We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food, service and views”

The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Price range: $36 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Grenada's most exclusive hotel and restaurant invites you to dine at "The Cave House" The airy,elevated restaurant serves a varied menu of international and local dishes using all fresh ingredients, many grown on the Estate itself. Fabulous USDA steaks served anyway you want them with Chef Eric's sauces or fresh fish and seafood, vegetarian dishes. Enjoy one of our exciting cocktails on the terrace with stunning views over Mount Hartman Bay and across to the nature Reserve. Open for evening fine dining only.. Private lunches and dinner for groups by prior booking. Booking essential. 10 mins by car from Grand Anse area of St Georges. Free collection and return to St Georges for groups of 4 or more.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect food, service and views”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel, unusually on an all inclusive package. We tried everything on the menu! We were treated like royalty as the chefs even made special menus up for us to try something different. The food was just exquisite. the service was beyond exceptional and the setting was just beautiful, romantic and stunning. Everything about this restaurant is amazing and the chefs and Dean and Susan make it an amazing experience. If you go to Grenada - even if you don't stay at the hotel, you must try the restaurant. I wish I could think of one meal to recommend but it was all just so delicious. As fish lovers we thought all the fish dishes - seafood pasta, blackened catch of the day, lobster, catch of the day, seafood curry were just elegant, well thought out, perfectly presented and so tasty. What a perfect and memorable experience. Thank you all

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneE321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mendocino, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Grenada, A Must Do!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are looking for a fine dining experience in with incredible ambiance look no further. This place was so amazing, i am sad we only found out about on our last night in Grenada. The service was exceptional, which can be hard to find in Grenada. The open air setting overlooking the bay was beyond romantic. The whole experience from start to finish was outstanding. I had the West Indian Seafood Curry and my husband had the Creole Chicken and both had amazing flavors. Topped it off with homemade vanilla ice cream and coconut creme brulee. Making my mouth water thinking about it again! Its a little out of the way but such unique architecture and great food. Definitely one of our favorites we tried in Grenada.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank panicchika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Panicchika,

Delighted to have received such a wonderful review and I am glad that you enjoyed the spices of the Caribbean with our Food at The Cave House Restaurant. You are right to say that the settings and the service is second to none here in Grenada and we are after all "Grenada's best kept Secret"
I am sure you will return sooner or later to Grenada again and we all look forward to welcome you again. Please do not wait till the last evening available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Watch out for the small print”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We eat here following the good reviews on Trip Advisor.

The food was good and the service attentive but when we got the bill we were in for a big surprise!

25% had been added for tax and service. The meal was already expensive but with this added it made it more than 50% dearer than other high quality restaurants such as the Beach House and Aquarium. It was not that good!

I checked the menu and this was ambiguous but left room for them to add the 25%, it said "prices subject to tax and service"

We won't be returning, but worth a visit if your pockets are deep enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear GN & CB
thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed the Cave House Restaurant and our Food.
We are sorry that you have found that we are on the expensive side, but in our defense, we are using only the finest and freshed products, best cuts of the Meat, Fish and Lobster daily fresh from the Sea. Therefore to purchase this high products, we have to pay already a higher price, which unfortunately reflects on our prices to sell. Most of the Restaurants in Grenada have an added 25% Tax and Service Charge.
Still, we feel very sorry that you do not want to return to the Cave House Restaurant, but perhaps we can leave the doors open for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This is not to be missed!! Went tonight with my daughter (a vet student at SGU) and her boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. The setting is extraordinary, the food is amazing and the service is outstanding! All in all a perfect experience!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaplewoodNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Maplewood,
thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted that you have chosen Mount Hartman Bay, The Cave House Restaurant as the Venue for the Birthday celebration. We hope that you have many other reasons, besides birthdays to retuirn to the Cave House again. Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food was exquisite.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at MHBE for one week approx and ate 3 times a day at The Cave House (breakfast, lunch, dinner). We loved it. The breakfast was so fresh and tasteful with the open air sea breeze coming in through the white see-through curtains relaxing us. We enjoyed the nutmeg spread and freshness of all the fruits and juices. In the US everything is high in sodium and preservatives that we were glad to have organic's daily again.

The callaloo soup and ginger pumpkin soup were my favs. The dinner was so well presented as well. It all tied together with the service. Dean (your so splendid) and Susan ( is so sweet and attentive). Peter H. is always attentive too.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celines M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Celines, thank you so much for your kind review and here at Mount Hartman Bay Estate we all still talk about you and your husband and sincerely hope you will return soon as you have planned. The doors will always be open for all of you and I am glad of having the change to get to know you. Like to say thank you on behalf of Dean, Susan and the rest of the staff and hope you will keep in tuch with us. Wishing you all the best in your married life, The Team at Mount Hartman Bay Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cave House at Mount Hartman Bay Estate also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing