We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and entertainment.”

La Casa de Don Tomas
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Vinales
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and entertainment.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited the restaurant first because it had such a great view from the 2nd floor, but realised that they Oslo server good food and had a band playing music that was just to die for! Many guided turistbusses came here and booked for the evening. I would really recommand it :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FroekenPetrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    89
    62
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful house with a view on mountains”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The oldest house in Vinales is surely best place to have a dinner, expecially on the sunset with a view on the stunning mountains half-covered in fog. The food is not bad- we could hardly find good one in Cuba, more expensive than restaurants for locals, surely the experience is worth of the price though. The group of musicians playing for you, discrete and tactful makes the evening more special than others. The staff is friendly, fun and speaks good english. On the contrary to the food menu the restaurant offers a good selection of wines.

Must go at least once! Have a table on the balcony and enjoy the atmosphere and music.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ania_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not bad, but it's just for tourists”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate most of our dinners in our casa particular (Villa El Coral), but we tried also this highly recommended restaurant.

The place is good, probably the beset state-restaurant here in Vinales, but it's just a tourist trap.
The food is average for European standards, good for Cuba, but a little expensive.
We tried the lobster and some soups, very good, but most of the ingredients were frozen. The main dish Delicias de Don Tomás is the only valuable meal here, with a good value for your money (and for your stomach too!)

The main reason to go is the location, this is the oldest house in Vinales.
Dining in the porch is relaxing and the live music is very good (we buy their CD too!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glamismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic Setting for a good meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant has very good and inexpensive food. the wait staff was friendly and did a good job helping us select something yummy to eat, There is live music here afternnons and evenings and the views allow you to eat while watching the street life go by below

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank melissa167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome staff; over salted and overcooked food”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The staff i super fun and friendly. The live music is great and it's usually on the balcony so it's not like it is too loud. We ate with another couple and all felt that the food was over cooked and grossly over salted. I am usually a member of the clean plate club, but here my bowl went back half full because I could not get through the salt.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoldlyGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Don Tomas also viewed

Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 

Been to La Casa de Don Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing