We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Guest House”
Review of La Heliconia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Heliconia
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have spend 5 days at La Heliconia with my wife and kids. The place is very nice and the apartments are very affordable and clean, but the most we enjoyed was to know Debbie Bishop and her Husband Francis. They make everything to make our stay pleasant and quite. They are wonderfull persons and I think Debbie falled in love with my little daughter Darlin and she became fond of her as well.
I highly recommend la Heliconia if you are plannig travel to Grenada with a small family as mine.

Israel Larez and Family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israel130366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for all your kind words. We love having your family here with us and sharing your warm company. Lets hope it could be longer next time round. Your have a wonderful family!
Kind Regards

Francis and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for La Heliconia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have spent 5 marvelous days in Grenada with my wife and sons, but the best thing about this travel was we have the pleasure to know Debbie Bishop and his husband Francis, two ecxeptional persons who take care of everithing we needed to have a confortable stay. I think Debbie falled in love with my little daughter Darlin and she became fond of Debbie as well.
I highly recommend the Heliconia for a pleasant stay if you are planing travel to Grenada, you will not reggret at all.

Thanks a lot Debbie, God bless you and your wondefull family and place.
Israel Larez and Family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

First of all I want to wish you and your family all the best for 2013 and hope you had a wonderful Christmas.
Thank you once again for choosing us as your holiday home. It feels as if I have known your family for longer! We really enjoyed having you and your Family here with us. Your daughter is a star xxx love you all lots..

Thank you for your kind remarks, and looking forward to seeing you and your family soon again.
Kind Regards,

Debbie and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently spent 9 days at La Heliconia and my stay was simply fabulous. The free WiFi was a plus and it allowed me to be in contact with my folks back in the US.
The hotel was very clean, the room was quite large and I wanted for nothing.
The owners were exceptionally friendly and I felt right at home. I am planning my next trip back to Grenada and I am definitely staying at La Heliconia.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Grenada.

Patrice W....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwnutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It was really nice having you here with us. I know you had lots to do and people to see. I am pleased that we were able to keep you in touch with your family. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. We all send our love!

Debbie and Francis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

La Heliconia is an excellent place to stay if you go to Grenada on holiday.
It is a great place to stay for a day or two or a few weeks!
The owners Debbie and her husband Mr Bishop are hospitable, easy going, laid back, funny and always happy to help.
The food is amazing, and reasonably priced and you can always was it down with an ice cold Carib after (good times).

Thank you very much to everyone at La Heliconia

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattDeGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind response! I am pleased you both enjoyed your stay here with us. Now you have found your home away from home and hope to see you both soon again.

I am also pleased you both enjoyed our cooking! I will now have an iced cold carib beer after my dinner!

All the best, and hope to see you soon again.
Regards

Debbie and Mr Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at La Heliconia. I am a student and opted to stay there over the summer holiday, and I am glad I chose to spend it here. The Host and Hostess were very friendly and showed genuine concern and ensured that any problems were resolved as soon as possible. The service was good and I would recommend it to anyone coming into Grenada. A plus side is that it happens to be very close to the airport. They also run a taxi service, restaurant, spa and salon. All in all it was a nice experience. Thanks a lot for making my stay a memorable one. Oh and the food was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind remarks. You are more than welcome to stay any time you wish. Glad that you liked my cooking! Hope to see you again on your next break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited Grenada Sept 15 to 22 2012. Excellent experience, great hospitality from Debbie & Mr Bishop. Great location, tasty food, relaxing atmosphere and the list goes on and on. My next trip to Grenada will be definitely staying at La Heliconia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for you kind remarks!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us, also your holiday experience in Grenada.
Getting around Grenada with a hire car, as what you did for a couple of days, gave you more independence, as when and where you choose to go. I know you also enjoyed trips out with Sensation Tours, so I am sure you did not miss out on any thing.

If was a pleasure having you both here with us, and hope to see you soon in the near feature!

O yes,"I know how much you enjoyed our sticky wings, "will share the recipe to you on your next visit

Kind Regards

Debbie and Francis Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel hardly offers what most people call a "whole" breakfast. Food is expensive. The persistent manager make offers of a tour and you end up paying 500 dollars to see homes instead of the beauty of the island.

If you like good access to nice beach then there are better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hubert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Manager at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

I 'm so sorry you had a bad experience with us!
We are a small family run business, so when guest request a pick up, we are there to pick them up. Unfortunately, I was unaware of what time you were arriving, as you did not communicate this to us.
Our menu prices average around 15US, per meal, this is the average price to what you will pay on the island.
The price of the tour was discussed, and agreed per hour," have it your way tour!". which is always enjoyed by the guest, who select this way in seeing the island. So the 500 EC which is 180US, was for a full 9 hours tour. I wish you had spoken to me about the tour. I will follow up with the driver, to ensure all future guest, get taken to where they want to go. I do apologize, if you did not get to see more of the island.
Well you did communicate to me that you will be back, so hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards

Debbie and Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint George Parish hotels
1.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
#2 of 11 in St. George's
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Heliconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Heliconia

Address: Point Salines, Maurice Bishop Highway, 1115, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saint George Parish
Price Range: $63 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Heliconia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Holiday apartments, at competitive prices,with spa, bar and restaurant ,free high speed wifi connection,located on the beautiful island of Grenada in the West Indies.Situated close to the airport and walking distance to fine golden sand beaches, we are ideally placed for self-catering holidays,over nights or visiting your friends and relations in Grenada and at St. George’s University.La Heliconia is on the local bus route, which takes you into the town of St. George. We provide a free pick up service from the airport between the hours of 9am to 5pm. We also provide an early check inn service from 7am, and late check out service to 4pm.There is also an in house taxi service, which we provide for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Heliconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Heliconia Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing