We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop if touring Cuba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizontes La Ermita
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stop if touring Cuba”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Well, what a view in the morning, afternoon and evening... dinosaurs should still be living in the artful mist there. Make the excursions to Vinales and especially Pinar del Rio if you are an architecture buff -- some real gems there.
Food as ususal on Cuba, what would you expect. Personnel friendly, tip them, they need and appreciate it. No internet or money change, banking in the village will require some time! Nice swimming pool, could be cleaner however. Too many Dutch people around looking for a cheap place (well that is the way they were brought up, no offense).
Pictures to be shot will be unforgettable. Met a frog in the room and a huge tarantula on the path in the early morning, fortunately no incidents and shoes on.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    201
    202
    89
    53
See reviews for
101
304
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

When you drive in Vinales, you see a sign that gives directions to La Ermitta. When you have passed a Y-crossing, you take the right (see the signs). Then you take the first to the right. It's a road going up until you reach La Ermitta.

The view over the valley is so amazing! The buffet isn't very good, but I liked the pork and the rice! Hey, you're in Cuba, so don't expect the best food ever.

The room was really good. It was big, clean and there was hot water. The staff was very friendly. We booked a tour. We were the only ones and went out with our guide Yerenia. She was a very good guide. Really nice to talk about Cuba and see the valley of Vinales.

The swimmingpool was very nice. There is a bar where you can order a drink or some food.

The Cubans haven't got very much money, so if you want to do something good, read this. Maybe you have some nice 'old' (never used) stuffed animals. Kids will love it! Or you bring a doll or a little car. The Cubans can't afford this and in Cuba you can't get the quality of toys you have in Europe or the USA.
Cubans can use everything! Maybe you can bring some clothing (size M/L or size kids). Soap/ towels/ brushes/ toothpaste/ cream/ scissors/ mirrors/ spunges/ etc. They'll be so happy when you give it to them, unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Set in an amazing location looking over Vinales valley. Watching the mist rise over the valley in the mornings was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great swimming pool with wonderful mojitos at the pool bar. Dinner, which was included in the price, was the least pleasing aspect of our stay. Very little choice and luke warm food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were fortunate in having what we think was a re-furbished room on the top floor to the right of reception. We are both OAPs and although there was no help offered managed to get our suitcases upstairs ok. The room was very clean with only the bare essentials ie two shelves to put suitcases on and the usual unit furniture and fridge. We took our own bottle of rum and it was lovely to sit outside on the balcony and watch the sun go down. We had running water in the shower (from where the wall joined the floor) as well as out of the tap. The torrent stopped at some point during the night and hey - next morning we had no water at all (even to flush the loo). Next day we filled the bin inserts with water - just in case, so we could at least flush the loo - and had water until the end of our stay.
The food was pretty unspectacular but then that's Cuba. We had no breakfast one morning as the clocks had altered for daylight savings and we didn't know about it .
Do take the trip offered which takes you to the farm, the caves, the amazing mural and the indian cave. We enjoyed it more than I have space to write here. If you are intending to visit and can take a little gift for the farmers wife - do. She is charming and treasures a tea-towel illustrating the Peak District which she has on the wall as a picture. I really wish I had been able to give her a gift other than a few tea bags.
We only stayed in Vignales for two days which in retrospect wasn't long enough. We wished we'd had more time to explore the town and have dinner at a casa particulares.
We didn't use the pool as it was very busy with the villagers during the afternoon.
Other than the one morning with no water we had no problems and were very comfortable and not bothered by any insects at all (I recommend March for travel to Cuba). Take Wet Wipes or similar in case the water is cut off, fill up the bin liners - and enjoy. We did and I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The staff were really friendly, especially if you take time to make conversation with them. Noting was any trouble for them to organise for us and they went out of their way to find us a room which could sleep all three of us.

The views are amazing, the food excellent and the room good value.

We spent a lot of time it the time just sitting in the square and talking to the locals. A trip to a local cave system (one of the biggist in South America) was amazing and well worth the visit.

We also stayed in a Casa in the villlage and used the hotel pool which was a fantastic was to spend the day.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destinybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The hotel is wonderfully situated about 2km from town on a valley side overloking the whole area. The hotel is imaginatively laid out in a series of linked walkways surrounding the pool and restaurant area
We were warmly welcomed and our cases taken to the room.
The room was uninspiring with some peeling paint. The taps were loose in the bathroom. The balcony had good views, but was not private from adjacent rooms.
Hot water shut off for 6 hours one day - no reason given.

Food - The a la carte evening meal was changed to buffet "because we are busy tonight". This was very poor - food cold and obviously prepared some time before. Despite a buffet there was virtually no choice of food. The breakfast was not much better - again poor choice, late opening, lousy coffee.

Pool bar - very poor service, the staff only dained to serve us after finishing their chat. After then serving drinks kept us waiting 5 mins to take money once they saw we needed change. Ordered sandwich - first time toasted, nice ; second time not toasted, why ?


We had to leave early to catch the bus back to Havana and asked the hotel to book a taxi the evening before. In the morning the taxi never arrived and the early morning staff could not reach the taxi by phone - so sat back and watched us carry our cases 2km to the bus stop to (just) catch the bus. Not so good customer care.

Summary - lovely location on top of hill away from town. However do not expect normal hotel facilities (eg no money changing despite advertising the facility), and expect to eat away from hotel for hot food, service, or nice ingredients.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

The views over the valley are great, almost as good as from Los Jamines.

The rooms are of a good size and generally fine, but water and electricity are real problems. On arrival in mid afternoon there was no water - when someone enquired they were told there would be water between 6 and 8 pm that day - and there was. Other days there was water all day, but it due to it being heated only by solar power it was cold in the mornings. Almost half of the lights in our room did not work due to defective or missing bulbs - and the standard lamp not only had no bulb but the plug did not fit any socket in the room. The bedside lamp could be turned on and off by touching the cable near the switch, the wiring of which must have been dangerous.

There was plenty of room for sitting around near the pool and other areas nearby, but only shade round one table.

The worst thing about this hotel was the restaurant in which we had 3 breakfasts (because they were included and there was no alternative anywhere near) and one dinner (because we were innocent when we first arrived). It takes some skill to provide about 20 different things on a breakfast buffent and make virtually any of them appertising. The dinner was again a buffet and as bad. The bar and restaurnat staff were of the same quality as the food (the reception staff were better, and the maids fine). We had nearly finished our meal when we managed to get some wine and the waiter was not around when we left the restaurant so we went to the bar in the restaurant and paid. About 20 minutes later we were sought out by the waiter who accused us of not paying in a persistent and impolite manner, then when he was joined by his colleague who had taken our money he accused us of having four coffees between the two of us rather than the two we had.

Unless you fancy a long walk on an unlit road with potholes (and coming back it is uphill) there is nowhere else withing walking distance to eat other than a private house which is difficult to find known as Nora's. But it is worth taking a taxi to anywhere else. We went to a simple pizza / pasta place where we were the only non Cubans one night which does what it says on the can. (I can't remember the name, but we saw it in someone's Lonely Planet guide.)

Ratings given are a compromise - they would be lower if I were to use my normal standards, but higher if I took typical Cuba as a benchmark.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vinales hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
244.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
92.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
87.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.7 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,342 reviews
165.8 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
240.4 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizontes La Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizontes La Ermita

Property: Horizontes La Ermita
Address: Carretera de La Ermita, km 1. 5, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizontes La Ermita 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizontes La Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizontes La Ermita Vinales
Horizontes La Ermita Hotel Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing