We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for a government hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Horizontes Soroa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soroa
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is quite a nice resort in a very good location. The hotel has lots of walks nearby and a nice waterfall 10 minute walk away that's great for swimming. The staff on the front desk are fantastic and speak English very well. They are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. The pool is very nice with a pool bar where they make really nice cocktails. The rooms are very comfortable with airconditioning and ensuite with a good shower. However the location of some of the rooms is questionable with ours being right next to a road that has trucks driving past at all hours (if you leave the air-con on you cant hear it as much). The food is mostly quite good in the buffet with only the occasional dish that wasn't that great. Their desserts are really good and I loved their creme caramel and rice custard. They have a nice cuban duo band playing many cuban favourites in the evening aswell. I recommend arriving as soon as it opens in the evening for dinner so you get in before the tour groups arrive. There are a lot of tour groups that stay at this place. Overall, I would recommend but would probably stay a night at the Las terraces San juan waterfalls which we did as a day trip from Soroa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool as it is further away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 268 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

When in Cuba don’t expect Western style hotels and services. If you’re old enough compare it to hotel visits in 60’s 70’s and forget about your modern upscale thoughts you have by visiting hotels in Europe, US or modern Asia.
This hotel is for Cuban standards pretty good. I stayed in 10 other hotels so I am able to compare. The rooms are still in pretty good conditions, although some repair and renewal in a few rooms is necessary. The pool are with bar are very beautiful and provide you with a wonderful jungle view. Yes, you are at the end of the road in the middle of the jungle close to a stunning waterfall and orchid garden.
The restaurant is an all-you-can-eat buffet with limited choice and supply. The food is however good and up to the regular Cuban hotel standard. Staff is friendly but not enthusiastic. But the band that plays in the evening at the bar is a blast.

Room Tip: Use the guys to carry your suitcase. It only costs you a CUC but saves you from carrying it many sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a cycling tour around Cuba. Rooms very clean and tidy, other than our toilet which never got fixed.

Pool area was nice, was loud and crowded, locals were on holiday.

Food - buffet style for all meals, always a variety of dishes quite liked even if some of the dishes were odd.

Hotel staff were always helpful. Helping with bags etc was great:-)

Location stunning, with a enjoyable hilltop walk close by, along with a lovely waterfall. The local garden "botanical" was beautiful and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the pool for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A rough start for a 67 year old woman who is visiting Cuba with 17 Canadians. The resort is off the beaten track in the forest. Should have been my first clue that insects and lizards would be part of my visit. So don't leave wet face cloths in the bathroom to attract ants. Welcome the lizard hiding behind the curtains as he will help control the winged intruders. Remember to apply insect repellant if you plan to have a drink at sundown or later in the outdoor bar! Long pants always a better choice than skirts. Leave a peso for the maids to ensure the best service. Similarly if there is a cook preparing eggs or other entrees, invest a peso. Come early for breakfast & supper for the best selection. The milk is probably powdered. Yes it is disconcerting to see the emaciated dogs.
I didn't mind the cabins; reminded me of rustic camping days. Clean but tired furnishings. Didn't use the huge pool. Others reported it was chilly. Folks who stayed in the cabins that were located at the higher elevation suffered from water interruption but cabins nearest the pool were spared this problem.

Room Tip: Proximity to the outdoor bar was not a problem as the music ended early. Check the lights, toilet, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during our roundtrip to Cuba. They had only a "villa" left far away from the reception and the restaurant. The villa was owfull and for sure not rent since a while. Toilet didn t fonction, everywhere insects crawling on the walls, under the bed , in the air conditioning. And the entire walls where plenty of fungi!! Never again! During that night another guest has survived a rubbery in his bungalow!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelanoSwiss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Soroa and Las Terrazas. It’s not a bad place, though the receptionist was very abrupt and cold. (To my other half anyway - she was nice to me!). The staff went beyond the call when asked to help me open my car when I stupidly locked the keys in – three guys struggled for 30 mins to successfully open it with nothing expected. (But a massive tip given!)
The rooms are perfectly fine and even have CNN on TV, which might be the only time you see news from the outside world if you are staying in casas. The pool and bar looks nice, dinner and lunch at the two restaurants are normal for Cuba. Breakfast was a bit of a pigs-to-the-trough affair as a massive tour group fuelled up for the day while we were there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent the weekend at Villa Soroa as part of an extended tour of Pinar del Rio
the hotel is set in extremely beautiful surroundings and at first glance, the hotel seems picturesque and entirely enticing.

the first room we were given was scary... to me. the paint was peeling off the walls in chunks and there was mould and mildew EVERYWHERE. when we approached reception and asked for a different room, they quickly facilitated and the second room was immensely cleaner, i.e. no flaking paint or mildew. the bed was lumpy and sank in the middle, but since we spent most of the day out and about, we weren't too bothered by it.

in terms of meals - i was not impressed at all. the buffet breakfast was not tasty and very limited in variety. The restaurant staff we found to be quite friendly.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with no mould or mildew on the walls, curtains or ceiling. also, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laviajera498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soroa
47.5 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
861 reviews
5.4 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
654 reviews
33.2 mi away
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Hotel Cayo Levisa
#3 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#5 of 7 in Vinales
593 reviews
86 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,014 reviews
50.2 mi away
Hotel Vueltabajo
Hotel Vueltabajo
#1 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Horizontes Soroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Horizontes Soroa

Address: Carretera a Soroa Km 8 | Candelaria, Soroa, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Artemisa Province > Soroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soroa
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Horizontes Soroa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Horizontes Soroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soroa Hotel Soroa
Hotel Soroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing