We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad hotel in wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Horizontes Soroa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soroa
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sad hotel in wonderful location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The area is beautiful with fabulous orchid gardens next door. Hotel, however, looking shabby and sad with no updates, or improvements since we last visited 5 years ago. Rooms desperately need a refurb, but pool area is pleasant. We were there at a weekend when the place was invaded by Cubans with money - a new class of chavs! The experince was areal eeye opener but not one we'd necessarily like to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    70
    85
    49
    44
See reviews for
39
134
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in May with my wife, mother and 16 month old.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Villa Sora. It has a lovely the pool and the surrounding area is extremely beautiful. There a very pretty waterfall to swim in a short walk away. We also went on a nature walk with a hotel sourced guide who extremely knowledgeable who took us to visit a substance coffee farmer in the local area. There is also a hill to climb that gives a great view of the local area. There is an onsite shop that is relatively well stocked and not ridiculously overpriced (which is a surprise as there is nowhere else to go!)

The rooms are pretty basic (although they do have CNN) and the hotel is a little dated in places (where isn’t in Cuba!). We had booked half board and eat in the restaurant each night. The food was quite average. There was also an a la carte option for dinner which may be better but we did not try that. The staff were pretty unhelpful but that is kind of what I would expect in a large hotel like this in Cuba.

Just to let you know if you are getting round by taxi, the hotel nominated taxi is a 1980’s Volga that does not have air conditioning. This is not ideal for long journeys so make sure you have sorted a taxi before you arrive!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 by the pool. We thought it was going to be noisy but it was good and close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coverack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location was beautiful. The waterfall trail and other trails around the hotel were awesome. We also enjoyed the local disco just down the road and had a good time there. Rooms were not necessarily bad, but extremely simple. Many in our group had issues with the water running. My main complaint is the food. Dinner was nothing great, and breakfast was awful. So as long as your standards aren't too high, it's a fine place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This could be so Lovely. ... In the midst of such beautiful area, even if the staff were more friendly it could be great. Food was barely edible, the room was musty and damp, glad it was a one night stop over

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soroa hotels

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 8) for 2 nights in April as part of a 2 week tour of Cuba.

Positives
1) Incredibly beautiful location in the midst of the rain forest
2) Huge swimming pool which the children loved
3) Friendly staff who tried to resolve the various issues for us
4) Great location next to lovely orchid gardens and a beautiful viewpoint walk.

Negatives
1) The hotel does not have any family rooms to fit 4 as we had been advised (maximum number is 3 per room). We ended up having to have 2 separate bungalows

2) The swimming pool was green the day we arrived and we only realized how bad it was when it was cleaned and suddenly became blue the next day!

3) The hotel also had no money change for the first 2 days we were there which left us seriously short of money because we had not anticipated this and were not near a town (8km away -no car)

4) The food in the restaurant ( buffet) was not particularly special but ok.

I would stay here again, but just be aware of the potential issues, especially for families needing a family room (In cuba it seems that the best way to guarantee this is to stay in a casa).

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton on thames
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel on 01/05/2012.
The rooms are very run down ,in desperate need of refurbishment.We had no water in the morning and when we told reception they did not seem to care.
Food in the evening was ok but breakfast a la carte consisted of fruit and 2 tiny dry buns.
The swimming pool was very dirty with all sorts floating in it.Also loud music playing around it.
On the plus side the gardens are nice.Don't bother about the orchid garden nearby as nothing to see.Best to stay in the Vinales region.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is rural and pleasant. Individual chalets, although basic, are quite adequate. There are not many facilities, but a pool is central to the location and little else. The dining room is fine, and food about average for Cuba i.e. edible but uninspiring. There's a small open bar near the pool. OK for a one night stop.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soroa
5.4 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
624 reviews
42.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,293 reviews
116.5 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#7 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,598 reviews
46.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,595 reviews
42.5 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Horizontes Soroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Horizontes Soroa

Property: Villa Horizontes Soroa
Address: Carretera a Soroa Km 8 | Candelaria, Soroa, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Artemisa Province > Soroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Soroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Horizontes Soroa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Horizontes Soroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soroa Hotel Soroa
Hotel Soroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing