We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
64
41
23
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
41
23
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightclose to the airportthe ownergrand anse beachfull kitchenhotel is locatedseparate bedroomhome away from homefeel like familyst georgegrooms beachmagazine beachper hourdebbieislandhomesferry
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 150 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

From the moment of entering La Heliconia the staff was friendly and always willing to help. The room shared between my sister and myself was the perfect size. It was fitted with a nice bathroom, kitchen/longue and a nice balcony. It was conveniently near a quiet beach which almost felt as though it was a private beach. The food was delicious. Additionally, it was nice to get my nails done in the spa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakyla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, that's what we do, to ensure all our guest are most comfortable, and being there for them. Glad that you liked your nails, and enjoyed the beach near,by which felt like your own private beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Debbie, who co-owns The Heliconia with husband, Francis, has built the hotel around her own personality and that's the secret of this place. She's a great hostess; charming, helpful, attentive and very aware of her guest´s needs. The apartments are modern, clean and comfortable.Breakfasts are included and lunches are healthy, well-prepared and reasonably priced. All-in-all great value, and an ideal long-term option.
A Rhodes

Room Tip: All rooms are priced on their amenities/location
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It was a great pleasure to have you both staying with us. This is how we strive! and yes, this is me all over, always going the extra mile to ensure my customers and guest are happy and comfortable.
Looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We wanted something basic and practical, which La Heliconia is without a doubt. It is literally less than five minutes away from the airport, certainly within walking distance.

The facilities are clean and of a good standard, however our a/c didn't work and as we had just arrived in Grenada (and still needed time to acclimatise!!) this was not the best start. We didn't have time for complimentary breakfast the following morning and so cannot comment on the complimentary breakfast. We had informed La Heliconia that we would have to leave by 8 am the next morning and discussed the arrangements for breakfast, nonetheless we awoke to find an almost deserted hotel. No-one was to be found! No employees etc. This really was disappointing in terms of service. We probably won't ever return to La Heliconia as there are other similarly functional places to stay which have more character. Maybe a combination of unfortunate circumstances, but I don't think we will take the risk of repeating the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Boudicca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

We are very sorry you did not get the AC to work! I wish you had let us know, as we live on site. All are A/C units work, maybe you had it on the wrong temp/ program !

About your breakfast, sorry no one was there to offer you your breakfast, but we always with out a doubt, always confirm with guest, what time they will like breakfast. If you wanted it at 6am, then you will get it at 6am! You did mention, that you did not have time for breakfast as you were leaving at 8am.

Please do not let this misunderstanding compromise your visit here with us again. If you do, do the same trip again to overnight in Grenada, going or returning from Carriacou we will be happy to offer you a free upgrade.

Kind Regards

Debbie Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was fantastic, the food was delicious, the price was very reasonable and the service was exceptional! I wish we had found this hotel before, It is very close to the airport although you cannot hear the planes and there is a bus stop right outside to get you into town if you wish.
The rooms are modern and clean with everything that you need, iron/cooker/fridge etc.
I will repeat about the food it was all home made and prepared in the kitchens and it was very good with fresh meat and fish on the menu every night. The service was spot on with it!

We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Angie and Damian

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LazioMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This exquisite little gem for me is like the great archaeological discovery of this century.
Strategically located, the first port of call to the beautiful & picturesque island of Grenada.
La Heliconia's cool ambience and the personal service offered are exquisite and auxillerating.
A must treat to yourself and loved ones. First impressionsare are lasting, I am sure this
experience will last for a very long time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sowoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews