)

The menu is also wonderful. Choch-a-block full of fresh local ingredients. The meal I had (lobster) was well cooked and very tasty; complete with wonderfully flavourful veggies, etc. My companions also enjoyed their meals immensely . The surprise came at the end. While the menu pricing is on the higher end of what you will find on the island, it is by no means out of line... yet. The problem is that MH tags you with a 25% tax and service fee on top of your bill. Virtually all other places we've been to, have all included the tax - 10% - and service is at your discretion. This brings the MH restaurant to the very tip top of the price range to be fond on the island.

Is it worth it? Absolutely. Just be prepared to pay a premium, for what is a premium product. For us it is the 'special occasion' place we go to if we don't want to drive up island.

Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crannogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect food, service and views”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel, unusually on an all inclusive package. We tried everything on the menu! We were treated like royalty as the chefs even made special menus up for us to try something different. The food was just exquisite. the service was beyond exceptional and the setting was just beautiful, romantic and stunning. Everything about this restaurant is amazing and the chefs and Dean and Susan make it an amazing experience. If you go to Grenada - even if you don't stay at the hotel, you must try the restaurant. I wish I could think of one meal to recommend but it was all just so delicious. As fish lovers we thought all the fish dishes - seafood pasta, blackened catch of the day, lobster, catch of the day, seafood curry were just elegant, well thought out, perfectly presented and so tasty. What a perfect and memorable experience. Thank you all

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneE321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendocino, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Grenada, A Must Do!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are looking for a fine dining experience in with incredible ambiance look no further. This place was so amazing, i am sad we only found out about on our last night in Grenada. The service was exceptional, which can be hard to find in Grenada. The open air setting overlooking the bay was beyond romantic. The whole experience from start to finish was outstanding. I had the West Indian Seafood Curry and my husband had the Creole Chicken and both had amazing flavors. Topped it off with homemade vanilla ice cream and coconut creme brulee. Making my mouth water thinking about it again! Its a little out of the way but such unique architecture and great food. Definitely one of our favorites we tried in Grenada.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank panicchika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Panicchika,

Delighted to have received such a wonderful review and I am glad that you enjoyed the spices of the Caribbean with our Food at The Cave House Restaurant. You are right to say that the settings and the service is second to none here in Grenada and we are after all "Grenada's best kept Secret"
I am sure you will return sooner or later to Grenada again and we all look forward to welcome you again. Please do not wait till the last evening available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Watch out for the small print”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We eat here following the good reviews on Trip Advisor.

The food was good and the service attentive but when we got the bill we were in for a big surprise!

25% had been added for tax and service. The meal was already expensive but with this added it made it more than 50% dearer than other high quality restaurants such as the Beach House and Aquarium. It was not that good!

I checked the menu and this was ambiguous but left room for them to add the 25%, it said "prices subject to tax and service"

We won't be returning, but worth a visit if your pockets are deep enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear GN & CB
thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed the Cave House Restaurant and our Food.
We are sorry that you have found that we are on the expensive side, but in our defense, we are using only the finest and freshed products, best cuts of the Meat, Fish and Lobster daily fresh from the Sea. Therefore to purchase this high products, we have to pay already a higher price, which unfortunately reflects on our prices to sell. Most of the Restaurants in Grenada have an added 25% Tax and Service Charge.
Still, we feel very sorry that you do not want to return to the Cave House Restaurant, but perhaps we can leave the doors open for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing