We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horizontes La Ermita
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a three night stop on an excellent Ramblers International Tour and even in retrospect and allowing for a very long travel day, this hotel has some serious negative points..
To start with the positive, the position of the hotel and the views are just fantastic.The meals are adequate without being exciting and follow the normal Cuban bland style of hotel cuisine.Its position is ideal for walking in the wonderful surrounding country side. The rooms however are not so good. Our room 27 was in a very poor state of repair and indeed had half the bathroom ceiling missing from what looked like a major leak from the room above.We had hot water once in three days
Our group was pretty fit and you needed to be as there are many steps in the grounds with loose slabs and little or no warning of stepp drops. This hotel could be a serious safety risk to those less able. Carry a torch at night, you will need it.
Advice? If you can find better in the area do so.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you agree to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 589 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and got room 64 which has the best view. The view of the valley from the hotel is stunning and the best thing about the hotel.

The hotel is clean and staff are fine. Our room was clean but the shower wasn't great. It was either too hot or cold, you could not set it in between.

Breakfast is average for a hotel of this size and there is not much variety on offer. A lot of birds fly in and peck at the bread which puts you off. We did not have dinner after reading the reviews and also as we were not impressed with breakfast. There are plenty of little restaurants in town which are also quite cheap if you don't mind a taxi ride or a 20 min walk down the hill. It's quite safe to walk at night.

Room Tip: room 64 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a room far end of block on ground floor 54 and the view from the bedroom window/balcony were superb. The room was clean and comfy and the breakfast was ok - dinner was adequate but should have tried a local restaurant next door. A lot of our supper ended up thrown over the balcony to the appreciative dogs below! Trips were easily arranged and the pool also had fabulous views. pool bar was friendly but we would have preferred some music
playing at night. Staff were friendly and helpful as we had an early bus and still managed breakfast.

Room Tip: 54 bottom right end of block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helengart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had room #64 which definitely has the best views - I was staying 3 nights and transferred from #53 after the first night. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were a bit shabby and the TV didn't work, but I had hot water (some rooms didn't) and a fantastic view and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is OK if you don't mind sharing it with the sparrows but the food at dinner was not very good. Go to Wilfredo's paladar just outside the entrance to La Ermita instead.

Room Tip: Room #64 definitely has the best view. Go for rooms #55 - 64.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A couple of minutes up the hill from the village, we found this hotel to be welcoming, clean and wonderfully situated.

Raul at reception was helpful in changing our room when the balcony light didn't work - and we got Room 64 - right at the far end of the block with an AMAZING view from the balcony. It was quiet, everything worked ok (even if the shower was less than forceful) and the housekeeper was very friendly too.

Breakfast was fine, so was dinner, and the views from the open-air restaurant were superb. We even tried to extend our stay, but alas the hotel was full.

Room Tip: 64 is the one with best view, and furthest away from the pool. Anything in the upper 50's or 60...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crookhamcommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

my room was very stinky and the floors were dirty. When I took a shower, I had very lukewarm water. My toilet worked most of the time. Toilet did breakdown( the chain inside the tank fell off)
But, the place has spectacular views.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 427BeatleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Drove 4hrs from Havana & got there 10pm... was totally blown away by the view the next day at breakfast. Hire a bike from the guys at the hotel & cycle around Vinales, smoke some cigars, kick back & drink mohitos. This is a must see place. Rooms could be better but this is Cuba!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
853 reviews
40.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,996 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Vueltabajo
Hotel Vueltabajo
#1 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.8 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
327 reviews
244.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
92.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizontes La Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizontes La Ermita

Address: Carretera de La Ermita, km 1. 5, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range: $94 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizontes La Ermita 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizontes La Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizontes La Ermita Vinales
Horizontes La Ermita Hotel Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing