We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 2 nights ( supposed to be 3 but we arrived late) in cabana 4. Pagua Bay house is such a gorgeous property and there are a lot of great things to see and do nearby. Our room was very well done and so comfortable that it made it hard for us to want to leave and explore in the mornings. The pool and restaurant area was very enjoyable and the friendly staff were always there to start up a nice conversation. I would give the food a 8 or 9 out of 10, depending on the dish. The prices are a little on the high end, but what you would expect at this type of place. All of the staff were really great- friendly, informative, and helpful. It is our first visit to Dominica and they gave us great tips about the must-sees in the area. The owners Rick and Alicia are such a sweet couple and really made sure that we had everything that we needed. They even offered us to stay an extra night for free to make up for the first night that we missed.

This was a really lovely place to stay. My husband and I are not fans of all-inclusive or large hotels and always prefer to stay in Boutique hotels and Pagua Bay is now at the top of our list of our favorite Boutique Resorts. We will definitely be back!

** we did not get a look at any of the other cabins

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LG1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
240
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

You would be hard-pressed to find any hotel anywhere that has this mix of hip, rustic-modern design chic; fantastic food at every meal; and personal service from the owners themselves -- and I dare say you will not find one anywhere in a location more wondrous than Dominica and for this price. When you check in, you immediately feel "at home" due to the friendly and easygoing staff; by the next morning, when Rick makes you a fantastic breakfast and Alicia personally helps you figure out all the logistic for your stay, you will realize you hit the jackpot. Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights & wished it were longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPrickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We loved everything about Pagua Bay House! We stayed for three nights in February and it was the absolute highlight of our month in the Caribbean.
The setting is sublime, the cabanas, which sit very sensitively in the landscape; the pristine and gorgeous Pagua Bay, are uber-stylish and extremely comfortable. We loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs at night, watching the moon rise over the bay; going to sleep in our cabana lulled by the sound of the waves ; the great food in the restaurant and the fact that at night, it is lit only by lanterns; the Centipede punch knocked our socks off! and we were spoilt for choice with the delicious menu options. Above all, and key to Pagua Bay's success and appeal, is that Alicia and Rick are wonderful hosts and they and their staff radiate warmth and friendliness, enthusiasm and generosity of spirit. We will definitely go back.

N.B. Because of the sea breezes there are no mosquitos, a real plus for me, who gets bitten to pieces everywhere in the Caribbean, so you don't need to use the A/c. It's lovely and peaceful and feels so much healthier to sleep in fresh air .

Room Tip: We stayed in the new Ocean Front Cabana; very spacious terrace and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmother88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Dominica is an unspoilt island offering a true taste of the Caribbean - so lovely unspoilt beaches and scenery but a "work in progress" road network and facilities. Pagua Bay is excellent value with very considerate and helpful owners and really quite excellent staff. You will however need a hire car because the hotel pool is tiny and you cannot swim from the nearby beach.The food at Pagua is perfectly acceptable but not "fine dining" - the "specials" board remained unchanged during our five night stay. Our room - Cabana 4 - was lovely. Rick and Alicia have ambitious plans for Pagua Bay and it will only improve.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My fiance picked this island as our next Caribbean island to visit and we both selected Pagua Bay Beach House as our first choice to stay in ... and were we well rewarded for our choices!
The island is very different from many other Caribbean islands in that it is very unspoiled and uncrowded by tourists. Because of these factors and the inherent natural beauty of this island, it has become known as the 'nature island.'
Pagua Bay Beach House was a dream spot for us for several reasons. First of all the hosts/owners are a delightful couple as well as extraordinarily helpful, charismatic and a great team. Second comes the location on the Atlantic coast where the surf and sea breeze are constant and interesting places to visit and hike are nearby while the bustle of the island capital is an hour drive away on the opposite side of the island. If you are interested in surf, hiking, nature and a place to sleep with soft sounds of nature and the ocean to lull you to sleep at night and culinary treats prepared by talented island chefs, Pagua Bay Beach House is #1.

Room Tip: Suite # 5 is exceptionally nice with a great view from the huge shower out the window to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

First of all, Dominica is pretty isolated. Not a lot of flights there from major airlines. But we were island hopping and that is a lot easier on small commuters between islands in the Caribbean. We chose this hotel because it was closest to the airport. There are NO major brands of hotels on this island. They are all Mom & Pop operations. This ones is perfectly ran and managed by the owners in great shape and a wonderful experience. Stayed in a cabana and it was very nice. Hotel is located right on the ocean with views abound. A very good restaurant too. This is a great place to unwind and stay a while. We certainly wished we could stay longer. I don't know about the rest of the hotels on the island. But I do know this one is a great choice in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited Dominica in Feb 2014 for our honeymoon and stayed three nights at Pagua, but wished we could stay longer. Before reserving rooms here, we just happened to stop by the restuarant to use the wi-fi access. We were not even guests yet, but Rick and Alicia already could not do enough to help us. They are truly OUTSTANDING hosts.

Importantly, the location of Pagua is great. It is very conveniently accessed from the Melville Hall airport, and it's very easy to find. It's also just a short drive to many of the beaches on the north coast of the island.

The cabanas are absolutely superb. They are aesthetically beautiful, with very comfy beds, beautiful showers, and all the amentities you could possibly need.

The restaurant is fantastic: great view of the ocean and pool, delicious food, really great espresso/coffee, and a nice cocktail menu. Of course, the restaurant service is outstanding.

Rick, Alicia, and all of the Pagua staff are just really amazing. We can't say enough great things about everyone there. They are all so warm, welcoming, helpful, and generally hospitable.

We would highly recommend Pagua to anyone planning to visit the beautiful island of Dominica! We can't wait to go back!!

Thanks for making our trip to Dominica so special, Pagua!

Room Tip: If you're able to splurge, stay in the Garden Suite - it's so, so, so beautiful and complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
13.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
146 reviews
6.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Property: Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagua Bay House, Dominica's tranquil & chic boutique hotel, is a stylish, ocean view retreat overlooking the serene cove of Pagua Bay. The ideal place for the holiday of your dreams, for those in search of unforgettable moments. The four Cabanas and two Suites are wonderfully inviting with ocean views and upscale amenities, including Wi-Fi. Choose between A/C or enjoy being caressed by the natural, cool sea breeze. The rooms are large, furnished with king-size feather beds. The Ocean Suite with outdoor terrace includes a private plunge pool. Indulge your senses, where nature meets luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing