We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boing! Boing! Boing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Los Jazmines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Jazmines
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Boing! Boing! Boing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The title sums up the bed. Dreadful. Springs coming through the mattress and fusty smelling bedclothes.

This hotel is set in the most wonderful stunning location. That is about it of the plus points.

We had the farthest away room from the main building (116) so a long walk and it was dark at night. There are dogs, cats and hens roaming at will - do NOT leave the balcony door open.

The room was small and fusty smelling and the locks were none too secure. The balcony doors were a joke with lots of hinges to open the louvres. The toilet had to be coaxed to flush (others on our tour had non-flushing toilets)
There were sufficient towels but the shower was just a trickle. The floor was very grubby and the lampshades all had cellophane wrapping on for some bizarre reason!

There was a small fridge that made a lot of noise.

It was easily the worst night's sleep ever on that rubbish bed.

The dining room was very busy - especially with flies which were all over everything and with cats begging to be fed.
We took food from underneath but it was pretty poor.

Breakfast was much the same although I did have a fly free freshly cooked omelette.

I didn't use the pool as it was not fully filled.

Yes, it has stunning views but I honestly wouldn't choose to stay here again. One night was ample thank you!

Room Tip: There probably isn't a good room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    305
    233
    92
    47
See reviews for
113
431
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As other reviewers have so rightly pointed out, the whole point of this hotel is that the views are really special. If comfort and service is more important to you there are other hotels in the area you may prefer. There was no water at all in our part of the hotel, but the staff were singularly unhelpful and unconcerned about it. Eventually after 2 days we were able to move rooms to a part where there was water ( the main hotel block) , but we would never have found out about this possibility without the helpfulness of other British guests - it was clear the staff would have left us where we were!
The food was ok on the days that huge tour parties were not staying, but the 2 local paladars are cheap, good and friendly so worth trying too. We booked a couple of local tours through the hotel and they were both excellent, with really good guides and we saw and did things we would never have done left to our own devices.
Vinales is much cheaper than Havana, so your finances have a chance of recovering here if you visit both!

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool not the back yard in the main block above the restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JS869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brilliant location , views unbelievable and one of the highlights of a brilliant tour of Cuba.
Breakfast room again brilliant views especially as the misted lifted out of the valley.
Food , probably best to describe as very poor , only positive hot coffee.
Room, clean but difficult to lock plus no hot water.
Reception staff ............Mr Grumpy

Room Tip: Apparently the plumbing is very noisy in the higher numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is its main saving grace. The views are quite breathtaking and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in our rocking chairs on the veranda looking out. The rooms were fine and the pool and sunbeds perfectly adequate. However, we had no running water for the first 24 hours - people were seen carrying buckets of water from the swimming pool! Fortunately the second day was okay but we gathered that this is a fairly regular occurrence. We were never able to change money at the reception desk so had to get a taxi into Vinales. Breakfasts were fine but having been warned by other guests that dinner was not good we ate at excellent paladars. The staff seemed totally uninterested in the welfare of their guests and service in the bar was pretty slow. The sooner this hotel is privatised the better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rgvwes2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is situated a few Kms outside Vinales,and has a great panoramic view of the valley,both from the rooms and from the main building.The rooms,although spacious and clean,are not something special,and you cannot avoid massive groups of tourists,but the main attraction is definitely the view.The buffet restaurant had a sufficient variety of tasty food in my opinion both at dinner and at breakfast.My only complaint is about hotel's tourist agent.We booked a 2 hours horse riding for the next morning.About 2 hours before the beginning of the ride,I cancelled it because of a terrible back pain I had.The tourist agent refused to give me the money back,because he said that the guide would come anyway.I think that this is ridiculous as an excuse because distances are really small and he could communicate with the guide the same way he did the initial booking.That was really unprofessional and opportunistic on his behalf.Anyway,I would definitely stay to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikonas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cockerels rule the roost at this idiosyncratic hotel high above the valley of Vinales. Perched just below the windows, they begin crowing about five in the morning. They dash across the pool terrace, snatching food from your hand or out of the paws and mouths of hungry cats ...

We didn't mind that. In fact, we (my husband, myself, and a friend of ours) actually enjoyed the cockerels, the cats, and the friendly dogs. In the heart of this beautiful countryside, it was only to be expected.

What we didn't enjoy was our room in the annexe to one side of the main hotel building (room 201). "A romantic honeymoon suite!" the rather nice elderly man who wheeled our luggage to the room, past the beautiful croton plants, told us. Um - no, not really. The room was small and simple. We've done small and simple, and we don't mind that either. But here, everything was very old and dated (and not in an attractive way). It was almost impossible to pull open the wooden door of the built-in wardrobe because, being totally warped by damp, we could hardly drag it across the floor. And the bed - well, the sheets were heavy and cold with damp. We endured them for two nights, and then put blankets on top of the bed and wrapped more blankets round ourselves to keep warm, just so we didn't have to get into that horribly clammy bed. Romantic? Not in our wildest dreams!

The shower - very feeble. Not very warm. You could stare hopefully upwards towards the nozzle for quite some time before any water trickled out ... The very small hand basin was not easy to use as it was right under a glass shelf which blocked half of it.

Our friend, who had a room in the main block (no. 23), had no problems with dampness in her room, and her shower worked fine.

Breakfast was not too bad (my opinion; the others begged to differ) but on some mornings there was hot water but no cups and on other occasions there were cups but no hot water.

Dying flower arrangements in the small lounge area near reception ...

The pool terrace has the most wonderful views (as does the entire property) but could do with a good scrub down with buckets of water and brushes to remove the ingrained grime - as could the very grubby area outside our annexe (due to a climbing plant overhead).

We loved Vinales; the small town is great, and the valley is a wonderful spot for walking and riding. What a pity this hotel, which looks so lovely from the outside, is so disappointing. It's got so much potential! If we ever came back, I think we'd opt to stay in one of the many private "casas" in Vinales itself and maybe just drive up to the hotel to look at the view.

Room Tip: I suggest one in the main building or the cabins - not the annexe past the shop! Certainly not 201!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

in a fairly remote location
We were in a party if 25 on half board basis. Check in & baggage to rooms worked well.
Not much money to equip the hotel to a high standard but the staff were really friendly & helpful & what was there was kept clean for example the pool side beds.
Hot water tended to run out in the late afternoon but had generally recovered by early evening.
There was a reasonable selection of food in the buffet although there was limited change of what was on display each day. Meat was served in large portions. A good match between capacity & guest numbers meant no serious queuing or waiting.
Not much atmosphere in the restauarnt & bar.
Drinks prices reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuggyduggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
245.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
89.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
93.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
211.9 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
168.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Jazmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Jazmines

Property: Hotel Los Jazmines
Address: Km 23, Carretera a Vinales, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Jazmines 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Jazmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Jazmines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing