We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calibishie Lodges(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
124
68
9
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
68
9
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverother guestseco lodgetropical gardengreat place to staynice walkingher daughterusing local ingredientsbungalow roomnature loversbeautiful surroundingsnatural poolceiling fannatural beautyrental carrum punchnigel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 215 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

All around our bungalow wonderful flowers and bushes and palmtrees and mountains. Lovely big breakfast among the beautiful trees and flowers. Nice little bar at the restaurant on the balkony. Nice staff who helps you to get around to exiting excursions. /Helene

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Webbansvarig at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello and thank you for your opinion. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the nature surrounding the accommodation. We welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I originally booked a nature bungalow at Hibiscus for a week to launch our 10 day tour of Dominica. It was pretty much the only thing we planned before arriving and figured it’d be a good place to use as a starting point with its proximity to the airport. Since the price was relatively economical and the 7th day was free, we figured we’d be able to spend about half our time elsewhere. However once there, we fell in love with lush surroundings and found it pretty easy to get to just about anywhere on the island. The first couple days we explored the area and met some locals in Concord who showed us around (everyone is super friendly if you just say hi!). Without renting a car, we were stuck with local transportation (which was an experience in itself!) but found it relatively easy to get around the island as the bus stopped right outside of Hibiscus and was probably faster than we were willing to drive. We also found that the eastern side of the island is much greener than the side where Roseau (the capital) is and not nearly as hot! As a result we extended our stay for the remainder of our trip. The staff was super friendly and we really loved Nigel and his cooking. We went on one tour through Hibiscus and the price was reasonably inflated but unless you’re committed to doing it the local way, the stress it can save might be worth it. My only complaint was the lunch that was served was not included in the tour and the snackette we stopped at to eat probably provided much better food at about 1/5 the cost. However, there’s no guarantee other tours stop near places that offer food so maybe it’s just something you should ask if you care. Other than that, there’s not a negative thing to say. The bed was firm and comfortable; the shower generally had hot water; the food and people were great; there was easy access around the island; and while the night was louder than any in NYC, frogs are much more soothing than sirens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent a couple of weeks here and really enjoyed this little guesthouse. So peacefull and with beautiful surroundings. Thanks to all the staff who made the experience all the better. Loved the food! Quite nice with the dogs Jack and Scotty as company. See you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Webbansvarig at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi! It is always nice to read a review from from a satisfied guest. Thank you and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Hibiscus Valley Inn - and I will certainly go back there again. This time we were 13 people who participated in a Swedish Art Group for a whole week. The service and attention the owner and her staff showed us was far above our expectations. They let us use the premises for our painting and arranged lunches and dinners to fit our programme, which was a combination of lessons and adventures around Dominica.
Drivers and guides were excellent. They were also very helpful and helped us carry our equipment to different, a bit inaccessible locations.
The nature bungalows we stayed in had all the comfort one can require; nice and clean, comfortable beds, toilet and shower. To lie in bed and listen to the different sounds of the rain forest is very exotic to me.
The food alone is worth a visit. There was no written menu but the dishes served were wonderful; chicken, vegetarian and fish. And it was no problem for people with special requirements (allergies and vegetarian) to have specially composed food.
This experience will stay in my heart for a very long time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngelaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Owner at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013
Google Translation

Hej, Tack för din berättelse om Hibiscus Valley och Dominica. Vi blir så glada gänget på Hibiscus Valley när vår gäst uppskattar vår service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we arrived 20 minutes after check-in time our booked room was not ready. We had to wait for more than one hour and did not get the room we had booked, but a dark room instead with only a small window beside the one wing glass door. There was no refrigerator and no tea and coffee making facility (the room we had booked would have contained these), although the latter was brought a little later. On the concrete balcony floor there were big ugly brown stains from the last renovation of the fence. The side view was to a corrugated iron roof, although the view was nice and green otherwise. We were very disappointed, as this was our last night on the island and we had been looking forward to staying in a really nice room. The Swedish owner said that the hotel was overbooked by error and first offered us a discount, but when we checked out next morning the receptionist said the night was free of charge. This was a generous gesture, although we would have preferred to enjoy the room we had booked. We also had dinner. There was no menu to choose from, but the vegetarian dish they served was very delicious.

Room Tip: Room 3 is somewhat dark.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Owner at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

I’m so please you enjoyed your stay in Dominica and also at Hibiscus. We are very sorry for the mix-up with the rooms and since we were booked up we had to make up our last room, not really yet totally finished, but comfortable enough. The mistake was done from the office and the booking system. We have no updated the system and now it is working fine, for this error not to occur again.
The refrigerator, we had bought a new one, but when it came up and we tried it, we have to send it back and it takes time.
At the Hibiscus Valley, the dinner you and the guests enjoyed, had a lot of laugh and happiness and the food was very good, as you mentioned. We have a rotating menu, with fish, chicken and vegetarian dinners, if you wish anything else then the tonight menu just let us know, we fix it for you
You got complementary drinks, free lodging and transfer to the airport for out mistake. I changed my mind and gave you the room free and you slept well as you said for breakfast. I feel a bit sorry about the pictures since there are also many nice pictures from this room and things had been arranged otherwise then it was from the check in time. The wall with the plants on the veranda has not yet grown up to the height it is supposed to be when it is finished. The flowers in the room were taken away and the complementary drinks Kubuli was taken away from the table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews