We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please ignore the 3 star review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serenity Lodges Dominica
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Please ignore the 3 star review”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's a shame when travelers give a low rating to a place because they haven't done enough research and it isn't what they expect. Of course Serenity Lodge is remote, that's its beauty. It's not fair to book 5 nights at a place that just has a couple of rooms then leave, depriving the owner of revenue that, at the last minute, cannot be recouped.
From my perspective, Serenity Lodges fulfilled our expectations perfectly. We arrived at the airport after dark and thought we'd spend a couple of days without a car before exploring the rest of the country. Carina was a gracious host and went out of her way to help us. She arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and a meal was ready for us when we arrived. She does not serve dinner Tuesdays and we were without a car that day so she offered to cook something in the morning and put it in our refrigerator while we were out walking. Nothing was too much trouble.
After a long, tiring day getting to Dominica we had a nice restful day at the lodge enjoying the view, the pleasant breezes and watching the birds in the grounds. A couple trees were alive with hummingbirds and banaquits. The patio is a perfect place to do yoga.
The car hire folks will pick you up at the resort to get your car back at the airport. Do explore the northern beaches around Calibishie, they are beautiful. If you plan to head to Roseau go via Castle Bruce. It's a beautiful drive and anyway the main road is undergoing some construction which might be disruptive.
Here are just a couple of photos of the birds I took on the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrimper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Manager at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it!

It was nice to know that you enjoyed your stay.

At Serenity, we try our best to ensure that all our guest are comfortable with us. And that they stay are made as easy as possible, especially as it relates to car rentals, pick up or drop off or even doing tours.

It was definitely a pleasure to have you and your wife with us!

Thank you also for the clarifications made in your review.

Hope to have you here again in the future.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
29
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

serenity lodges situated on a hill and surrounded by nature. the temperature is very pleasant. it is a place for active people. for example hiking, cycling or just enjoy nature. local people are very nice. I was at ease and felt safe. the hospitality of Carina and Lester was super good. The breakfast and dinner was really tasty. (Local fruits, vegetables, chicken and fish). Carina and Lester thanks for the hospitality. I felt at home.

hola carina. He disfrutado mucho su hospitalidad.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and jou don't need a A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nendkoemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Owner at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

Here at Serenity Lodges, we try to do our best to make you feel at home. So your vacation in Dominica is always memorable and fun.

We really appreciate your review, and it was definitely a privilege to have you here with us.

Wish you the best in your future travels.

Note: Me encanto tenerlo aqui, espero que venga denuevo.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I recommend this place because
1 there's no mosquito!
2 It's not hot! Because it rains a lot!
3 It's new and very clean!
4 They offer free grapefruits and other fruits.(a little bit hard to peel them, because they come from trees directly)
5 You can't hear any noise from modern world, if you turn off your own cellphone...
6 You can see pineapples, banana trees and other interesting trees from the path to the lodge and can hear the songs of small insects at night.(It's quite beyond my imagination because the songs can be quite complicated)
6 There's a small creek under the hill.
7 The drinking water of the lodge comes from the spring of the mountain.
8 You can find the chicken of the neighbors striding on the street.(goats on the field...) I feel the taste of chicken in Dominica is generally better than the chicken in US or China. I think that's because they exercise more...
9 Local people are super friendly. It's such a small town, where everyone knows everyone. They greet each other on the street and free-rides are so common. I spent only 1 ec to get there from the airport.(I took 3 free-rides.)
10 Atlantic is nearby!
The whole Dominica is not for the kind of people who what to have night club, shopping mall, casino. It's a small country with great nature beauty.
In the end, I want to quote a poem...
七八个星天外,
两三点雨山前,
旧时茅店社林边,
路转溪桥忽见。

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yushu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Manager at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for such an encouraging letter you left us when you checked out!

We really enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you also for highlighting all those different things that a guest can enjoy. We do our best to provide a true Dominican experience and that's what makes us different from all other guesthouses/hotels. We also are continuing improving our lodge to make it as beautiful as possible, comfortable and relaxing.

We would definitely use your suggestion that you gave us and will be updating our website to reflect such soon,

Thank you again for your kind and encouraging words in your letter and this review.

Kind regards,

Carina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked this room from England and it's hard to know what it's going to be like whether you do a lot of research or not. When we arrived we were surprised how remote it was which can be to some people's taste but as we had booked to be there over the Christmas period we wanted to be somewhere with a little bit more going on. There are not many rooms at Serenity Lodges and therefor not lots of people to make friends with or make plans with over the Christmas period. The surrounding areas are absolutely beautiful and you could not be more immersed in nature, with Serenity Lodges on the top of a hill over looking the beauty. But we decided to cut our nights short and move on early to our next hotel which was more central, we gave plenty of notice (over 48 hours) and still stayed the first two nights but this made Carina slightly sour. Originally she wanted us to pay for the full 5 nights even though we had given lots of notice and made the compromise to stay 2 nights out of the five. She had previously explained that it was high season and therefore would be able to fill the room. After some deliberation she decided to just charge us for the two nights we were staying and not for the extra 3 nights we were not. That was fine and we enjoyed our stay but at the end, our bill was much much more than it should have been. When we questioned what the extra money was for she explained there was a 15% service charge even though when we arrived she said it would be 10%, she then explained that the other 20-25EC Dollars where for extras which were, the use of sugar at breakfast, hot water for cups of tea and others that were not explained. Now i always thought that if you were paying for breakfast at a hotel or guest house it normally would include sugar in your morning coffee? For most of the 1 or 2 dollar 'extras' she couldn't even explain what they were. It felt like she had held us cancelling 3 nights against us and tried to make up the money from us in different ways. The other disappointing thing was that we had booked our stay with hostels.com and we paid a 10% deposit which she did not deduct from our bill and when we asked her about this she said that the 10% deposit was kept by hostels.com and that she would not see this money, even though whenever we have booked with hostels.com before as standard the hotel or guest house then deduct this from our bill as this is the arrangement they have with hostels.com. This meant not only did she charge us for extras that we should not have been charged for but she also kept the money from the deposit without deducting it from our bill. It was such a shame and it meant our experience was left tainted by the behavior of Carina (the owner). The actual room was very basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast and evening meals cooked by Carina's husband were absolutely amazing. Every meal something completely different and always nice portions and fresh food. Its a shame our judgement is now based on the money situation and not on the rest of our stay. The only other thing that i will say is that after our first nights stay we went out for the day and when we returned our room had been cleaned but this was not a normal clean as she had actually re-packed our suitcases and put all of our personal things away. Where we were not notified that our room was going to be cleaned we did not put our things away ourselves but this does not mean someone cleaning a room can then re-pack your suitcases and put your things back in your bags. It was such a shock to walk in to our room and find our suitcases packed in the corner and none of our personal things round the room as we had left them. It felt a little like an invasion of privacy and as we then unpacked our things again all of our things were mixed up in each others suitcases and bags. Normally if someone comes in to clean they clean around your things or move your things to clean and then return them to the original position. It was just strange especially after the first night of being there when the room didn't really need cleaning. Other than that it is a very natural and peaceful location and the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura-Ellice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Manager at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us!

Please note that the 10% deposit that is charge by hostelworld.com has nothing to do with us. Your total bill came up to 300USD. Hostel world, charge 10% which is their fee. The total amount that according to the email they sent to you and to us, to be paid upon arrival was USD 270, hence one night will therefore be 54USD. This is the amount that was charge on the invoice. Please double check your invoice # 991205. If you need further clarification please feel free to contact them. We would be happy to forward to you emails sent to us by them.

Please also note that rooms are cleaned daily. This has always been our normal standard procedure, with no complaints from guest. We deeply apologize though if you thought that your privacy was violated. This was not the intention of the person who cleaned the room. Please also note that your suitcases was not repack but simply shift to a side, to allow the cleaner to pass to make the bed and clean the bathroom. However, once more we apologize if this was in anyway offensive to you.

One another note, meals is cooked by Carina, and not the husband as stated on your review. We happy though that you enjoyed the food. We do our best to cook something different to our guest daily and using organic food and local seasoning. This gives our food a heavenly taste, as express by many of our guest.

Please note that all bills are charge a 15% service charge. There has never been 10% service charge, charged to any of our guest; hence we are certain that this was in no way indicated to you. In Dominica, all guesthouses/hotels are required to charge 15% on all bills for services and meals. You will also notice this amount being applied to groceries made on the island.

Lastly, please note that our full breakfast does include sugar and the works. Our dinner though does not include drinks, or any other extra's, taken during dinner time. Drinks are paid for separate as it is done in all hotels/guesthouse. The bill # 991207 for 6.90USD or 18.69 XCD for drinks are what we were requiring you to pay. However, according to what was mentioned to us, you thought this was a gift to you.

We are happy though that you did find our guesthouse to be beautiful, the view magnificent and our food fantastic. We are deeply sorry once more, that you felt that your privacy was violated, this was not our intention. As regards bills to be paid, we are kindly reminding all guests to please fulfill their responsibility in settling bills due. Our prices are affordable compared to many hotels/guesthouses on the island.

Thank you for your review, and hope you continue to enjoy yourself in Dominica, with your Dominican Family.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My stay-cation at serenity lodges is surely one to remember. A relaxing environment combine with a majestic veiw and great service. My personal favorite is the beauty of the rising sun rearing it head above the mountain just of the window, couple with the cool mountain breeze. A sure combination to leave u feeling mesmerized not wanting to leave. Just a pity I had to leave so soon. Keep up the good work Lester & Carina, sure found a piece of paradise............. Joe

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnoel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Owner at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Joel,

It was nice to have you here on your Staycation!

Its nice to know that even Dominicans, enjoy being at Serenity Lodges. Anytime you wish to get away and relax, feel free to contact us.

Regards,

Carina
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

we spent the three first days and the last two days in serenity lodge and it was a real pleasure to meet the owners Carina and lester , very helpful and friendly personns ,they just started their activities in march 2012 and we feel that they want to the give the best from them......... the rooms are simple but i'm sure it will become better and better and the meals were excellent cooked with local products like hand made cocoa spicy at breakfast.....!! or crayfish fishing by lester in the morning...... yes it was a very nice place to meet the local people with their skill

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenity L, Owner at Serenity Lodges Dominica, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Nadine,

Thank you for your review and for spending the extra two nights with us!

It was definitely a pleasure to have you and your husband with us for the 5 nights. Please feel free to keep in touch with us.

At Serenity Lodges, we are constantly improving our rooms and services. We enjoy also giving of our best to all our guest, and really show them the real Dominican way of life.

Hope to see you all sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Carina Gordon
Serenity Lodges Dominica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was a most relaxing and peaceful stay at Serenity Lodge.....Just being able to enjoy Nature's massage .....the mountain air, the GREENERY, the sound of flowing water...the tranquility, the warmth and honesty of the villagers...Carina your cuisine is the best..........We wish you The Creator's blessings and success in your endeavour................Ceric and Trice

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maallum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
11.6 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Valley Inn
Hibiscus Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Marigot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Inn
Sea Breeze Inn
#1 of 4 in Castle Bruce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Lodges Dominica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Lodges Dominica

Property: Serenity Lodges Dominica
Address: Concord | Dominica, Marigot, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serenity Lodges Dominica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Lodges Dominica, a family atmosphere guesthouse offering affordable accomodation. Located 10 minute drive from the Melville Hall Airport, and right next to the Carib Territory. Closest river is 2 minute walk. There are shops and nature hikes closeby.Also offering Tours, adventure, pick up services, delicious local meals and much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Serenity Lodges Dominica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Lodges Dominica Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing