We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food, Service, Atmosphere and Drinks!”

Pagua Bay Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pagua Bay Bar & Grill has moved to our Boutique Hotel Property - Pagua Bay House, located in Hatton Garden; just 3 miles South of the Melville Hall Airport. Open for lunch daily from Noon - 3pm to the public & breakfast and dinner by reservation only - reserve via email or by phone. Spectacular views & casual atmosphere. American food with Caribbean flair. Appetizers, salads, quick lunch options, dinner & fresh local juices, cold beer, wine list & the best rum punch on the island! Free Wi-Fi. *This is not local food & prices are in USD. Feel free to check the menu options & pricing on-line prior to joining us for any clarification.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Service, Atmosphere and Drinks!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed a week at Pagua Bay House for a week. Therefore, we had the opportunity to sample several meals at the restaurant and each was better than the last. Lucky us! All the food was house-made and super fresh! They had a great selection so we were always excited about our next meal. There are Creative Choices like Curry Goat Tacos and Thai Calamari to Caribbean/Dominica fare like Callalloo Soup and fresh Caribbean lobsters (that you can pick out of the tank at the front of the restaurant) to American Favorites like a Cheeseburger (my husband loved it!) and Caesar Salad (simple but awesome with house-made dressing and taste so good when you are far from home!).
A few of my personal favorites: The Curry Goat Tacos (goat is not usually something I would try but they were so dang good I had them several times. The fish tacos were killer too!), Ceviche (both the lobster and the mahi-mahi), Coconut Curry Shrimp, Shrimp Fritters, Chicken Nachos (you have to make sure to try it with the BELLO, the local hot sauce) and Chili Mahi-Mahi. While we were there they also had several daily specials that were outstanding like Sous-vide Pork Rib. Awesome! Breakfast was also top notch. The bagels are homemade. You have to try the breakfast sandwich on a homemade bagel! The Pagua Bay Skillet was also excellent!
The food was fantastic but the service, ambiance, views and cocktails were all amazing! All the people that work at the restaurant were so nice and accommodating. We could eat as quickly as we needed or we could linger as long as we liked sipping our rum punches enjoying the view! We just left Dominica a couple weeks ago and we cannot wait to return based largely on all the fantastic food from Pagua Bay!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fergandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    38
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ceviche Delish!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a great lunch of Ceviche overlooking the beach while nice and comfortable in the shade. Really liked being able to relax for a bit with a great vantage point over the beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aland_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“How can you mess up the burger?”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We plan a stop at the restaurant after reading all the great reviews. The property is lots of concrete and rusted steel. Not really Nature Island Dominica. The pool is gorges, but that is it.
The lunch selection was not great, just typical American bar food. Disappointing in it self, but we were there and hungry. We ordered 2 guava juices, they were off, but ok rough start. When we got our burgers and I don't even remember what my husband meal name was, but it should be goat, there were actually 2 small half bites of meat in the tortilla with corn and been, and the same corn been salsa or salad we were not sure. The food was just bad. We were glad we had some fruit in the car, as we left hungry and disappointed after a bill of almost $30. It might not seem a lot, but this is Dominica. We had a great meal for less than 15$ for 2 of us.
Wont be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diverMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having seen the glowing reports of this place on Trip Advisor we stopped off for lunch. The bar meals were very good so we booked for dinner. You have to book for evening meals and that, together with the high praise we were expecting something special.

It is no different in the evening, no tablecloths, a TV behind the bar with the sound a little to loud, a dog wandering around the tables. The food was OK (for a bar meal) but the whole thing was a real disappointment and at $216ec (£50) for one soup, two curried goat and four drinks they were expensive bar meals.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBBG, Owner at Pagua Bay Bar and Grill, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Two bad reviews in two weeks, mama mia. First I would like to say that there is no explanation for the television volume being on, it is our policy that the volume be off if other dining guests are present, this was an oversight on the servers part, for that I sincerely apologize.

Five out of five on the food, you would think that that would be a pretty good start. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations of a fine dining restaurant, but that was never part of our concept. PBBG is casual, comfortable dining, breakfast, lunch, and dinner(we are a table cloth free restaurant). Our customers are welcome in shorts, bathing suits, and flip flops(or for that matter come bare foot, I do), you are welcome to enjoy the pool, or catch up on emails in the lounge area(we have free wifi). Don't be surprised to see Fina(the wandering dog) laying out on a lounge chair.

The dinner menu at PBBG includes ginger glazed mahi-mahi, coconut curry shrimp, creole chicken, and caribbean curried goat, that along with our creole season(when you dined here) specials including crab backs, local crayfish, and fresh live lobster grilled to perfection(all that and no jacket and slacks required), I don't really consider that a "bar meal"

And now for the white elephant in the room(not me, the prices). Please remember that importation costs are very high in Dominica(food and beverage cost is 2x Europe or North America, and alcohol 3x cost), also there is 15% VAT included in the menu prices. Our most expensive dinner item costs 13 GBP(25 USD), the average lunch menu item is 8 GBP(13 USD), these prices include the 15% VAT. The lunch menu is also available at dinner. If you find this prohibitively expensive it would be better to skip PBBG.

I hope that this is helpful to people reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“the worlds best kept secret”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent our entire honeymoon in lovely pagua bay house although we initially wanted to move to another location within Dominica. The excellent cocktails, the amazing and affordable wines, the perfect food including lobsters and fruits we have never seen before, the excellent service, and the lovely and funny hosts that treated us as friends rather than guests have convinced us to do so already on our first evening. We soon knew that we will tell the rest of the world that dominica is NOT worth going so that we can have the beaches and stunning nature again almost to ourselves when we will be back. all the best from vienna :-))

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagua Bay Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Mero, Saint Joseph Parish
 

Been to Pagua Bay Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing