We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Finca Celorio

Finca Celorio
Ranked #44 of 95 Restaurants in Vinales
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Foreign visitors are often commended to stay at the adjacent out-of-town Hotel La Ermita - and for a Russian mine-worker sent here as a gift from Marx for gathering top tonnage during the soviet period, it may well have been a treat. For The Rest of The World, one 'meal' there sends the guest reaching for a helicopter service to lift him out of the area. Thank goodness, by the front gate of Gulag Ermita is a charming family who have created a simple outdoor restaurant by their home with really well-cooked food and good ingredients, which one finds by accident.
This place saves your cuisiniary bacon and all your Vinales provender is likely to be taken there during your ensuing visit. It was actually better than the several places in which we ate in Havana, save for one - which I would write about but I have lost my memory.....
Lobster was a favourite at Paladar Pinca Celorio, and so were the pork and chicken dishes. They offer a typically Cuban sort of potato cake, made from some indigenous vegetable, which we only ordered once. I seem to remember it was blue. I guess you have to be a local to appreciate its finesses..... The foodstuffs taste real; one will be reminded of the taste of chicken from the old days, for example - there's no mass food production on this island. There is no recent history of good grub in poor Cuba - they eat anything which doesn't make them ill, so the newly-permitted private cafes haven't had to try hard to be in business - except when visitors arrive from the Outside World.

So - when visiting Cuba, either eat at Finca Celorio - or take enough sandwiches for the period between in-and-out airport visits. If I remember the excellent place in Havana, I'll check in to Trip Advisor again and let you know.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank plateman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2016

Super cheap and tons of food. The chicken was good. The pork was good. The beans and rice were delicious. The owners were lovely. People staying at Ermitas should make the two minute walk across the street for dinner.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 40_countries_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Had the misfortune to stay at the hotel up the road from this restaurant and this was the best place we found in Vinales. Great mojitos, reasonable prices and the best food we found in Cuba - although too much for us to finish it all. Lovely to chat to other guests and some live music there on a Friday night...if you go remember to dose yourself with insect repellent though as you will get mosquito bites

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank KaL209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015

We went here for dinner while staying at La Ermita hotel, and it is sooo much better than food at the restaurant. Very friendly service, big portions, and good food.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2015

If you're staying at La Ermita this is a 2 minute stroll and a typical cuban offering.
The tomato sauce for prawns is fabulous. Portions huge- everything served with white rice/ rice and beans , yucca, vegetables and the best banana chips . Just 3 or 4 choices for mains, all cooked to order. They have rooms to let as well. Shy service with little English spoken-but enough to get by.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Celorio also viewed

Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 

Been to Finca Celorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing