We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than I Expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hibiscus Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Marigot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2008

My all too brief stay was amazing. I had no idea I would fall so much in in love with the island and the Inn. Truly the most relaxing time of my 2 week trip. Vincia and Nigel-I miss you and your wonderful food!! Thankfully the pictures I took remind my of the Paradise I found in Dominica. Thank you Daniel for being such a gracious host. I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Inn to fully experience the beauty and tranquility of the island. I hope to be able to return someday soon.

Rose

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosesmx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2007

We stayed at Hisbiscus for 6 nights as part of their adventure package. Our first impressions upon arrival were slightly disapointing. The lodges were a little on the rustic side, THERE'S NO HOT WATER, and, after drinking 3 bottles of Kubuli beer, we'd drunk the place dry!

In addition Concord isn't really ideally placed for the activities they offer. A lot of the tours take place in the south of the island and so each trip starts and ends with an hour/hour and half drive along the quite scary mountain roads in a 4x4 Nissan minibus.

However there are some positives, Scottie and Ben the resident dogs are lovely, the food is tremendous and swimming and tubing in the river is great.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Thanks for the great time at Hibiscus Valley Inn, the stay at your lovely bungalows and the adventure package were outstanding great! Every day was offered a new exciting tour with many impressions and information covering all different topics: hiking trails, waterfalls,
plants, flowers, animals and untouched nature, shown by the guide Cecil…and nevertheless very friendly native people and guests. Great adventures were e.g. the Whale watching (we saw them!) and the hiking
tour to the boiling lake via the desolation valley. Last but not least especially thanks to our 5 Star***** cook Nigel for the great lunch packages and dinners!

Experiences collected over this week cannot be described, you have to
see yourselves! It is really highly to recommend. The places are so great and fascinating that they were chosen also for the movie Pirates of the Carribean part 2.

We saw a lot of things and collected many impressions, but we are convinced that there remain a lot of things we did not see and that is a good reason for coming back to Hibiscus Valley Inn. Sabine, Bernd and Julia Kunzmann from Germany July 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marco_Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hibiscus Valley for 9 nights at start of April 07.
Upon arrival the 'hut' appeared rather rustic, but soon became a fantastic home for the duration of our stay! No hot water, but the sun heats the water hot enough to shower and when the island receives a powercut, theres a candle to shed romantic light on your evening! Take the chance to bathe in the river - it's crystal clear and theres even a rope swing to play with - better than a rubber duckie! The best bathroom in the world!
Like other reports, don't expect luxury, but these huts are a fantastic place to stay and the staff are awesome. Nigel, the cook, is really friendly and delivers food that should belong in a top class restaurant! More than a cook, he also helped us hire our jeep! Daniel is also very helpful - and knowledgeable about the area. The Inn operate day activities for cruise / island hotel guests and include dancing, music and trips to hidden waterfalls. All this hosting takes place across the road from your accom, so does not intrude in your space. By far the most hopitable member of staff was BOB - the dog! Often slept outside our hut and was rewarded by cheese in the morning - maybe why he stayed over?
Overall, a fantastic - basic- place to stay. i have stayed in all inclusive 5*'s and this allowed us to get more in contact with the Dominican way of life. Customer service is excellent, and it's a slice of rainforest beauty in a quiet corner of the island.
Book direct with Daniel and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We had the best holiday ever. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the world this place is a little corner of heaven. We were so immersed in the beauty of the area with its rivers, waterfalls, plants and flowers we didn't miss the conveniences of radio, TV or any media. The staff was so accommodating. Daniel assisted us with tours and packages; Cecil was the best guide and driver, Nigel (what a fantastic chef) I miss him the most. Vencia took such good care of us.

The people of Dominica made this trip worth every penny. I plan to come back year after year and have recommended Hibiscus Valley to all of my family and friends. In addition, I lost 10 lbs from the healthy food, swimming, hiking and walking.(smile)

THIS IS A MUST PLACE TO VISIT!!!! THANK YOU FOR THE MEMORIES....Renita

Stayed: December 2006
Thank CalifDominicanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

The price is good and the location is very pleasant, albeit beside the main road. The cottages are very basic and crudely built (exposed nail points, broken tiles etc), but the verandah with hammock is great for lazing. Arriving at night when the uneven & slippery path to the cottage was in total darkness was not so clever, and neither was the bulbless live light socket right over the bed!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We loved our stay at Hibiscus.

Our trip was last minute, with all the vagaries of standby travel & Daniel was very flexible. The cooks accomodated our vegan diet ( Nigel was great!) and the food, though sometimes a tad sparse & repetitive, was always tasty & fresh. The staff was friendly, outgoing, and happy. Tubing with Justinian ( the #1 river tubing guide on the island) was a wonderful experience ( we'll try to go back for moonlight tubing next trip) and the twin falls were a highlight. Don't bother to go to emerald pool when a cruise ship is in town, though! The river across the street is a beautiful one & we loved swimming in it every morning & evening.

We knew the facilities would be spartan and had no problem with the one time water & electricity outage. This is part of the islands! If you want luxury & wretched excess, go elsewhere! (Do use your mosquito net, though, and you can put the standing fan inside.)

My one criticism would be that there could be even more done in terms of eco practices, but Daniel & staff seemed very receptive to and appreciative of most suggestions! A minor point.

GO! Dominica is beautiful & Hibiscus is a great place to experience the island hospitality and to be light on the eco system.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
12.6 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
13.5 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
505 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Mango Island Lodges Boutique hotel
3.5 mi away
Coffeeriver Cottages
Coffeeriver Cottages
#2 of 3 in Marigot
26 reviews
2.6 mi away
Classique International
Classique International
#2 of 3 in Marigot
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Valley Inn

Address: 10 Min South of Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Valley is a Swedish owned guesthouse with its Dominican family atmosphere. We offer 3 different types of accommodation and 12 min from the airport. With three "Nature bungalows" in Dominican ECO country style, with two rooms in each with own bathroom and exotic veranda, they are situated in a beautiful and calm area next to the beautiful Pagua river, with a natural river pool, the rainforest and the Carib territory.All rooms are situated within a minute walk from the beautiful Pagua river with its natural pools. At Hibiscus Valley Inn, we try as hard as possible to take advantage of what the nature offers without encroaching on comfort. The beautiful garden is seen from all the rooms and the hummingbirds sucking nectar just outside your exotic veranda. Four semi-deluxe rooms with AC and other amenities and a spacious bathroom.A wooden cottage by the riverside, can take 7 persons. Open air restaurants specilize in local cuisine with an international touch. An extended tour program with our popular guides, who will take you to known and unknown sites.We cater for English, Swedish, French, Creole spoken and have a German guide on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hibiscus Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Valley Inn Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing