We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
$137
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
127
69
9
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
69
9
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverother guestseco lodgetropical gardengreat place to staynice walkingher daughterusing local ingredientsbungalow roomnature loversbeautiful surroundingsnatural poolceiling fannatural beautyrental carrum punchnigel
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 219 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent a couple of weeks here and really enjoyed this little guesthouse. So peacefull and with beautiful surroundings. Thanks to all the staff who made the experience all the better. Loved the food! Quite nice with the dogs Jack and Scotty as company. See you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Webbansvarig at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi! It is always nice to read a review from from a satisfied guest. Thank you and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Hibiscus Valley Inn - and I will certainly go back there again. This time we were 13 people who participated in a Swedish Art Group for a whole week. The service and attention the owner and her staff showed us was far above our expectations. They let us use the premises for our painting and arranged lunches and dinners to fit our programme, which was a combination of lessons and adventures around Dominica.
Drivers and guides were excellent. They were also very helpful and helped us carry our equipment to different, a bit inaccessible locations.
The nature bungalows we stayed in had all the comfort one can require; nice and clean, comfortable beds, toilet and shower. To lie in bed and listen to the different sounds of the rain forest is very exotic to me.
The food alone is worth a visit. There was no written menu but the dishes served were wonderful; chicken, vegetarian and fish. And it was no problem for people with special requirements (allergies and vegetarian) to have specially composed food.
This experience will stay in my heart for a very long time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngelaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Owner at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013
Google Translation

Hej, Tack för din berättelse om Hibiscus Valley och Dominica. Vi blir så glada gänget på Hibiscus Valley när vår gäst uppskattar vår service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we arrived 20 minutes after check-in time our booked room was not ready. We had to wait for more than one hour and did not get the room we had booked, but a dark room instead with only a small window beside the one wing glass door. There was no refrigerator and no tea and coffee making facility (the room we had booked would have contained these), although the latter was brought a little later. On the concrete balcony floor there were big ugly brown stains from the last renovation of the fence. The side view was to a corrugated iron roof, although the view was nice and green otherwise. We were very disappointed, as this was our last night on the island and we had been looking forward to staying in a really nice room. The Swedish owner said that the hotel was overbooked by error and first offered us a discount, but when we checked out next morning the receptionist said the night was free of charge. This was a generous gesture, although we would have preferred to enjoy the room we had booked. We also had dinner. There was no menu to choose from, but the vegetarian dish they served was very delicious.

Room Tip: Room 3 is somewhat dark.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HibiscusValley, Owner at Hibiscus Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

I’m so please you enjoyed your stay in Dominica and also at Hibiscus. We are very sorry for the mix-up with the rooms and since we were booked up we had to make up our last room, not really yet totally finished, but comfortable enough. The mistake was done from the office and the booking system. We have no updated the system and now it is working fine, for this error not to occur again.
The refrigerator, we had bought a new one, but when it came up and we tried it, we have to send it back and it takes time.
At the Hibiscus Valley, the dinner you and the guests enjoyed, had a lot of laugh and happiness and the food was very good, as you mentioned. We have a rotating menu, with fish, chicken and vegetarian dinners, if you wish anything else then the tonight menu just let us know, we fix it for you
You got complementary drinks, free lodging and transfer to the airport for out mistake. I changed my mind and gave you the room free and you slept well as you said for breakfast. I feel a bit sorry about the pictures since there are also many nice pictures from this room and things had been arranged otherwise then it was from the check in time. The wall with the plants on the veranda has not yet grown up to the height it is supposed to be when it is finished. The flowers in the room were taken away and the complementary drinks Kubuli was taken away from the table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

ME and my girlfriend stayed here for a few nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Due to some confusion with the booking website we were upgraded and got an amazingly big lodge with our own bathroom. There was a big porch with lots of hammocks, lots of beautiful flowers with hummingbirds, and the constant sound of the river. It was a great place to stay. I wish we would have had more time there, as it is such a good setting for relaxing and eating fruits.
It is a little bit out of the beaten track, so we certainly needed to have a car available as long as we were staying there. The evening meal was very good, but we found it a little pricey.
The proprietor was friendly and welcoming. We would love to go back there again !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Eco-resort means that it doesn't have A/C in the cottages (which we really didn't feel a need for, either), that there's a mosquito net, and that the hot water is sun-generated. But the room was nice, with plenty of room for what we needed, and a hammock for sitting outside and reading or just relaxing. I think the mattress was one of the Swedish foam ones -- very comfortable. The river across the street has a natural pool that's good for swimming, and there is plenty of walking and nice gardens close (we're walkers/hikers). Food was good, and plentiful, and there's a well-stocked bar.

But the biggest asset was all the people who work there -- helpful, kind, interesting, funny -- you get to meet them as people, and not "servants" who never share anything. That's a huge asset.

If you're looking for a plush resort with A/C and cabana boys bringing you drinks with umbrellas in them, this isn't it (and Dominica might not even be the place). But for a place to kick back and clean up after hiking or going to the beach, or doing some of the trips that they can arrange, I can recommend them highly. We didn't do any of the trips, but others who were staying when we were there were happy with the trips. And there was even enough parking for our car...

Room Tip: Talk to them about your needs -- with cottages, some of them take some walking up fairly steep pathways.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews